October 22, 2014 | 1841 users online

Lipstick - Maybelline - Color Sensational - Born With It

rated 3.8(164 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 67% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 3/22/2011 1:58:00 PM More reviews by damselfly1213

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Oh, bummer - I finally found a shade of pale pink that was flattering ("Born With It" in the now discontinued Moisture Extreme line) and now it's been discontinued. The new "Born With It" in the new "Colorsensational" line is not the same. I'm a pale skinned brunette and the old "Born With It" (A34) was a bit deeper and lacked the frost. The new lipstick is paler and has a whitish looking frost to it that is unflattering and just makes me look washed out. I really wish they'd kept the color the same and omitted the frost.

FWIW, the new "Pink Peony" (035) is a little deeper pink, and though it's still frosted, doesn't give my lips the whitish caste that the new "Born With It" does.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/16/2011 5:46:00 PM More reviews by Hanouna

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This is a light, milky pink nude lipstick that has a slight shimmer. I find that this is way too light for my skintone/lip color (around NC20 and my lips are beigy grey) but it would look great with someone who is more pale or who has more pigmented lips.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/8/2011 4:35:00 PM More reviews by Walhalla

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I'm not a big fan of lipsticks. I tried drugstore and high-end brands before, but I felt like most colours were unflattering for my skin tone and features. This one, though, is just the right shade of pink, although, unfortunately, it is a bit sheerer than I'd like it to be. It's slightly pinker than my natural lip colour, so it looks very... natural (I'm not big on synonyms, haha). I find it works best used on top of lip balm, to create a creamy consistancy. The glitters are indeed annoying, but I usually apply a thin coat of Rimmel's Vintage Pink or NYX's Smokey Look on top, which prevents them from falling all over the place (those being the only other 2 lipstick/gloss I own...). The smell doesn't bother me. I think Rimmel's lipsticks stink a LOT more than Maybelline's, but that's just my opinion. Despite not being perfect, this is going to be the first lipstick I ever see the end of and re-purchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/3/2011 11:11:00 PM More reviews by slippingbeauty

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I really think Maybelline got pale pink lipstick right with Born With It in their Colorsensational line. I suppose it makes sense since the product carries the brand's slogan. Born With It is a pale pink that's not too milky and not too sheer. (I tried other pale pinks, like MAC Creme Cup, that were just too milky and unflattering.) The undertone is pretty neutral, so I can see this working for most skintones. Also, there is a touch of very fine shimmer, but it just adds a little dimension without looking glittery. All in all, this is a wonderful every day lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/7/2011 5:37:00 PM More reviews by MlizK

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

So pretty. Lip products don't last long on me so I don't see the point in spending a lot of money on them. But this lasts way longer than most lipsticks I've tried. Perfect color, moisturizing, and cute packaging. Does have shimmer, but that is perfectly fine with me. Does not get stuck on dry patches.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/1/2011 4:05:00 PM More reviews by xxxklcandy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This product is a great dupe for Too Faced Lip of Luxury lipstick in Free Love. As usual with a drug store brand, this had too much glitter. Great color though and nice consistency. A solid drug store lip stick overall.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/20/2011 8:29:00 PM More reviews by RoseVie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

Loved the color, hated the glitter. Ended up giving it to my mom. I don't even know if she wears it! Lol.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/20/2011 7:59:00 PM More reviews by pandabear333

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

let me start off by saying that i wish i could find a lipstick that is this exact shade without the glitter, the smell, and the weird dry feeling it gives my lips. (ladies, if you know of any that fit this criteria - PM me!)
the pros of this lipstick are as follows - i'm NW15ish, with olive undertones & green eyes. the shade of this lipstick makes my features pop. it's just enough to tone down my pigmented lips, but without that concealer zombie porn star effect that a lot of pink/nude lipsticks give. i find myself reaching for it quite often, even though the cons frustrate me.
one thing i can't stand about it is the glitter. it lingers long after the lipstick has faded, and it definitely tends to migrate down your chin after awhile. not cute.
the smell is not too offensive, but there's definitely a...baby powder-esque thing going on that i'm not loving. and finally, as mentioned previously, the formula is not moisturizing whatsoever. i'm always very aware that i'm wearing something on my lips & i hate that feeling. i wish they'd reformulate and nix the glitter & add some moisturizing properties! in the meantime, i will continue to purchase because i have yet to find a shade this flattering.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/20/2010 10:57:00 AM More reviews by lola88

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is a very wearable pink. It is a more yellow toned and shinier than MAC Angel. It is not an exact dupe but they could be cousins. There are glitter particles in the lipstick that remain on the lips after the lipstick fades. Also the glitter tends to migrate to other parts of the face over time. However, I like the shade alot so I will continue to repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/5/2010 3:01:00 PM More reviews by lildr3amcatch3r

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I keep this lipstick in my purse at all times. Super pretty shade of pink. Not too bright or dark. Just right, in my opinion. It's very wearable and creamy. I love the Color sensational line and definitely will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No