August 29, 2014 | 896 users online

Eye Shadow - MAC - Paint Pot in Blackground

rated 4.3(115 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 83% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 8/15/2009 2:26:00 AM More reviews by planetofapes

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This has to be my favourite Paintpot I have! (I have painterly, bare study and moss scape.)

Fantastic eye base - I have had a lot of problems getting one that is dark enough. I also have MAC Creme Color base in root (dark brown) but not dark enough for me.

It is black with shimmery finish. Like all paintpots, can't apply a layer too thick otherwise it will cake. But this is a MUST for smokey eyes plus looks great under loads and loads of eyeshadows. Turns pinks into silver, works fantastically under browns and basically every colour! This is love!!

As with all Paintpots store upside down in your makeup tray so it doesn't dry out. As recommended by others, put a small blob of it in another container and use it that way to prevent dry outs. I have used paintpots for months using this method and have had zero problems with drying. I love Paintpots!! Thank you MAC!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/22/2009 8:54:00 AM More reviews by buttercup209

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is my favorite product out of my whole collection. It is extremely vesitile it can be used like a traditional paint pots i.e as a base but also due to its intense colour I mostly use it as a eyeliner it has great durability and doesnt smudge but still being easy to remove.

I <3 the Blackground PaintPot

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/11/2009 9:51:00 PM More reviews by PinkSoFoxy

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

MAC Blackground Paint Pot is an excellent eyeshadow base for doing dark smokey eyes. Usually I will first apply Painterly Paint Pot all over the lid and then I'll apply Blackground just where my Carbon eyeshadow is going to be placed. Sometimes I'll apply Blackground with a small angled brush and simply use it as a gel eyeliner. Works great!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/30/2009 9:37:00 PM More reviews by sillymoose

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I use this as a cream eyeliner. Works really well. It's a beautiful graphic black color with some silver sparkles. Very smooth and blendable. I use an eyeliner brush draw the line on my top lash. Doesn't work well on the bottom line though because its smudges. The pot is huge and will probably last forever.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/27/2009 9:16:00 AM More reviews by twistygirl

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

LOOOOVE this! I wanted to get a Sharkskin Shadestick, and of course Macy's no longer has them, so I got this instead. Bought it with trepidation, as cream shadows do NOT go "cream to powder" on my seriously oily eyelids, but this one truly DOES dry to a beautiful long-lasting, smudge-free base. I use it either alone for a nice smoky look (and bonus - when I use it alone, I don't need eyeliner, which is unheard of, as I have eyes that can be described as "space alien who looks like they haven't slept for a week" eyes) or under another color to give it depth and pop. I find the application to be VERY easy if I use a concealer brush (I use the Sonia Kashiuk brush), it dries quickly but not so quickly it's hard to work with. I also find you can build the intensity easily. Definitely HG item.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/6/2009 11:24:00 PM More reviews by barbieismetal

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

OMG!! I cant belive i lived with out this!!
This is amazing , i use this all the time , it helps make my purple , pink , greys and even blues pop , and it makes a great very very sexy smokey eye . Its buildable in color and so far has not creased on me at all!

I will always have this in my makeup stash

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/19/2009 8:40:00 PM More reviews by tao

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I'm generally a big fan of MAC Paint Pots - I find that they have great staying power and are not prone to creasing. That said, I'm a little disappointed with Blackground. While I love the colour (grey to black depending on how many layers you build up, with a touch of shimmer), this is the Paint Pot with the least staying power.

So far I own Indianwood, Groundwork and Blackground. With Indianwood and Groundwork, I find the colour stays bold and in place all day, but for some reason Blackground tends to go sort of oily and turns sheer. It also creases much more than the other colours I've tried.

It's a real shame, because a neutral grey/black is very flattering to my colouring - I just wish I could get it to stay on more successfully!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/8/2009 5:44:00 PM More reviews by raingirlred

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I picked this up when a lady at my MAC counter suggested it to go with the beauty marked eye shadow I was getting. Iím so glad she suggested it to me! I love this product. While I will agree with others that it is a bit hard to put on and blend out, itís worth the time and effort! It really makes the color in my eye shadows pop. Also helps my eye shadow stay in place and doesnít crease. Lately I have also been using it as an eye liner which has been working out great. I defiantly think this is a must have for anyone who loves a smoky eye!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/27/2009 2:10:00 AM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

Oh my gosh this stuff is AWESOME! I swapped for this on a whim and so far it's been my favorite swap yet. I've worn it every since day since I got it. I love the color- not brown, not quite black but very dark. It is the perfect base to add depth to dark shadows. I love that it dries completely. It does NOT smudge! Not even a bit! My only complaint is I wish it were easier to blend. I've tried 2 diff brushes, and my finger, so far the finger application method is winning. It going to take some practice but it's still well worth it. Definitely HG worthy here!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/20/2009 3:25:00 PM More reviews by pootiebear1031

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I used this paint pot for my darker eyeshadows as a base. Blackground is black in color with speckles of silver in it. It is a nice creamy base and it helped my eyeshadows look more vibrant and not crease. I used this as a base for Silver Ring and Print and it made my eyeshadow pop.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No