October 20, 2014 | 1988 users online

Liquid - NARS - Sheer Glow Foundation

rated 3.7(1350 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 63% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.9
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 8/1/2011 12:09:00 AM More reviews by NatKxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have Dry-Combination skin. I am dry overall but i Ido have some oily spots on my T-zone.

I really wanted to like this foundation for its "Sheer" and "Glow".
Trust me, it is neither of those things.

I put it on, and it looked orange. It also came out a very powdery finish which I absolutely hate!

It was about 50USD at the Nars counter which is way too expensive for the quality.

I would recommend this foundation for someone with very oily skin as this is a matte finish which turns sort of powdery.

Wish I could return this (so bad!) but Nars does not offer returns (I believe).

DO NOT PURCHASE THIS!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/30/2011 12:11:00 PM More reviews by NualaMaria

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Really wanted to like this foundation, heard so many good things about it. On the plus side, the colour range is really good and I found a shade (punjab) that matches my fake tanned skin perfectly as it has yellow (not pink) undertones. However for the price this foundation should really come with a pump! (you can get a pump for it but it needs to be purchased seperately which i think is quite bad as the foundation is expensive enough as it is!). no pump = product wasted! it does apply quite nicely, however what i disliked most about this foundation is that it does not last long at all! in the morning it looked fine, come the afternoon my face looked like a blotchy oily mess... would def not repurchase! as it was so expensive i am trying to use it up though, currently mixing it with my estee lauder double wear (which i love). it might work for some people def didnt work for me, and i have tried other cheaper foundations (eg mac studio sculpt) which are way better, last longer and give better coverage!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/29/2011 8:10:00 PM More reviews by MakingFaces

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Seriously one of the worst foundations I ever used. Broke me out horribly, huge cystic and painful!! I wore it for a whole day and woke up looking like a pizza the next morning! It also made me a super oil slick within a few hours. I wouldnt recommend this to my worst enemy!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/29/2011 8:02:00 PM More reviews by Stephaniegonzo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this foundation. It literally gives you a glow. I never knew what people were talking about before this foundation. Barcelona is a perfect match for me. My only gripe is i have to store it upright b/c it leaks :( . But I almost dont mind that. Hopefully mine is just an oddball as far as pakaging.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/29/2011 11:31:00 AM More reviews by ALllieee

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

really really really love this foundation it's amazing. my colour (syracuse) matches perfectly and it has fair good coverage. i have a few acne scars/hyperpigmentation that are covered with one layer of foundation. The yellow base in this foundation makes it look so natural on me. It's a bit expensive but worth it. Should really have a pump though, i try not to waste too much.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/28/2011 10:14:00 AM More reviews by violetmist

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

A beautiful medium coverage foundation that looks almost as light as a tinted moisturizer. My shade is Deauville a neutral leaning to warm shade. I have been a Bobbi Brown fan but I find her shades to be too yellow causing the rest of my makeup to need adjustment so I look balanced and natural. The Nars foundation makes all of my makeup look better. It is somewhat moisturizing but not too much, gives nice coverage but is sheer. Clearly a lot of thought went into this product and it shows.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/27/2011 2:32:00 AM More reviews by sjbst17

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Wish I could give this negative stars since it broke me out horribly.

I have combination acne prone skin, but normally it is clear. Sheer glow is a beautiful color and texture, though it did tend to make me a little oily and to wear off a bit too quickly. But sheer glow gave me cystic acne, that temporarily really ruined my skin. Since most of the ingredients are lab compounds it's hard to get clear on what's in here...unless you are familiar with the terminology.

Based on the recommendation of Paula's Choice's Beautypedia and the NARS packaging and marketing stating non-comedogenic and unfortunately for me, not checking MUA I continued to use it even after getting large cysts.

Because I really liked the color, I then bought Sheer Matte, thinking that maybe it would not make me breakout. To my horror, it gave me a different kind of acne that I had never seen before - small bumpy acne in places where I don't break out ever, like my jawbone... and my neck!

I'm not sure what the cutoff should be but at least 12-13% of women on MUA developed cysts from sheer glow (I filtered by skin type acne-prone only so - there could be more). I saw a similar consistency in the reviews of sheer matte, a different pattern of acne -- clusters of disgusting little acne bumps.

Paula's Choice/ Beautypedia (the cosmetics 'cop') said that, there is no science to explain this. Some women have 'anecdotally' reported that silicones cause them to break out, but according to the science of silicones - they do not actually penetrate the pore so logically they shouldn't obstruct pores. So I still do not know which ingredient(s) caused me and these other reviewers to have similar reactions to these foundations.

Frankly, as someone who has to read labels and be careful to keep my skin nice and clear...I'm a bit disgusted with all of this. I even called NARS and they said that their product should not cause acne, but well I must disagree. Anyways, Paula's Choice/ Beautypedia continues to give this foundation Highly Recommended status, without reservation or warning - at least until new studies are released. The 12% of reviewers here who had a horrible experience with it are merely anecdotal, likening being acne prone to being lactose intolerant -- since most people can drink milk.

I'm convinced that both sheer glow and sheer matte should carry a warning, that they MAY cause breakouts. This is a superb foundation in my opinion if it doesn't turn your face into a pimply mess. But, if you are acne prone, be aware that this can really create problems for your skin. Knowing all of this, if you still want to see if maybe it will work just fine for you -- I suggest that perhaps you try it initially for a couple of weeks on a small part of your face to potentially save yourself some trouble.

Hope it helps

29 out of 51 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/26/2011 3:47:00 PM More reviews by Nextdoorhottie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

My current foundation! I use the shade, Barcelona. Since i do have oily skin I have to use a setting powder because this certainly does give you that glow! I might try the matte version when i finish this bottle. Its med-full coverage. looks natural, it really does make your skin look beautiful! Its also very blendable.

I really didnt like the packing, though i have to say. I wish when i purchased it, it came with a pump instead. It can get very messy!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/24/2011 10:16:00 PM More reviews by juvenileOrion

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I got this in Mont Blanc and it's the perfect shade for my skin. My skin is not flawless, I do have a couple of marks here and there but I don't like wearing heavy foundation, so I use some concealer and put this over. It gives a glowy look and I like its lightweightness. I don't like the packaging because you have to pour it out on your hand and sometimes you pour too much and waste the product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/20/2011 6:09:00 PM More reviews by Lazza91

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This foundation is good as it evens out your skin tone and appears very natural. It gives a sheer coverage which is buildable and doesn't look cakey. However, i have a few problems with this foundation: 1) It does tend to cling onto any dry bits of skin you have which is irratating, 2) It doesn't come with a pump which means you waste alot of product and 3) It is very expensive. Overall, this is a good foundation but, i wouldn't say it was worth it's price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No