October 22, 2014 | 1815 users online

Bronzers - BeneFit Cosmetics - HOOLA

rated 4.1(1141 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 73% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 12/31/2009 4:48:00 PM More reviews by Anna888

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I've been using this bronzer for quite a few years now and it's probably one of the the best ones on the market! It gives such a great natural colour with no sign of any orange tints or sparkle! I think it's pretty expensive and even though the packaging is cute I'd prefer it in a compact.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/26/2009 6:06:00 PM More reviews by Iampo0kie

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this bronzer! I use it for contouring and it does a great job!

I did not have the problem of looking muddy, the color is perfect for bronzing/contouring.

The only problem I have with this is, it takes A LOT of rough buffing to blend the color out. Otherwise, it's perfect!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/23/2009 11:19:00 PM More reviews by moniluna6

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

NC20-25. Although it looks really muddy in the packaging it is the perfect all over bronzer! Its matte and gives a natural bronze effect. It is great for contouring and giving your whole face color on days where you feel like you have no color in you! And a little bit goes a long way so it'll last you forever.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/14/2009 1:15:00 AM More reviews by prncss

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

For starters, I have NC35 medium tanned asian skin with yellow undertones. I have normal/combination skin. I bought HOOLA because I was looking for a matte bronzer with no shimmer, and I intended to use this doubly as a foundation powder (as opposed to bronzer on top of foundation).

Here is my rating:

Color 5/5 - The color is a perfect match for skin with yellow undertones. It is a true brown and is not orange or pink, and it is matte without taking away my original glow. Some bronzers can be really matte and make me look dead. This isn't muddy unless it is layered multiple times. The color is better than the Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer, which can be muddy at times, and looks more natural than the Annabelle Bronzers.

Blendability 2.5/5 - I apply this with my EcoTools Kabuki brush and find that the blendability is only average, and is comparable to most drugstore powders I have tried. This highlights dry spots on my face and requires extra blending, otherwise it can be blotchy. I prefer Everyday Minerals Pressed Powder for the best blending. I also find that the Lise Watier Havana Bronzer blends better than this.

Pigmentation 5/5 - This has great pigmentation and the powder itself is very soft and is easily picked up by the brush, unlike MAC powders/bronzers which need a heavier hand. The included brush is pretty decent for touch-ups but not big enough for using all over the face.

As for extended usage, I found that this powder clogs pores and causes me to get oily in the t-zone. Once I stopped using this and went back to my mineral powder, I did not get oily anymore, so this is something to keep in mind for those who have problem with oil. I haven't got any break-outs so far though and I have been using this for a week. Other gripes about this, like others have commented, are the bad packaging. Cardboard feels cheap and is too bulky. I prefer traditional flat compacts with mirrors for easy touch ups. I will continue using this but will not re-purchase. Bottom line is that the color is amazing but I don't like that it highlights dry spots and causes my skin to get oily.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/12/2009 9:46:00 PM More reviews by zeepeople

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this bronzer. I use it everyday. And that's saying a lot because I don't wear that much makeup and am picky about what I use. I will continue to use this and buy this product forever.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/7/2009 7:26:00 PM More reviews by macismycrack627

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Great matte bronzer! I am about an NC15 - and this is not too dark for me. I apply it with a 187 brush and it looks great! Very natural looking, and doesn't make me look dirty or orange.
I don't particularly care for the box design of the packaging, even though the idea is pretty cute. Not great for traveling.
When I run out of this, I will definitely buy another one. I would say this is pretty darn close to HG status! =)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/5/2009 10:27:00 PM More reviews by lily_vert

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am very pale. A light dusting with this does exactly what I wanted - I look like I have a little sun, and I'm not washed out or pasty. I love the fact that it has no glimmer or shimmer. Its such a finely milled powder that it feels like silk and truly disappears into the skin. I have no trouble moving this around - I don't get streaks or blotches. Maybe its the fact that I'm so pale in the first place - I can dust it on very lightly and its perfect; if I get too much in one place, I just take a makeup sponge and remove it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/5/2009 8:22:00 AM More reviews by cheesecakefiend

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This product definitely works, but I can't say that it is my favorite. It looks natural and what not but I do miss a little shimmer in my bronzer! I've used Nars laguna, stila, and mac. Out of all of them, my favorite is Mac's Refined Golden. It makes you glow without looking like a disco ball.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/2/2009 12:56:00 PM More reviews by AshleighPerkins

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I really love benefit cosmetics because They give a really nice look but not to cakey. Benefit make-up works with your skin and looks natural. I also Love MAC but it is quite cakey and harsh on skin. Benefit is well worth the high price and most of my collection is BeneFit. I gave the packaging quality a 4 becuase the brush is very small and takes longer to apply. HOOLA is an amazing bronzer with no shimmer and gives a natural looking tan. The ONLY problem I have ever had with this product is that if not applied properly it can look dirty. But overall I really love this bronzer and I repurchase every time I run out! I hope this has helped! xxxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/26/2009 3:56:00 AM More reviews by vleemakeup

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

I bought this as a lot of newspapers & magazines were raving about how this was the best bronzer blah, blah, blah - what an ABSOLUTE RORT!!! I'm trained as a make-up artist & I know I'm a damn good one; but even I can't make this muddy, dishwater, dirty coloured bronzer work by itself - no matter how much you blend, blend, blend, blend & blend some more.

The only way I can make it look half decent is by mixing it with Guerlain Meteorites Beige Chic or Mythic or with the Benefit Georgia powder. I won't be purchasing this again as I've found many better bronzers that aren't as expensive or as foul to use.

Is this review helpful? Yes No