October 23, 2014 | 2155 users online

Blush - NARS - Cream Blush in Penny Lane [DISCONTINUED]



image 0

rated 4.3(214 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 77% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/8/2011 3:06:00 AM More reviews by Katie75007

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

    Penny Lane is easily one of my HG blushes -- I love it because I am very fair, and it is almost impossible to go overboard with this soft shade. It is perfectly described as "nude pink," though I think there is also a bit of peach to it, too. It is enough to add a touch of barely noticeable color to my face -- and while it might not show up on some, it makes my super-pale complexion look more lively and awake. Penny Lane is definitely one of the shades I reach for most frequently, simply because I do not have to think about it or be super careful not to overapply.


    For reference, NW5-10; NARS Siberia.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 3/3/2011 6:03:00 PM More reviews by ninac

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    Buildable coverage that's soft and natural. Gives my cheeks a subtle glow and never looks overly made-up. Love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 2/28/2011 5:54:00 PM More reviews by JahLive15

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    This was the first of about five blushes I've recently purchased and I have to admit that it was Penny Lane that inspired me to search for other quality (this doesn't necessarily mean costly, I should add) blushes. I'm as NC15 (20 in the summer) and this really adds some dimension to my skin - I look like I've spent a bit of time in the sun and gained a nice glow as a result. I have to say, however, that it takes quite a bit for the product to show up as I'd like on my skin. I use an Eco Tools synthetic brush to apply and perhaps I need a different technique (e.g. using my fingers). As a whole, however, I do like the blush and would repurchase.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 2/25/2011 6:51:00 PM More reviews by AliWhatWouldJoanDo

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Other

    A pretty natural glow. Perfect!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 2/25/2011 6:24:00 PM More reviews by jenncherie

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    This is such a pretty, natural colour! Somehow seems to give a little sheen to the cheeks, even though I can't detect any trace of shimmer particles in the blush. This gives me a really healthy-looking flush, that doesn't look artificial. I usually go for more peachy shades, as I am cool-toned, but this seems to work well for me. Stays on all day on my skin, even though I don't set it with powder. I also like to apply the blush leftover from blending on my lips.
    A good, multi-functional product.
    My only gripe is the compact, which gets dirty really easily!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/18/2011 5:37:00 PM More reviews by layzeex

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I have very fair skin and have been on the search for a natural blush that wont interfere with my smokey eyes and bright pink lipstick. I've tried MAC's beauty powders, gel blushes, other cream blushes, ect. but never really achieved the effect I was going for. I've been eyeing this product for over a year now, and finally arranged a swap to get it. When I first opened it up, I almost thought it was fake since it just looked straight-up peach. I remembered in the store it was a little pinky as well, but I suppose it was just the lighting? Anywho- I was a little hesitant (since I look horrible with peaches), but once applied I was BLOWN away. Floored. Amazed. This looks extremely natural, but not a natural way as in 'I can't even tell anything is on', but natural as in 'I would have NEVER suspected you were wearing any makeup- you just look healthy' kind of way. My cheeks looks naturally flushed. Not a just-in-from-the-cold flush, that's a little redder, but a youthful kind of flush that children have. I've tried using a brush and my fingers, but I must say I prefer the finger method. It blends beautifully and lasts for most of the day, at least 5-6 hours, which I consider fairly long especially because I don't 'set' it with powder. I don't detect any glitter/shimmer, but it doesn't appear flat at all. It looks slightly dewy and very, very natural. For fair-skinned ladies, this is a MUST.


    One thing I'm a little annoyed by however, has nothing to do with the particular product, but I've noticed NARS has been raising it's prices within the last few years. I remember when their blushes were 24 USD, now it's 27?! Hopefully I will be able to swap for another one when I run out, but if I can't, I'll suck it up and buy it for it's retail price. This profuct is a true gem and worth that extra 3 buck increase.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 2/6/2011 6:14:00 PM More reviews by neonpen

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

    First NARS blush.I bought it today. It's a really pretty color and it looks good on me. I think this is my new favorite blush. It's expensive but i will def repurchase. If i can find a dupe for this and in powder form, that would be great!!!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 2/6/2011 9:07:00 AM More reviews by domika

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

    This was my first NARS blush and I am seeing the hype. I have NC15 skin, and this gives me a natural nudey-pink flush... just like the color is described! The cream blends smoothly and doesn't wipe off my foundation. It is not sticky and feels like a dream. I have not broken out from this, but I rarely break out from products. I bought this off of a blog sale, so it is not brand new, but I tell ya, I would rebuy this in a heartbeat--if I ever go through it because I need very little product each time! The only thing I don't like is that the rubber packaging gets dirty easily, but I like the way it feels. Oh well, can't have everything.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/6/2011 7:38:00 AM More reviews by Eastend_Snob

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

    Penny Lane is a super duper shade. The NARS website describes it as a "nude pink" but I think it's a very beautiful shade of soft peach that gives my skin the most AMAZING glow. Very sweet and natural. I've been dying to try cream blushes since I read somewhere that cream blushes work better with liquid foundation compared to powder blushes. Penny Lane was the first shade that leapt to my eye. I love the texture - very smooth, creamy and super blendable. I use my SK Synthetic Flat Top Multipurpose brush to apply this (at first I was going to use my fingers, but I didn't want to contaminate the pan and the brush is designed for application of cream blushes too). I stipple it on lightly and build up the colour as I go - like I said, it's very soft and you really have to work it in for it to show but my skin is pretty light so that's not a problem for me. Staying power is amazing - it lasts all day, doesn't enhance pores, lines or fine hair, nor does it break me out. Now I'm bursting to try Lokoum or Montenegro next!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 1/25/2011 8:27:00 PM More reviews by cocoblondie

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!

    A Lovely rose colour and creamy texture.
    It also works well as a highlighter or as a lip stain!
    I've had mine for years and years and theres still plenty left!
    A really versitile product and well worth the price tag!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No