December 18, 2014 | 1657 users online

Styling Products - Sebastian - Potion 9

rated 4.1(436 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 77% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 9/20/2009 12:52:00 PM More reviews by al4galm

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I got a small bottle of this after my new hairdresser recommeded it. My hair is long, curly and frizzy, gets tangled easily. I apply it on my wet hair and then style it with mousse, it doesnt seem to help to tame my frizz or give me any additional shine or softness; just makes my hair look oilier.
After three months I have tried to use it in different amounts but I keep getting the same results.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/18/2009 12:14:00 PM More reviews by KeiKi

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I first got this in the squeeze tube on recommendation of my hairstylist. I found it to be quite light and did make my hair more manageable. So I got the 500ml pump bottle from a discount store. It lasted me a long long time. Didn't make note of how many months but I am counting the months on my second(current) bottle.

I must say that the color is rather weird for a hair product. Like carrot gel. Lol.. That aside, it makes the hair "crunchy" if you don't comb after it dries. I usually use this after towel drying my hair by splitting my mid-back length hair into 2 sections and apply seperately then comb through.

My hair has been colored, highlighted and is very dry in certain sections so I tend to apply more to those parts. Lately, I've noticed that it makes my hair kinda oily after a day. Might be due to my different shampoo or I might have become more heavy handed.

I dislike the squeeze tube as it's hard to get the last bits out of a metal tube. With the pump bottle, I can scrape the jar clean. Besides, the pump bottle is more economical. Paid SGD$68 for it at the discount store. Well worth the price as my bf uses it sometimes too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/16/2009 6:25:00 AM More reviews by canmorg

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I love my Potion 9. I use this product in a few different ways:

1) I use on my wet hair as a leave in conditioner. I have extremely thick shoulder length hair and I use about a quarter size amount in my damp hair.

2) When I'm traveling and plan on spending the day at the beach in a humid climate I pull my hair back in a tight pony tail and I use a small amount to tame fly aways. When applied this way to dry hair it acts almost like a gel.

3) When I wear my hair curly I use Potion 9 with mouse to scrunch my curls.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/30/2009 10:48:00 AM More reviews by greeneyedannie

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I have incredibly thick, wavy/curly hair which is dry and unmanageable. I have been searching for my HG styling product for over 20 years and nothing's hit the mark yet and God knows I have tried EVERYTHING - although I'm experimenting with Smooth Down and Real Control products after spending over $100 in Redken's store on Fifth Ave last weekend during a trip to NYC (good dollar rate for us Brits at the moment!) Sebastian's Potion 9 got some great reviews on here but it merely left my hair crunchy. It's also a bit icky and gloopy to the touch and feels quite synthetic when applying.
When I die my headstone will say "And here she lies, having spent almost $500k on hair products during her lifetime. What a shame just looking at her now."

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/31/2009 12:32:00 PM More reviews by celesteakabeaddict

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I live in Arizona and the hot summer sun really dries one's hair - to the core!! I was looking for something that was light weight and would add a little shine and control to my thin fly away hair. This product is what I was looking for! It smells terrific and left my hair shiny, lustrous, and less staticky (?is that a word?). I just applied a dab (dime sized amount) to wet hair and styled as usual. Love the results!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/31/2009 12:01:00 PM More reviews by stonefoxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have shoulder length hair that is medium-coarse, but I dont have tons of it.
I was simply looking for a product that would make my hair more manageable but not weigh it down. And this is it! If you have specific needs, this probably isnt it. But it is a simple styling product that is lightweight and does its job. I blow dry and straighten my hair everyday, and this makes it look really healthy. Not greasy or heavy at all, and you can tell when you pump it on to your hand that it is a very light product. Before I was using sebastians whipped waves (i believe that is the correct name), even though I straighten my hair, but I found that product to be waaay too heavy and very greasy. I could barely use a dime size without looking like i forgot to wash my hair.
Im not sure what size I own, but its a nize size bottle and I think it was around $14, which to me is not bad at all. I also love the pump dispenser and the smell is wonderful. It smells just like a salon.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/8/2009 2:42:00 PM More reviews by Clalog

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!!!! Before, my hair was dry and frizzy.. After I bought the big one (500ml), at the next 2 months..My hair start to be shinier, bouncier and very soft..
I have wavy to curly hair, and it's really great for defining waves.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/24/2009 4:25:00 PM More reviews by sharee20

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I love the ingredients in this and it makes my hair manageable and defined. It lasts me a long time. I use about a quater sized amount for almost waist lenght hair. 5.1 oz

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/20/2009 5:12:00 AM More reviews by yasmineswe

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have curly and pretty coarse hair (a lot of it!) and, on recommendation of my hairdresser, I apply this product (on damp hair) just before straightening using a blowdrier/iron. It works wonders! It makes my unruly and generally dry hair manageable and soft when straightening and I am done in about 30 minutes (usually it takes me around 50 minutes). I use only a moderate amount and it still has a significant defrizzing and conditioning effect. It provides minimum hold and doesn't weigh my hair down at all. There are many ways to use this product depending on hairtype and texture - and this is simply where it works best on my hair! Also, its gel-like and watery consistency is a huge plus when straightening

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/14/2009 10:14:00 PM More reviews by lmb31

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I know a ton of people love this, but it was not good at all for my baby fine wavy hair...

Is this review helpful? Yes No