December 21, 2014 | 1543 users online

Primer/ Corrector - Smashbox - Photo Matte Anti-Shine ] [DISCONTINUED]



image 0

rated 3.9(134 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

This product has been discontinued

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/31/2008 7:12:00 AM More reviews by maggiealex

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

mattifies even the most oily skin! i love it . it's a bit tricky to apply since it needs only a small amount and rubing on to face till it's completely sunk into skin. for better foundation application use a primer after the anti shine (i use mac's matte). you should apply after moisturizing and before primer. keeps skin shine free for several hours.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/27/2008 1:14:00 AM More reviews by mimix87

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

this is the first primer i have ever used n i really like it. It does keep the oil on ur face under control but it does not stop shine throughout the day. makes ur skin matte does not feel heavy and a really good primer for oily skin ppl like me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/14/2008 10:01:00 PM More reviews by xxpuppetxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Other

If i have a spot of oil on my face,i can put it on and it mattifies the shine,but im looking for something that actually stops shine before it starts.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/8/2008 10:24:00 PM More reviews by Misha32

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

As much as I'd hate to admit it, my face is somewhat of an oil factory. And because of this, I have a tendency to get shiny. I used to use Lancome's T. Controle, which is similar in concept but didn't have good lasting power. I purchased this at Sephora because the SA recommended it. It helps control my shine and stave off the shinies until midday for me. Although it doesn't completely obliterate my shininess, I still live this product. It's been a mainstay of my make-up routine for years now. I also like that it's in a plastic tube for two reasons: 1) it's more hygenic and 2) i can cut it and use every last bit of the product.

One little note, you have to apply this after moistuizer and before your foundation/tinted moisturizer/powders. And when you put it on, make sure you rub it all in. Otherwise it will dry and become white...not a good look.

Have and will continue repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/15/2008 1:20:00 AM More reviews by cesa11

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

It's an okay idea, but it doesn't work with my products at all. They sit on top of it funny, and using it has become a nuisance. And for 30$ its a waste.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/13/2008 3:59:00 PM More reviews by carolinekw

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

The anti-shine does not last all day. I have clear combo skin, shiny in the t-zone. When applied, the product is kind of sticky, but dries to a powder. At first, when I first put it on in the morning, my skin was matte. By dinner time, my skin was glowing in the t-zone. By evening, it looked like I hadn't put it on. However, just a reapplication fixed that. FYI, the product dries out my skin a little.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/3/2008 12:49:00 AM More reviews by kroby

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This product did absolutely nothing for me. I had high hopes but was very let-down. Medi-Matte is the answer if you have oily skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/29/2008 7:59:00 PM More reviews by cavalierkcs

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This product did NOTHING for my oily skin. I didn't like applying it because sometimes it would leave a white pasty look on my face if I didn't get it blended quite right. I am returning this, as it made no difference in how shiny my face was. I bought MAC prep+prime with SPF and that seems to be working much better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/20/2008 7:13:00 PM More reviews by BeautyAngel

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I absolutely LOVE this product! Wow, it works pretty well under the Photo Finish Primer Light and over the foundation with tab it on T-zone after a few hours. Definitely, I will buy this again!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/19/2008 7:23:00 PM More reviews by lianna82

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I absolutely love this stuff!! I've been using it all summer in Maryland in the heat and humidity. I drive a car with no A/C, so I get sweaty just driving to work, and this stuff keeps me dry.
I have super oily skin, and I usually have to blot and touch within 2 hours of applying a powder foundation, and every 2 hours after that. However, if I use this with a powder foundation, I can put it on at 8am, and don't have to blot until about 1pm. This is very impressive! If I use liquid foundation, it takes about 3 hours for me to become oily, but I'm okay with using a powder foundation if it keeps me from being oily!
Basically, I rub it between my fingers for a few seconds (after my moisturizer has sunk in), then pat it onto my face, let it dry for 5-10 minutes and apply foundation.
It is expensive, but it's worth it to me. I work in ladies better at a department store, and we're super busy, so the more time I can stay on the floor without my glasses sliding off my nose, the more money I can make!
When it's gone, I'm getting more!!

UPDATE: if I use this with certain liquid foundations, it makes my pores stand out really big!!! This is not good... I'm still gonna use it, but with powder foundation only

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No