July 29, 2014 | 2058 users online

Cleansers - Dermalogica - Ultra Calming Cleanser



image 0image 1

rated 3.9(258 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 6/26/2010 9:04:00 AM More reviews by currypuffu

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Love this cleanser! It has no fragrance and is very mild on the skin (positive results do take a while to show), but overall is fantastic for sensitive skin. It seems to have a cooling effect on irritated skin and feels very nice.

Since it is very mild I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who wanted more obvious and instant results, but it's great for anyone with normal skin wanting a basic cleanser.

Packaging is good and a 500mL bottle can last about a year (with day and night use).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/3/2010 11:44:00 AM More reviews by sarah0711

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

I've been using this cleanser for almost 8 months and I've only just bought my second bottle. While it is very expensive my 500ml bottle lasted ages and the results have been well worth it.
I have mild rosacea and my skin reacts to many products quite badly. From day one I noticed a decrease in redness after washing, my skin never feels dry or irritated after using it either-a big change compared to many other cleansers I've tried. It removes my mineral make up well and never leaves any residue (I do rinse, instead of tissuing off).
Overall I think I've found my Hg cleanser. I use in conjuction with dermalogica's soothing protection spray, sheer tint redness relief and barrier repair and am so pleased with the improvement of my skin as a result. Well worth the money!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/25/2010 5:20:00 PM More reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

It's soft and does not cause any irritation but I can't say this is particularly calming either. Whenever I use this I feel that it leaves some kind of residue on my face, not what I want from my cleanser.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/18/2010 2:03:00 AM More reviews by amymacd78

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I can get the same results with Neutrogena or Cetaphil for way cheaper. Not worth the money.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/3/2010 8:01:00 AM More reviews by sparker884

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have extremely sensitive acne-prone skin. Most "acne" cleansers break me out in a rash on top of the spots. This cleanser calms the redness and rash however I still need something for the spots. (Haven't quite figured out what to do with the spots yet.) I don't have a problem removing makeup with this cleanser and it's so gentle that most days I don't need a heavy moisturizer afterwards. The only thing that turns me off are the parabens in this product. I'm on this whole green/healthy kick so I'm going to try out a few natural cleansers but if I don't have any luck.. I'll def return to this cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/20/2010 9:05:00 PM More reviews by PinkPenguin763

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Fine Eyes: Blue

I think I like this cleanser, but even after 2 weeks of use I just can't decide. It does seem to take my makeup off as long as I use a makeup removing wipe first since it's waterproof. It also seems to get most of the daily oil and dirt off, but I am just so used to my normal products that I don't feel like I'm really getting my face clean. I have used my regular cleanser a few times in between, and I have noticed that it almost burns in comparison to this product. I am breaking out differently than I normally would, but this could be just from switching products and because I had a facial recently. I will probably buy again as long as I stop breaking out and don't feel like it's to weak.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/14/2010 9:08:00 AM More reviews by MediterraneanX

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this for a few weeks now. My skin has recently become sensitive and red, so as soon as I had finished my drugstore cleanser I immediately put an order in for this.

It has a nice design - smooth & sleek and unlikely to leak. I opted for the 250ml version as a big 'tester' so to speak. I do find that my skin is calmer and less red now that I've been using it. I put the product onto my fingers and massage my makeup around, and then wipe off with cotton buds. I get a somewhat mask-like feel after doing this, so I think it would work better if I rinsed off the residue instead. I agree with some people saying it's not the best makeup remover - I always need to use a toner to remove the rest of it, but the bottle does advise to use precleanse before so I'm going to look into buying that when I next have the money!

It is an expensive product, but you need to invest in your skin so I would repurchase it. I think Dermalogica need to reiterate the fact that this is a cleanser and not an all-in-one makeup remover.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/1/2010 2:42:00 PM More reviews by niamhyxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

ive been using this clenser for 3 years now and i love it! i got some mild acne when i was 17 and this stuff really helped!! im acne free now but still get the odd breakout.. it really calms my sensitive skin and keeps it feeling fresh.. love it :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/16/2010 5:14:00 PM More reviews by banjaxed

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Hazel

After years of using rinse off cleansers I finally caved in and bought this for my sensitive, break-out prone skin. I'm so glad I did because it has really calmed my skin and my blemishes aren't irritated anymore, they seem to be disappearing! I've only used it for a couple of weeks so maybe this review is a bit premature but I'll update if anything negative should happen.


I use this cleanser morning and night, smoothing it over my skin and then removing with cotton wool or pads. I still feel I need to use toner afterwards, maybe unnecessarily, but I don't really feel clean unless I've used toner too.


Price is pretty horrendous here in Ireland but I bought it from the UK and paid about 32 including shipping (for the 500 ml bottle).


Packaging is pretty good, it's a white plastic bottle with a pump. Unfortunately the pump on my bottle seems a bit wonky but maybe it got damaged in transit?


Overall, I'm happy with this cleanser. It's not HG yet but it's too soon to tell. I'll keep you updated.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/5/2009 4:59:00 AM More reviews by peo189

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this cleanser. it doesn't make my sensitive skin irritating :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No