October 21, 2014 | 1609 users online

Eye Shadow - MAC - Matte2 - Blanc Type

rated 4.7(214 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.7
  • 89% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/5/2011 8:47:00 PM More reviews by caleee143

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I never understood the hype around using a highlight shade on your browbone, especially when I would see women with severe shimmer racing stripe syndrome ie. porn stars, strippers. Then I received this in a swap and I understood. A MATTE highlight is the trick! It can sometimes pull a little too pinky if I pick up too much shadow and it has a little bit of a fallout problem (which is easily cured). I wear this almost everyday, either as a highlight or as a base, my favorite look being the pin up look with my favorite crease shade (Bobbi Brown hot stone) and winged eyeliner. Don't forget the red Lippie!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/3/2011 10:33:00 PM More reviews by XP0S3D

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Blanc Type may seem just another highlight eyeshadow in the pan, but this stands out out of all the ones I have tried. I typically prefer a matte highlight on the brow bone especially if the look consists of a shimmer elsewhere. This color suits my skintone very well (NC35/C4), however, I think this is a pretty universal color. I would describe the color as a light creamy beige. It's not too yellow or too pink and the color is definitely NOT white (compared to MAC's Gesso). Gesso is your basic matte white eyeshadow and the finish and texture of it is nowehere close to Blanc Type. Blanc Type's texture is very creamy and like I've mentioned, the finish is matte (the formulation is Matte2 [pronounced "matte squared"]). This eyeshadow is quite pigmented, but you can definitely control how sheer or opaque it can be. For example, you can use it as a light wash of color all over the lid with a slight contour (think of Bettie Page, pin-up look) or to the extreme like a severe, opaque drag queen highlight. Whenever I do drag, I use Blanc Type as my highlight. When my eyebrows are covered by glue stick and foundation and set with a translucent powder, I use Blanc Type on top and it conceals my real eyebrows and looks smooth and flawless. Overall, I am very happy with this eyeshadow -- it's a definite staple in my kit!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/19/2011 4:57:00 PM More reviews by Esousa

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

What a wonderful matte highlighter! creamy texture and perfect pigmentation. When I bough it I was actually going to buy brulé, but comparing the eyeshadows side by side, blanc type is way more pigmented :) I think this will always be a part of my collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/16/2011 6:17:00 PM More reviews by ggarcia

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i have been wearing this for days! It is my skin tone and i use it for highlighting on the browbone. it is silky and very high pigmented. it blends well.. i don't know why i hadn't bought this before!! I love it and can be used with ANY color.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/3/2011 5:07:00 PM More reviews by heyskankable

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I went into the MAC store a couple of days ago for a pick me up. I ended up with copperplate and blanc type. These are wonderful! They're both matte squared formulas so they're even creamier than regular matte shadows which I tend to grab for. I wear it in the inner corner of my eye during the day without any other eyeshadow (I'm a college student, so I'm always just running around campus) and it brightens up my eyes amazingly. I won't ever live without it again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 2/3/2011 3:39:00 AM More reviews by lolarious

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this product because of the rave reviews and I'm utterly disappointed in it. Whilst it is pigmented, I don't feel like it has very good staying power and I also find it to be very chalky. The colour is a matte off-white and whilst it is very smooth and blendable, I just think this is nothing more than a glorified face powder in eyeshadow form. It is quite chalky and again, the staying power is lacking.

I'm an NC15 but I think for somebody darker than NC/NW25 this could work really well as a highlight, it just didn't work for me.

Instead, I purchased a MUFE shadow and the quality was far superiour to Blanc Type. Definitely check those out before purchasing this if you can.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/2/2011 1:13:00 AM More reviews by romina74

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

After all the good reviews, I was convinced to purchase this instead of Vanilla. The color is great, the pigment it great, but the consistency is horrible. It's very thick and cakey looking on the lid. Even using a 224 it looks like old caked powder on my eyelids and I found it impossible to blend with another color underneath. It just too thick. So I'm returning this for vanilla. with the 35 eyeshadows I have from MAC none of them have this awful consistency and thickness. Going back.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/14/2011 11:57:00 PM More reviews by ImYourFavoriteDrug

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Other, Medium Eyes: Green

I'll keep this short and sweet
Creamy consistency
I use this as a highlighter when I don't want any more shimmer
I use it over my liquid eye base to help blending. Works amazingly
Bought the pan for $11. Not too pricy


Buy this shadow!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/5/2011 11:26:00 PM More reviews by lygophilia

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I'm absolutely thrilled that I finally purchased this shade. It's the perfect neutral creamy beige that is becoming a regular staple in my daily make-up looks. The pigmentation is excellent and the texture for being a matte finish is very creamy and smooth. Works well as either an all over shadow, a hi-light colour, and even on the lid. Being a neutral it's extremely versatile and pairs pretty much with every other shadow in my collection.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/3/2011 6:29:00 PM More reviews by aprilpinkbeauty

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

Such versatile eyeshadow! I love this for the brow bone for any makeup look I'm wearing whether it be neutral, dark or colour. I love pulling this down into my crease colour for a really nice transition of colour on my eye. I also love this as an all over lid colour with brown for a neutral work look and as an all over wash of colour. Definitely recommend having this in your collection of MAC eyeshadows. I will repurchase and always own this shade!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No