December 22, 2014 | 1453 users online

Powder - Merle Norman - Luxiva Ultra Powder Foundation



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.4(227 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 81% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 5/30/2009 9:15:00 PM More reviews by laceylogan

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

This is a fantastic powder with fantastic coverage! It goes on and stays on provide a flawless finish! My one gripe is the packaging, along with most MN products the packaging is a little bulky and dated, but ultimately a great product that I will continue to buy!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/20/2009 2:31:00 PM More reviews by casey6383

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I never write reviews-but this stuff is great. A friend of mine recommended this to me years ago, and now I see why she has raved about it! I find that it provides good coverage, except for under eyes-which I just use some of my bare minerals with a concealer brush. Follow up with ultra powder and some bronzer, and I'm good to go!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/7/2009 1:55:00 AM More reviews by luna_kanin

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love this powder. It's so lovely, doesn't break me out. HG status.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/5/2009 3:30:00 PM More reviews by smdaigle

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Blue

I've been using it for years. Stays on and doesn't look cakey or oily.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/6/2009 7:56:00 AM More reviews by gina2328

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was expecting great things from this foundation based on the reviews. First off, the coverage for me was more like sheer to medium, more like sheer, like a powder, not really a foundation. I prefer at least medium coverage. I have been applying this dry with a flocked sponge which gives heavier coverage.

Second, I hit pan in about a month, after not even using it every day. This product cost at least $ 38 if I remember correctly, and I will not repurchase something that costs so much and lasts such a short period of time. I am quite disappointed in this foundation. Estee Lauder Double Wear Powder foundation is so much better than this product, the coverage is amazing and it lasts for months!









Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/1/2009 7:58:00 PM More reviews by saku88

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I love this product. It didnt make me break out at all!! i feel like it actually cleared up my face a little bit. Would def. repurchase. I have one concern though. I was matched upto Ultra Golden, I am NC 20 in MAC. I am unsure about the color..if anyone can help me ..please contact me. if you are nc 20, what shade are you wearing in this?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/20/2009 8:58:00 PM More reviews by LauraJean396

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is HANDS DOWN my favorite powder EVER! I have bought this item countless times. It is actually the only product I repurchase at Merle Norman over and over again. I try many things, but none are all that impressive to me. I have encouraged lots of my friends to buy this and they all have and all love it. I actually try different products thinking I am going to get a better product somewhere else, and I never have! I have no idea why I ever stray for this powder foundation! It is definately my HG!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/12/2009 7:33:00 PM More reviews by stefdo

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I do not consider myself very loyal to any one particular cosmetic company, but this is one of those products which I must always have. I have oily skin, live in an area with very high humidity, plus need decent coverage to tone down the redness in my face. I get it with this product. I also believe the powder helps to fill any former acne scars. Anyway, this is one of those products I always seem to go back to.UPDATE: I took off a lippie only b/c I have switched to Jane Iredale Pressed Base. I gave up on all other foundations. I like this product but I got frustrated with my skin breaking out, so if your skin is not acne prone and you want good coverage from a powder foundation. Do it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/9/2009 4:24:00 PM More reviews by currypuff

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like this, but as other reviewers said, the ingredients scared me... mica as the first ingredient, yikes!

I got neutral shade, with help from the sales lady. I found the shopping experience actually okay.... the lady wasn't pushy or anything like that, and all I bought was the foundation.

I was happy with the shade matching, level of coverage and it did last for most of the day. However I just can't get over the strong fragrance of this product. You open the compact and BAM it instantly hits you in the face... especially compared to other powder foundations I am using/testing (Shiseido powdery, Prestige Multitask, Maybelline Purestay). For that reason, I probably won't repurchase this otherwise good product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/27/2009 7:36:00 PM More reviews by Carlita22

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I tried this based on the great reviews here, and now I am hooked. I have oily, acne prone skin with large pores, lots of redness, and some indented/pock acne marks on my cheeks. This is great at covering redness and pores while controlling oil. Mica is one of the first few ingredients, but I don't find it is ridiculously glowy (like BE). It just gives a nice soft look to the skin, blurring down my imperfections. Also, it doesn't settle into my pores/scars the way most liquids do. It just sort of sits on top of them, which makes a huge difference in how I look at the end of the day. I have repurchased this twice so far, and will continue to purchase again.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No