August 30, 2014 | 1716 users online

Eyes - MAC - Paint Pot in Bare Study

rated 4.2(486 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/7/2012 1:58:00 AM More reviews by SteffStarrr

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

This is definitely an HG product for me. It provides the perfect base for all my eyeshadows, and even though I have oily lids, my eyeshadows will last about 8 hours before I detect any creasing. It's a shimmery champagne color, but it's not too shimmery or frost. I like using this under mattes so they aren't flat. It makes all my eyeshadows a little bit more vibrant as well. I've used this almost everyday for over a year and it's still going strong. I've noticed that I can't wear UDPP or any other eyeshadow primer under this otherwise it will look very dry and cakey, so I just use it alone now. I would definitely repurchase this!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/6/2012 5:46:00 PM More reviews by AngelCOH77

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This to me is a miracle product! MAC lady advised me to try it as my eyeshadow kept disappearing into my crease. I thought the last thing I needed was a layer of shimmering cream on them. How wrong I was! It's a sparkling champagne shade, too frosty for me on its own but good under the brow and it grips onto eyeshadow on my lids til the death. I can now go to work all day and not have to touch up my eye shadow at lunchtime. Before i would even question applying it at all as it would quickly do a disappearing act. If I see that lady again I will give her the biggest hug ever!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/5/2012 12:57:00 AM More reviews by antynette

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really like this paint pot, it was my first and I have no serious complaints. It really does a great job at making sure my eyeshadow stays in place all day. Literally came home from rugby practice with done up makeup from a performance and my eye makeup had held up give or take a few eyeliner streaks. I like how it adds a slight shimmer to my matte shadows, it gives it a little extra oomph. I will repurchase after trying a few different types of paint pots but I think this will end up my HG due to it's ability to be so diverse.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/23/2012 3:51:00 PM More reviews by makeupstuffs

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I looooove this! This is an excellent base colour for eye shadow you only need a little and also lovely for highlighting the inner corner of your eyes. Product goes a long way, colour is lovely but may quite look pale for darker skins in which case I would choose a darker alternative. Also it doesn't sink into creases on the eyelids hence it makes a perfect base colour perfect for building powder eyeshadow onto the eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/19/2012 4:42:00 PM More reviews by Ilovescuba

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I love this base. It's so versatile. I can wear it with pretty much any shadow look. I use it everyday.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/19/2012 4:16:00 PM More reviews by gconn

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Black

A good basic cream shadow/primer product. Applied sparingly, it provides a refined shimmer on the lids, but if you're not careful, it'll end up looking like Tinkerbell sneezed on your eyeball. There is a LOT in the pot, and a little goes a long way.

The only reason I wouldn't buy this again is that I'll probably be bored of the product once I finish it in...say...five years.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/16/2012 1:48:00 PM More reviews by anisha12

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

Meh. Its an eyelid base with shimmer...little too frosty and cool-toned for my skin. I got it as an alternative to Painterly which was too chalky on my NC43 tone. Bare Study is a great base for all my eyeshadows! The MAC lady showed me what a huge difference using paintpots made! So many different looks that u can create! Definitely worth buying for once...but I'll be on t lookout for a more nude one for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/27/2012 11:38:00 PM More reviews by bbybreanna

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

love it. works amazing as an eyeshadow primer and by itself. the color is sheer on my skintone so it's not too noticeable by itself, it has a perfect amount of shimmer. very creamy, easily blendable. by it self it creases and doesnt last too long, but under eyeshadows its amazing. no creasing or fading. i guess the only cons are the price and packaging. if not taken care good enough it can dry up and that will be a waste of money and great product. but the sleek glass jar is pretty fancy looking.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/18/2012 9:17:00 AM More reviews by anniethealchemist

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is my first Mac Paint Pot. I love the color, which is highly wearable, and the creamy texture. I use it for my everyday make up, especially when I feel tired and I need to brighten up my eyes. Although it is supposed to not crease, on my eyelids it actually does, and that is the only con I found out about this product (so I use it with a primer). Anyways, I totally recommend it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/5/2012 3:40:00 AM More reviews by IcyNocturne

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I adore this. After reading all the reviews and watching gurus use this, I have decided to buy this product. Its everything I hoped for. A great neutral dewy sheen when applieqd to the lids, and it looks great for natural everyday looks, either by itself or as an eyeshadow base. I looove its creamy texture. Everything about this product is just perfect for me. Nevermind the $21 dollars it costs here in Canada.

Is this review helpful? Yes No