August 30, 2014 | 1713 users online

Liquid - NARS - Sheer Glow Foundation

rated 3.7(1337 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 63% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.9
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 3/28/2011 2:19:00 PM More reviews by EmilyyGrace

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

In love, obsessed. I have super dry skin and this just looks flawless and when set with my MUFE HD powder, looks so natural. Since I got my Sigma F80 brush a few weeks ago people have been stopping me to tell me my skin looks flawless. (Which is SO false, my skin is actually rather bad) so I know NARS did something right with this. Love, holy grail :) I mix it with a TINY bit of revlon colorstay to neutralize the yellow in the shade I bought and to make it last a bit longer, and it doesn't budge all day or night. Only downside is no pump, STINKS, but you can buy one for $6 at Bergdorfs.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/27/2011 9:48:00 AM More reviews by maggieb0523

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This foundation is perfect. Buildable coverage . . . can go on sheer as a tinted moisturizer or applied in layers for fuller coverage. I put it on with my finders - dab a dot on the forehead, nose, cheeks and chin and then blend in, as the NARS rep recommended. This foundation stays fresh and true all day. No finishing powder needed. I apply around 6:30 a.m. and occasionally need to use blotting paper around 3:00. It does not feel heavy on my skin - light as air and pretty, pretty, pretty. I wish that it came with a pump - but thats the ony change I would make.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/27/2011 12:05:00 AM More reviews by lieske

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This and MUFE face and body are my favorite two foundations. It does exactly what it advertises--gives my skin a sheer glow. This is medium to full coverage to me, and it lasts all day. Even though I have oily skin this is better than the matte version.
UPDATE: It doesn't work well in the summer unfortunately. It seperates from my skin and has a powdery finish which does not look good on my combo skin. I'll wait till winter again and see if it fares well again or perhaps 1) my bottle is getting old or 2) it's just not working on me anymore

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/26/2011 6:43:00 PM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I purchased this foundation after reading the rave reviews here. I was really pleased with this foundation. I have oily skin so I run the other way when I hear the word glow, I found this controlled my oil better than the sheer matte. For reference, im NC30-35 in mac and I use stromboli in Nars. The foundation does not come with a pump so I had to order one from Barney's New York. I probably won't repurchase for a while because this is not my everyday foundation, I use it more for going out because the staying power is not great. BTW I use a mineral loose powder to set this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/26/2011 4:26:00 PM More reviews by chinablaq

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Dark, Cool Hair: Black, Relaxed, Other Eyes: Brown

Great foundation. Its not my usual go to, but when I do wear it I love it!. I have this shade in Macao, and im an Mac NC50 for reference. I went a shade lighter than my New Guinea shade because it does oxidize causing it to darken once on my oily skin. I love the finish it gives as well. Unlike any other foundation I have. Even though its on the pricier side of all my foundations, I would repurchase whenever I was run out....which I don't think will be anytime soon. A little goes a long way!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/26/2011 3:26:00 PM More reviews by FauxChic

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I really LOVE this foundation, I recently purchased it and it's definitely different to my usual MAC Studio Fix Fluid, it's creamy and blends effortlessly!, I am an NC45 and I purchased this on a whim in the shade MACAO and it's perfect for me now but I know in the winter it will be quite dark so I'm between Cadiz and Macao, definitely one of the best investments, it doesn't feel heavy on my dry skin and it looks natural!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/25/2011 11:20:00 PM More reviews by MsLove

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Other, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

An excellent daily foundation if you want your skin to look even toned, warm and soft all day. If I don't wear a primer with this, it lasts all day, and I don't break out. I had a hard time to deciding whether to purchase the full size bottle of the Sheer Glow or Sheer Matte. I ended up deciding on the Sheer Matte because my skin tends to be more oily than dry. However, if the option for teh Sheer Matte weren't there, I would have gotten this one. Great color match, and a beautiful finish. It doesnt cake through the day, and you can build it to a heavier finish if you let it dry in between.


I prefer application with fingers or a sponge. You dont need that much. And I really dont need a pump either.

I just got home from a 13 hour day and didnt touch up. Normally my foundation would be GONE. Not the case. Still looked good, only problem areas were my eyes smuding (Laura Mercier eye liner) but I give a pass since it was a long day at the office. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/25/2011 9:20:00 PM More reviews by angelyshis

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

What a great foundation! Can be sheer or full coverage depending how you apply it/build it. Colors run yellow which is great for me, but those with cooler skintones might not love the yellowness of it. It doesn't break out my acne prone skin and gived the most beatiful satin finish. The only improvement I can think would be to add a pump.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/25/2011 12:20:00 PM More reviews by julees70

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Not the very worst foundation I've tried, but I had some major problems with it: It dried my skin out, made my pores look horrible, and it broke me out after a week or so of using it (nothing else in my routine was changed). The color selection was good and the price is not as expensive as Chanel or others, but if you have the slightest tendency towards sensitive skin or have issues with pores, I would look elsewhere.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/25/2011 12:46:00 AM More reviews by shipcaptain

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I really wanted to like this product, but it didn't happen. I've had it about 2 weeks and I've been using it almost every day. The first time I used it it was a mess. It accentuated every dry patch on my face, pooled in my pores, and it wore off in patches after only about 3 hours of wear. Not to mention, it looked very chalky on my skin and not whatsoever "glowy". The next time I wore it I moisturized my skin beforehand and it seemed to work as promised and I got very excited. After that I've always moisturized but I do not get the same results, but the results are similar to the first time I used it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No