February 27, 2015 | 2015 users online

Pressed Powders - MAC - Mineralize Skinfinish Natural - Medium Dark



image 0

rated 4.2(200 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 79% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/14/2011 7:21:00 PM More reviews by Savvy890

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

MY FAVORITE POWDER! i have tried sooo many, and this is the best powder on the market!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/13/2011 5:44:00 PM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I was hesitant to use this because my skin doesnt react too well with mac products for face. However, this didn't cause me to break out and the finish was great. I use this as a setting powder because it doesnt provide enough coverage to wear alone. I don't like the fact that there is alot of fall out. I use a flat top kabuki to buff this into my face after applying liquid foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/29/2011 8:00:00 PM More reviews by nycpari

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Other

NC44 for reference.

Okay so this is kind of a 2-in-1 review! I originally used this as a mineral foundation since I had previously used BE in Warm and loved the glowy affect. BE was too red though and my best friend who had also worn BE had just switched to this MSF and it looked great on her. I thought it was pretty good however my only gripes were that it was way too drying for my skin (I was applying just over moisturizer), and it was actually a shade too dark! Since then I haven't worn it as a mineral moisturizer.

Which leads me to my second review...
This time I've been using it as a setting powder after watching some YouTube videos. I didn't even know it could be used for that! I used it over my Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer which can make my skin look a bit TOO glowy haha.

This stuff has been amazing for setting my Mac Studio Finish concealer, it also evens out my skin tone and matts down the oilyness from the LM tinted moisturizer. Before my concealer would barely last an hour, but now it stays on for up to 4! It still dries out my skin a bit, not too much just makes me have to stay on top my skincare routine.

I actually also use it as a contour powder.

I'll definitely re-purchase, but next time will probably get a shade lighter if using as a setting powder.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/21/2011 11:16:00 AM More reviews by efrazier

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I hate this product. It made me break out all over my face. Now I have acne scars that I am trying to cover up. It took a full week of me not wearing this product in order for my skin to not break out.I will be going back to Urban Decay's Surreal Skin Mineral Makeup powder (Mirage) soon. At least Urban Decay doesn't break me out or make me look orange.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/27/2011 12:09:00 PM More reviews by cardinalfire

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium Eyes: Brown

This gave a great soft-focus finish and was perfect for setting concealer. It did not have the best staying power or coverage, but it faded naturally and did not oxidize so I didn't mind. This also was the best color match I've ever found for my NC40-42 skin. Ever.

Unfortunately, this powder was irritating to my skin. It broke me out with irritation pimples--not clogged pores--after a few weeks of using it consistently. I have never had a power do this to me before.

Now, I am back to using Urban Decay Surreal Skin mineral powder foundation in Vision. It's a little too yellow and matte for my tastes, but has full-medium coverage and great staying power. I just hate loose powder.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/22/2011 7:25:00 PM More reviews by LaurenFriend80

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

While I love so much about this product, the fact remains the same with all mineral makeups--usually, their first ingredient is Mica. This is the same with everything from BE to this MAC powder. The thing about MICA is that while it begins with a natural, oil-absorbing finish, that same absorption causes oxidation and even a gray cast on the yellowest of skintones. Most makeup artists will not apply products containing Mica to anyone who is about to have photographs taken, because that gray-shade is highly detectable on camera. I can even tell nights when I have worn it just by looking at my skin next to my friends' skin in pictures--I have somehow become the gray friend!! Anyway, if you are not an oily person, or only planning to have makeup on for a short time, it's a great product. However, in the long-term, after a full day and a bit of oil, this powder will go at least a shade darker and grayer!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/22/2011 5:22:00 PM More reviews by SHEEE

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Ive always had a hard time finding a medium-dark powder for myself. Ive literally wasted so much money trying to find the right match. I'm Filipino so alot of dark tones never matched right to my olive-tan skin. One day, it was my first time ever trying out MAC products, I was given a free makeup trial and the consultant applied this over the MAC foundation and it looked almost exact to my skin tone! I was amazed, it never left an ugly makeup line along my cheeks either . Not only did it match but it looks very natural and leaves your skin looking fabulous with no oily skin. A great product I would recommend to anyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/20/2011 6:30:00 PM More reviews by KBujold

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

For reference I'm nc42-44 with very strong yellow undertones. Combo winter, more oily summer. Acne prone.

I've been using this for about 2 years. I apply it to any foundation I want to use and it creates a nice satin finish that doesn't add too much colour. I also like that it controls fairly well. I usually use it as a setting powder with a big fluffy brush (mac 150). I sometimes use it as light powder foundaiton and use a kabuki brush (mac 182). The only problem I have is that if I want to touch up during the day, I find it makes me look too matte and gross. I've tried using different brushes but each and every time I look too matte. Also, I wish it came with a mirror if you wanted to touch up you'd need a mirror.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/6/2011 1:01:00 AM More reviews by kimmyn

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I am NC30 and I use this to set my liquid foundation/conceal as well as just a foundation on it's own on lazy days. I absolutely love this product because it does give a natural finish if you find a good color match and it has multiple purposes. I am not sensitive to many ingredients, but if you are, I hear this does cause some break-outs. Otherwise, a great product to add ro any collection :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/19/2011 12:31:00 AM More reviews by Melanar

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Coarse Eyes: Black

The packaging doesn't bug me. I think it's cute and I don't need a mirror with it as I can find one in any old bathroom nearby.

I have been using this product as a foundation for a couple of months now and it's great. I had no breakouts, irritations or allergic reactions to it, yay! The coverage is VERY light and sheer, no matter what the reviews say, this will probably only cover slight redness, and nothing more. You will need a concealer. The one thing it does do is smooth out the appearance of your skin. Making your pores go away, and your face smoother overall; and I think that's why everyone loves it. I'm not very high maintenance, and I don't want to bother removing a whole face of makeup every night, so I'll stick to this 'til I find a decent TM.

I apply this after moisturizer with a kabuki brush and set with fix+ (sometimes; usually if I use concealer). It's not matte, so it doesn't make me look overly dry, but it doesn't have a "dewy" effect. Try some at your MAC counter, $35 CAD is a bit much if it doesn't work with your skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No