October 24, 2014 | 1018 users online

Powder - Pur Minerals - Pressed Powder Foundation



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.9(576 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 71% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 2/9/2012 12:09:00 PM More reviews by kandrews580

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

I have used this for years! I used the Bare Minerals, but will NEVER, NEVER, NEVER go back to it. Love this in combination with the Mineral Glow. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this!!!!!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/8/2012 6:42:00 PM More reviews by CoutureBunnie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I am absolutely in love with this product. I have extremely oily skin and have been searching for the perfect foundation that matches my skintone and also doesn't make my oily skin any oilier, I also have a lot of redness on my nose and cheeks which NOTHING thus far has been able to cover, this covers it, and EASILY. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this product, and I am glad that I can finally stop searching for a foundation that finally does what it says it will do! I am pretty fair skinned, but not the lightest, and the porcelain shade (which is the lightest) matched my skin perfectly!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/5/2012 2:58:00 PM More reviews by Janellyxo

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

The rosacea on my cheeks has always made me lean towards fuller coverage foundations. Before purchasing this product, I was very skeptical about it, I had never heard of a powder that had so much coverage that it could double as a concealer. It wasn't until I was at my work (Shopper's Drugmart Beauty Boutique) and saw one of my co workers apply it on someone that I realized that it was worth a try. I bought the starter kit, took it home and applied it, I was amazed by how well it worked! Now, I do think that the Pur Minerals brush does play an important role. The brush is very dense and makes it very easy to pick up a could amount of product.

If you have dry skin like me, you want to make sure you exfoliate and moisturize very well, otherwise, it will make your skin look flaky. Also, at my work, we have a hard time getting it in because the company itself has a hard time filling their orders (they sell Pur Minerals on the Shopping Channel so there is a very high demand for the product). Those are the only two cons that I can think of!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/21/2012 5:45:00 PM More reviews by pecantan

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i had been wearing cream foundation for a while.. but since i wear foundation daily i wanted to find something less heavy and good for everyday use.i purchased the pur minerals powder foundation from Ulta in the shade golden dark. i have brown skin with yellow undertones and the shade is a perfect match. it covers my hyperpigmentation well(without adding concealer), and it gives my face a smooth,radiant look. i have discovered that in order for this foundation to look really nice, you have to moisturize well before hand and apply it with the right tool. after some experimenting, i found that my sonia kashuk pointed foundation brush applies it the best. another wonderful thing about this makeup is that is has skin perfecting ingredients in it! it has retinol,lactic acid,shea butter,vitamin e,spf, as well as some other good things. so while you are covering your flaws, you are also treating them at the same time. i've noticed that my skin is looking better without makeup on. now on to the negatives... its just okay at controlling oil- not great, it does take me quite some time to build the foundation up to full coverage, i have to use a lot of extra moisturizer under and around my eyes because this makeup causes excessive dryness in those areas.overall im happy with this foundation and unless it starts to cause breakouts, i will continue repurchasing. will do an update regarding breakouts in a few weeks.
UPDATE:
im not liking it as much as i did when i first got it. i liked the application i got with the sonia kashuk brush but it took sooo long to apply the foundation with it. so i invested in the pur minerals chisel brush to see if that would speed up the process..it did somewhat but really didnt make a huge difference. it still takes way too long to get the coverage that i need. also, now that its getting warmer, this make up gets really oily and starts melting off by mid day.the new version has shea butter in it and im sure thats the reason for the oilyness. although i get good coverage when i first apply it, when i start getting oily the makeup starts to fade and my dark spots start to show. i tried setting it with an oil control powder and that didnt help.. blotting is not an option because it removes too much of the foundation. i tried touching it up and i looked too cakey. i would say this foundation is better for ladies with dry/normal skin.also, i get that raccoon look around my eyes. i guess adding a cream concealer would help to conceal my eye circles and dark spots but if thats the case i may as well just keep using my cream foundation.its a bummer because the shade is a really good match,it was improving my skin, and it didnt cause any breakouts but its going back to Ulta :(

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2012 4:13:00 PM More reviews by missclaritaxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I just wanted to start off by saying that I have a really acne-prone skin, It was very hard for me to find a foundation with good coverage that will not cause my skin to break out. Also, I've had a very hard time finding a foundation that matches my skin tone. I tan easily in the summer and in the winter I have a yellow undertone and it's noticable when my tan starts to fade. And it's really frustrating because I would need to purchase a whole different color of foundation because of how my tan fades so much. I usually purchased liquid foundation because of my dry skin as well which didn't help my oily T-zone.

I thought I would never find a foundation for me because of how complicated my skin was. That is, until I discovered this product. I was hesitant to purchase at first and the cosmetics lady said that I matched the Golden Medium but it was a bit lighter when she put it on so I was being picky and asked for her to try Tan. I saw my face and it was literally life changing. It matched my summer skin tone PERFECTLY and even now that it's winter it still somehow matches even though my tan has faded... It looks so natural and I only need one application rather than my old routine of primer, liquid foundation, powder makeup to set. The fact that it has SPF 15 is a huge BONUS because it's very important in keeping your skin healthy. I think the only problem I have is that sometimes I would have to reapply during the day because I get oily and it helps mattify my skin. But then again, who doesn't need to freshen up a little during the day?
I like the chisel brush that came with the trial package instead of the sponge that comes with the regular sized foundation for my dry skin. This product goes a long way. I've used the trial package and almost done my second regular sized foundation now and I think it's been almost a year and a half now since I started using this. (I use it every day) So if you want this to last, using the brush that comes in the trial package definitely helps.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/13/2012 2:38:00 PM More reviews by xwhereswaldo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I have this in Light. I use this powder to set my tinted moisturizer and provide some more coverage. I really like it. I've hit pan and I will buy it again most likely. It mattifys your face but not too much, I have dry skin and it doesn't accentuate the dryness. It evens everything out and doesn't look overly powdery.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/13/2012 12:04:00 AM More reviews by ShelbyA1993

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I can't believe I hadn't written a review on this yet! I love love love this foundation.

I first tried this through the starter pack and got the color blush medium. It was a bit too pink but it worked out. The compact was a little hard to open but it was just a trial compact. The powder gives such great coverage and applies so smoothly, I prefer using a natural textured brush.

When I finally purchased the full size, I got the color Golden Medium and it matches almost perfectly. This compact is also perfect. Easy to open, closes securely and has a nice mirror. It also looks sleek. But most importantly the actual product is perfect.

Even with my acne prone skin that has developed acne scars, this foundation gives me smooth, even toned skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/12/2012 11:49:00 PM More reviews by katsul6

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I bought Pur after it was featured on the Today Show's Steals and Deals a few months ago...the price was ok and it came with a few other items along with the foundation. I have used Bare Minerals for a couple of years and thought I would give this a try... What a disaster! My skin is sensitive, mild rosacea and tends to become irritated easily. I dont know what ingredient is causing the trouble, but I have not had break outs like this since junior high. Color and coverage were good, and I liked that it was not a loose powder-and therefore less messy than other mineral powders but it's making a mess of my skin.
I'll be returning to Bare Minerals.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/7/2012 3:56:00 PM More reviews by ilovethe80s87

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I normally, meaning pretty much since I started wearing make-up 10 years ago, don't wear foundation (or any make-up) daily. I only wear it when I have to go somewhere nice or when I'm going out at night. This is because I have acne-prone, oily skin and wearing make-up seems to make that worse. That being said...

This foundation is amazing! It's quick and easy to apply, and it doesn't make me look over-done; for these reasons, I now wear this foundation pretty much everyday! This does not cause me to break out at all which is wonderful, and a little bit provides decent coverage. It does a pretty good job of concealing imperfections, including my under-eye circles (which aren't terrible, but they're there). It is also washes off easily. I really love that it has SPF 15 too. This powder foundation is pressed, not loose, which is great because loose powder would be too messy for me and tricky to apply. I purchased the "new formula" which has skin-perfecting ingredients, but I haven't really noticed a difference with that (that part wasn't really important to me). The one negative I have about this foundation is that it does not provide the full coverage I like in a foundation for certain occations when I like to look made-up (mainly going out at night). But that's not a big deal because I have other foundations for that; just wish I could kill two birds with one stone with this foundation, so-to-speak. It costs more than I would normally pay for a foundation, but it lasts me a good while, so it's worth it I guess. Overall, wonderful foundation, I would definitely recommend it to my friends.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/5/2012 1:31:00 PM More reviews by darkskinsexylips

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

A new review of this product is long overdue. This is the absolute best foundation product ever! Pur Minerals 4in1 Pressed Mineral Powder is perfect. It has a mineral base, it's an excellent concealer, it provides amazing coverage all over the face, and it has an spf of 15. I am on my second compact and if this ever gets discontinued, I do not know what I will do because there is no other foundation that can do for me what this can. My shade, deep, is not the easiest to find, so to ensure that I am covered for the year, I need a back-up. This is it for me.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No