MAC Matte Bronze

4.2

117 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Zinc Stearate, Isostearyl Palmitate, Lauroyl Lysine, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Magnesium Myristate, Phenoxyethanol [ /- Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Bismuth Oxychloride, Blue 1 Lake, Carmine, Chromium Oxide Greens, Chromium Hydroxide Green, Ferric Ferrocyanide, Manganese Violet, Ultramarines, Yellow 5 Lake]


on 2/28/2011 5:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I am a bronzer junky, I love bronzers as I feel they really give the skin an extra boost. I do like this bronzer, however I think there are better things out there and I'm on the hunt for that amazing bronzer.
I use this as a contour and sometimes as an overall bronzer, I love the packaging cuz it has a mirror, which Mac needs to start putting in their compacts.
This bronzer is mostly matte, although I think there is a slight teeny tiny irridescents in it, which doest bother me, and it mostly does look matte when put on the skin. I remember putting this on someone who was an NC35-37 and it looked amazing and gave the nicest flush of color to their face. But on me (NC30) I gotta use a lighter hand.
Overall I'm not sure if I would buy this product again not because its a bad product or anything but just because I think there are so many choices out there, both drugstore and highend.



on 10/18/2010 11:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This bronzer is good but nothing special. The texture is nice but not particularly long lasting and the colour is just a tad too light for me to use as a contour colour. If i were going to use bronzer on my cheeks as a blush i would prefer something not as matte, with more of a sheen. I use this as more of a light all over colour after foundation and it looks quite sunkissed but over application makes it look a little orange on me.


on 10/12/2010 7:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Really happy with this product simply for the fact it has absolutely no shimmer. I hate shimmer and for some reason can never find any bronzer that doesn't contain some of it. The colour seemed like it might be a bit orangey/muddy but it turned out a nice bronze, although I don't doubt it could turn muddy/orangey if it was over-applied. It also has a good ability to layer either light or dark, and fairly good staying power.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/11/2010 5:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love this, and golden bronzer too. I'm NC30/5 and when I have forgot to put my fake tan on my face I often reach for this as it's quite dark, unlilke golden. It's matte which is good as it can be doubled up as a contour powder which I also sometimes do, when I can't be bothered to reach for my 'blunt' powder. Really nice, natural, not orange, brown shade. I agree with youwillneverfindme, it is very fragile, mine smashed so I had to depot it into another container. At least you can back to mac it. if you manage not to smash it a plus side is it comes with a mirror in the compact! Would recommend to all. Xxx


on 10/9/2010 8:39:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Great bronzer. This works well with my NC30 shade. It does have that believable shade of tan that works for most skin tones. I wear this over foundation and without foundation. The coverage is great and buildable. Highly recommended-


on 9/15/2010 4:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This bronzer on my skin tone (NC45/NW40) doesn't really do anything special. I consider it to be more of an ordinary blush than anything else. Yes, it gives me a darkened rosy tint. No, it doesn't have any shimmer so might be great for oily skins like mine. But it's nothing special. I am going to attempt to use this as a contour powder since I've seen favorable reviews for that. As far as bronzers go, I am really enjoying Cargo's dark bronzer. Now that product is what I consider a bronzer...it delivers a warm glow that surprises me with how it looks on darker skinned ladies like myself. The compliments flow with Cargo.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2010 9:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Good colour, adds a healthy glow, I always use this everyday in the warmer months. Have repurchased twice now.
Once I'm done I'm trying Refined Golden next. But Matte Bronze will always be my go to.


on 7/12/2010 4:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Honestly, I like this bronzer. I do prefer matte to shimmer because with highlighters I can put the shimmer where I want it and not where I don't need it. It does provide a little bit of color to my tanned skin (MAC NC42/43) believe it or not. I add my blush and highlighter for the day and that's it.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

HG. A little pricey ($22). Fragile.


Matte bronze has been almost an everyday requirement for me for about a year and a half. I’m nw15-20 (cool toned ppp) with, ahem, “dewy” (read: slightly oily but smooth) skin so face products with shimmer are usually a disaster for me and bronzers in particular often come across looking metallic on me (NARS Laguna). Matte Bronze is fairly brown, but as one who needs a little bit of pink/peach/orange in her bronzer, I don’t find that it’s too muddy. In addition, being fair, I highly appreciate how sheerly this can be applied. While I use it mainly for contouring and a sheer touch of color in the winter, admittedly, I also load it on in the summer with my fake tan and a little bit of blush on the cheeks…beautiful look. The fake tan alone doesn’t garner any complement, but the bronzer always does, with or without the fake tan or blush…people ask if I got some sun and that I look healthy. I feel like this is my “beauty powder”.


You must be careful with this compact…slide it into a secure pocket in your bag because it’s fragile. My suggestion would be if you love this stuff, have a new compact that you carry with you for touch ups as the powder is sturdier. The old compact with pan peeking through should be the stuff you leave at home and apply before you leave the house since it will be even more fragile than the new. I learned my lesson with that quickly after my first compact with about a dime’s worth of pan showing, shattered in my bag, of course, going everywhere…a lot of wasted product not to mention a mess to clean up.


I've just ordered my third compact...my second still has plenty of product but I've hit pan...so one compact lasts about 8 months or so for me. Much more reasonable than my previous HG: Guerlain's brunette bronzer...blonde was nice but the brunette is more pigmented so I can use less...but at $50...forget it....I like MAC's Matte Bronze better anyway (color, no parabens, more affordable and the back to MAC program).
continued >>

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 5/23/2010 11:46:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

this used to be my all time fav, but it gives me a orangy apperance sometimes but its super pigmented and might not really work well on very fair skin this would be awesome from more tanner complexions

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Bronzers


HOOLA
1213 Reviews
Bahama Mama
132 Reviews
Chocolate Soleil
406 Reviews
Laguna
1249 Reviews
Back to Top