October 31, 2014 | 845 users online

Liquid - Laura Mercier - Laura Mercier Oil Free Foundation



image 0image 1

rated 3.6(682 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 59% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 4/23/2011 9:54:00 AM More reviews by PattyCho

Age: Unknown Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This foundation works really well for me. You do need to use a wet sponge to apply but aside from that, it's really easy to use.
It's also the type of foundation where you can increase or decrease the amount of coverage you need.
It does not make me break out and it gives off a very natural effect.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/19/2011 10:27:00 PM More reviews by busyatdizzy

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I actually like this foundation. Its great on my combination skin and seems like it's concentrated. Gives good, long-lasting coverage. I would buy it again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/18/2011 11:51:00 PM More reviews by taylorlizette

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

EDIT: Definitely spoke too soon.

With my Napoleon Perdis pore minimiser mattifier this foundation is everything I've covered below. However, I ran out at the start of last week and that's when it all went pear-shaped.

Without the mattifier this is not matte at all, but rather has a dewy finish which is not good for my oily complexion. Coverage is very underwhelming - I feel like I need to use a lot more powder to get the medium coverage I'm after. It also doesn't seem very buildable - my face just feels oily and dirty the more I put on. The colour isn't as good as I initially thought either - it is quite ash and washes me out really badly.

I'm so disappointed, especially for an $80 foundation. Big let down.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I just bought this last week after my napoleon china doll fiiiiinally ran out (I love np foundations but the colours are far too yellow based for me).

Firstly, I think AUD$80 is ridiculous, especially for the standard 30ml. And I don't like the glass bottle for the simple fact that I know I'm going to be throwing away product when I can't get any more out of the pump. I much prefer plastic tubes that I can cut open to get my money's worth (yes, I'm that cheap).

I do really like this though, mostly for two reasons. This is the closest colour match I've ever found (blush ivory); it is probably a little on the dark side but the lighter shade would have washed me out way too much. Secondly, I haven't had any break outs yet!! I've only had it a week though, so hopefully I'm not speaking too soon. I have huge issues with foundations breaking me out (MAC Studio fluid was the worst!!!) so finding something in a medium, buildable and oil-free coverage in a good colour is a big deal for me.

Longevity is pretty standard; with a bit of maintenance (blot twice a day and sometimes a re-touch with powder) and it holds up all day. It's really nice to apply too, very smooth and easy to blend as it doesn't seem to 'set' as quickly as other oil-free foundations. I also love that I don't have to scrub my face at the end of the day to get it off, which means I'm not agrivating my skin.

Overall I'm very pleased with this foundation. If it continues to perform the way it has I will definitely repurchase. However, as nice as the ladies at the dj's (queens plaza) counter were I will be sourcing it online.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/17/2011 1:03:00 PM More reviews by nygrlnca

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I used to use this foundation back in the early 90's because everyone from Sarah Jessica Parker to Madonna was using it and I loved it then. I have since moved on to other foundations because the color ranges of other companies became more diverse. Plus Laura Mercier products are sooooo expensive. I started using again because I needed to cover some acne scars and the MUA did a wonderful job. However I did notice that it started to oxidize and looked soooo dark and shiny in pictures...even in London's freezing cold weather. It also felt sticky within 10 minutes of wearing it. Won't be purchasing again :(

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/13/2011 6:07:00 AM More reviews by Hyt831

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Correct me if I'm wrong, but boy does this foundation dry super fast!!! It is impossible to blend this stubborn foundation due to it's fast drying solid gel like consistency! Seriously, I've tried every way possible to make this work for me, but the outcome is just horrible! I know it's fast drying, therefore I work little by little, even that, the finish is too cakey and striky! I can see some parts are blended better than others. Unlike a normal foundation which can be evenly blended by a well packed synthetic brush (i.e sigma f80), this foundation is so stubborn that after applying little by little, I cannot buff my face one last time to even things out, because it just won't work! No matter how hard I tried to buff, the dried unevenness just stays!! :/ if anyone have a better method of applying PLEASE let me know! I need help with this! Lol! For reference: I have already tried damped sponge, wet/dry stippling brush, w/d foundation brush, w/d synthetic face brush, fingers, beauty blender!! Lol
The bottle is very nice and simple; looks very sophisticated because of the Laura mercier color and the matte bottle. The only down side to it's packaging is that if my hands were not super dry (i.e have lotion on it, have residue from facce moisturizer, any kind of moisture) the bottle cap will be too slippery to uncap. The cap is very VERY secure, which is a good thing for traveling, but it is pretty hard to open; and don't twist it, because the pump will easily twist off! :/ therefore I am not fond of the packaging!! I mean the pump is a plus, but now a days, most foundations that you pay more than 40 usually comes with a pump; so that is not special!
My closest shade is warm ivory, I believe this foundation comes in several shades, but it is either pink undertone or yellow, none that is neutral.
To tell you the truth, I did not wear this foundation once since I bought it; I would wipe it off as soon as I put it on due to the negative outcome!
Therefore I am in no position to comment on wether this foundation functions well. I do look for oil controlling yet hydrating foundation, and I bought this after researching it; but there were many mixed opinions on it, so I wanted to try it myself! Lol and this is how I got myself into this mess!!!
Lastly, this oil free foundation is definitely a full coverage (personally)! I have about 10 foundations that I am using right now, I would say this is the MOST coverage out of all of them!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/11/2011 3:26:00 AM More reviews by dmhamamoto

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've done a lot of research on this foundation and I was super excited!
the packaging was very cute :)

I have oily skin and have moderate acne. This foundation was amazing in a way where it didn't make my face oily AT ALL (for 12 hours plus) which I thought was AMAZING. Its like a gel, and I found that using my fingers was the best (I used sponges and brushes) because it melts the foundation on my face.

Cons:
expensive :( but I'm sure it lasts forever! cause I only use one-two pumps. (but then...they expire :()
THE COLOR CHANGES :( When I first put it on, I"m excited cause it looks good. BUT, the color somehow changes throughout the day to a darker shade !!! So, I'm not sure whats going on.

I think I just need to work with this more. :( Plus, it is somewhat good for covering up acne :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/9/2011 2:37:00 PM More reviews by MUAddiction

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure if it is completely my HG, but thus far I have yet to encounter a foundation that has the staying power of this, has buildable coverage and does not make me break out. During the day, I like to mix it with Cover,girl Clean foundation to make the coverage a little lighter, but at night I can wear this alone and it will be on the next morning when I wake up. Yes, I know, it's dumb to wear makeup to bed...but I am in college and it happens. I have found that this foundation works best when applied with a makeup sponge, but different applications work for different people:) My only complaint is the price, but $42 is not bad for what this product does.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/4/2011 9:21:00 AM More reviews by slimchicklovesMAC

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Brown

I'm continually on the hunt for the perfect foundation. My holy grail. This one so far comes very close. It's a very good match, color wise, it's oil free; comes in a glass bottle with pump! The price is $42, so it's a little pricey, but I would pay more for my HG. A little goes a long way, so you don't need much, which is a definte plus. It applies smoothly and looks flawless. I kept looking at myself, I just couldn't believe the finish. I applied a light dusting of powder (MAC MSFN in Dark) to set and I did use Smashbox Photo Finish primer before application. I did not purchase did foundation, but recieved a sample at Sephora. I was given a nice amount, enough to last at least a week. I will make my purchase decision at the end of the week and will update my review at the end of the week.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/4/2011 12:32:00 AM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I really liked this foundation compared to the other foundations I had been using in the past. It offers great coverage and lasts all day long. The only issue I have with this foundation is that it is really tacky and I feel like it doesn't control my oily skin as well as other foundations. I like the fact that it doesn't oxidize on me as well. However, I probably will not be repurchasing because I am constantly changing my foundation because I like to try new things.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/17/2011 4:19:00 PM More reviews by JustineMar

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This foundation is the very best for photography, It's the only foundation I can use and not break out from. Make sure to use a damp sponge though, it contains no oil so it will be too cakey without it. Love it!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No