March 2, 2015 | 1068 users online

Cleansers - Dermalogica - Ultra Calming Cleanser



image 0image 1

rated 3.9(260 reviews)

Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 7/5/2010 10:40:00 PM More reviews by goodhabits

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

With this product, I felt that it left a sort of layer on my face, when I really wanted to feel clean. Also, I don't get acne, but I do break out when I use the wrong products, and although this product did not cause the breakout, it did not help to get rid of it either.

I would say that this is probably a good product for someone with already clear, and sensitive skin, but not for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/28/2010 2:11:00 PM More reviews by frostythesnowman81

Age: Unknown Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Black

Pros:
It's absolutely lovely
Cons:
Expensive

Bottom line:
My Grandma* swears by Dermalogica. Every single product in her routine is from Dermalogica. She has the softest skin ever and looks 5 years younger than she is. When I complained about my first pimple she got me this and the Skin Prep Scrub. They were both amazing. I have sensitive skin and this cleanser worked with it not against it. I would repurchase but it is too expensive.

Beauty secret: Listen to your Grandma's skin care advice. She has so much more experience.

Recommended: Yes

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/26/2010 9:04:00 AM More reviews by currypuffu

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Love this cleanser! It has no fragrance and is very mild on the skin (positive results do take a while to show), but overall is fantastic for sensitive skin. It seems to have a cooling effect on irritated skin and feels very nice.

Since it is very mild I wouldn't recommend this to anyone who wanted more obvious and instant results, but it's great for anyone with normal skin wanting a basic cleanser.

Packaging is good and a 500mL bottle can last about a year (with day and night use).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/3/2010 11:44:00 AM More reviews by sarah0711

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

I've been using this cleanser for almost 8 months and I've only just bought my second bottle. While it is very expensive my 500ml bottle lasted ages and the results have been well worth it.
I have mild rosacea and my skin reacts to many products quite badly. From day one I noticed a decrease in redness after washing, my skin never feels dry or irritated after using it either-a big change compared to many other cleansers I've tried. It removes my mineral make up well and never leaves any residue (I do rinse, instead of tissuing off).
Overall I think I've found my Hg cleanser. I use in conjuction with dermalogica's soothing protection spray, sheer tint redness relief and barrier repair and am so pleased with the improvement of my skin as a result. Well worth the money!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/25/2010 5:20:00 PM More reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

It's soft and does not cause any irritation but I can't say this is particularly calming either. Whenever I use this I feel that it leaves some kind of residue on my face, not what I want from my cleanser.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/18/2010 2:03:00 AM More reviews by amymacd78

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I can get the same results with Neutrogena or Cetaphil for way cheaper. Not worth the money.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/3/2010 8:01:00 AM More reviews by sparker884

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have extremely sensitive acne-prone skin. Most "acne" cleansers break me out in a rash on top of the spots. This cleanser calms the redness and rash however I still need something for the spots. (Haven't quite figured out what to do with the spots yet.) I don't have a problem removing makeup with this cleanser and it's so gentle that most days I don't need a heavy moisturizer afterwards. The only thing that turns me off are the parabens in this product. I'm on this whole green/healthy kick so I'm going to try out a few natural cleansers but if I don't have any luck.. I'll def return to this cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/20/2010 9:05:00 PM More reviews by PinkPenguin763

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Fine Eyes: Blue

I think I like this cleanser, but even after 2 weeks of use I just can't decide. It does seem to take my makeup off as long as I use a makeup removing wipe first since it's waterproof. It also seems to get most of the daily oil and dirt off, but I am just so used to my normal products that I don't feel like I'm really getting my face clean. I have used my regular cleanser a few times in between, and I have noticed that it almost burns in comparison to this product. I am breaking out differently than I normally would, but this could be just from switching products and because I had a facial recently. I will probably buy again as long as I stop breaking out and don't feel like it's to weak.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/14/2010 9:08:00 AM More reviews by MediterraneanX

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this for a few weeks now. My skin has recently become sensitive and red, so as soon as I had finished my drugstore cleanser I immediately put an order in for this.

It has a nice design - smooth & sleek and unlikely to leak. I opted for the 250ml version as a big 'tester' so to speak. I do find that my skin is calmer and less red now that I've been using it. I put the product onto my fingers and massage my makeup around, and then wipe off with cotton buds. I get a somewhat mask-like feel after doing this, so I think it would work better if I rinsed off the residue instead. I agree with some people saying it's not the best makeup remover - I always need to use a toner to remove the rest of it, but the bottle does advise to use precleanse before so I'm going to look into buying that when I next have the money!

It is an expensive product, but you need to invest in your skin so I would repurchase it. I think Dermalogica need to reiterate the fact that this is a cleanser and not an all-in-one makeup remover.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/1/2010 2:42:00 PM More reviews by niamhyxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

ive been using this clenser for 3 years now and i love it! i got some mild acne when i was 17 and this stuff really helped!! im acne free now but still get the odd breakout.. it really calms my sensitive skin and keeps it feeling fresh.. love it :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No