October 25, 2014 | 1907 users online

Lip Treatments - Nivea - A Kiss of Flavor Cherry

rated 3.8(180 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 6/12/2011 7:46:00 PM More reviews by fuforette

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I like the taste, it is quite yum and actually tastes like Cherries! :)
I gives the lips a little red tinge, but not too obvious, which I think is great!
Although, I am not sure how moisturising the product really is! I probably would not buy it again for that reason, but also I am desperate to try all the other Nivea's.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/27/2011 7:30:00 PM More reviews by magicloop2009

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I love it. Super flavor, super good lip balm, the tube is big and lasts long

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/27/2011 10:55:00 AM More reviews by gladiolii

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought mine just a couple of days ago after reading all the reviews on this site. I was desperately ogling this on drugstore.com, and needed the extra bit for free shipping. Also, I planned to buy four for the bulk discount, so I needed to *really* like this or I would be stuck with too many tubes I didn't like and will never use. After a few days of use, here are my thoughts:
I agree that the cherry scent is kind of strong--at first it is, anyway. When I first pulled off the packaging and put it on, I was reminded of cherry popsicles. It didn't really remind me of cough syrup... shudder... but definitely does remind me of a strong artificial cherry syrup, the stuff they dilute to flavor just about anything cherry-flavored. It smells sweet, and I've always been a huge fan of cherry flavoring, so this is a (+) for me.
My other issue was the clown lips--I've bought too many pink lipsticks that look great in the tube but look like Barbie vomited on me when I put it on. Personally, I found that this does NOT have enough pigmentation to give me clown lips, unlike lipsticks. So I must say, to the previous reviewer who said this gave them clown lips--I'm inclined to think it might be because you have really pigmented lips to begin with. In which case, I am forever jealous. But since my lips aren't all that pigmented, this balm is a non-issue with me... so maybe those with pigmented lips should keep that in mind. But it's definitely cheap enough to try out.
Anyway, I did have a moment where I freaked out a little upon seeing the magenta-colored packaging, because I remember reading here that it was true to color... but to anyone else who might be worried, the magenta is far from what shows up on the lips (thank God). It comes off as a pretty pinkish red, not a dark red--more like what you would look like just coming out of a hot shower, or a sauna. Maybe with a hint more pink? I'm normally not a pink person at all, but this light pink is fine on me, somehow. Maybe it's my slight yellow tone, but if so, I'm inclined to think it'll look fine on all but the most pinkish-hued skins.
Finally, in response to this replacing the Lip Smacker Dr. Pepper... hmm. I did actually think about it... and I agree, it is slightly more pigmented. It's also more moisturizing, though it is waxier and drier than Nivea's other uncolored balms. But the Dr. Pepper gloss is more of a red, and this is more pinkish... so I don't know that I would personally replace my Dr. Pepper with this yet. I've always liked layering the Dr. Pepper under or on top of lipsticks, and I'm excited to see what this Nivea one would look like over/under lipstick too.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/21/2011 2:55:00 AM More reviews by SaidtheClaireBear

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I'll just say this: I really love the color, but I am not particularly fond of the smell/taste. In my opinion it's kind of like cough syrup. But then again, I am generally not a fan of cherry flavor, so if you like cherry flavor you'll probably be okay with it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/3/2011 12:59:00 AM More reviews by dela_cerna

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'd actually give this a 4.5. If it were a little bit more moisturizing, I'd be over the moon, but this is pretty good for what it is, certainly better than most balms in the market. I usually dislike flavors/scents on lip balms, but I actually like this one. The cherry scent is juicy (but not nauseating like the NYX glosses). One reviewer said it's like cherry starburst and I agree! The tint is fantastic. I have pretty pigmented lips and this really does the trick and actually shows up. I talk to people at my job all day long, and it's nice that I can put this on without having to whip a mirror out. Very nice for low key/natural makeup too!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/3/2011 8:57:00 PM More reviews by jennyfercl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral Hair: Black, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

I prefer this one over the strawberry one because it seems to be a little less slippery for some reason. Also prefer the scent a bit. It's a deeper red that's a bit more blue-based, and it has some shimmer but you can't see it once applied. I wouldn't call this MLBB since it's a bit too pigmented to be considered natural, but it's nice for when you feel like adding colour and don't necessarily want to carry around a high maintenance lip gloss or lip stick. I do find my lips a bit tight after the moisture has worn off though. The packaging isn't my fave but it'll do for the $1.35 i paid.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/24/2011 2:39:00 PM More reviews by mscc

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

I love this lip balm. It is very tinted, like lipstick, but also moisturizing. It's a little too red for me, so I just blot it or mix it with another lip balm. It smells so yummy, like Cherry Starburst!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/19/2011 6:20:00 PM More reviews by em1282

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

I keep this in my bag at all times - I love it that much. I agree with most reviewers who say this isn't super moisturizing, but I use a lot of other heavy lip treatments that keep my lips moisturized anyway, so this is fine for me. It gives a gorgeous reddish tint that looks like you either just ate a cherry popsicle or bit your lips. Perfect for those days when you don't want to bother picking out a lipstick, or when you want to go out of the house and need a little color on your face. It also lasts through a workout (I don't like to wear makeup to the gym, but if you are one of those types who likes to, this is perfect), which is pretty impressive for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/13/2011 7:31:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I got this product because it's very cheap and I've never tried Nivea products.

Pros:
cheap
smells/taste good
tint of color
moderate moisturizing abilities

Cons:
can be a little too pigmented
isn't as moisturizing as it could be

Happy shopping!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/11/2011 5:10:00 PM More reviews by bittersweetjess

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

This was just ok for me. I like the sheer tint it leaves on your lips and I like the cherry smell. The problem is that it's just not very moisturizing. It's rather waxy and hard. I will use this when my lips are already moisturized with another balm, and it does help seal in the moisture. But if you start out with dry, chapped lips, and put this on, it won't really soothe or moisturize them (in my experience.) Too bad, because I think the Nivea lip balm packaging is so cute!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No