April 19, 2014 | 1653 users online

Bronzers - BeneFit Cosmetics - HOOLA

rated 4.1(1078 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 73% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 12/11/2009 1:55:00 AM More reviews by Nepheliad

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I really love this bronzer. It is a nice matte tan brown with no orange or reddish tones. Prior to this I was using Nars Laguna which was alright, but maybe too much on the reddish brown tone for me. For reference, I`m an NC35. I don`t use this all over my face, I basically use it to contour and give my face dimension. I love that it has no shimmer because I don`t always want a shimmery sheen on my face. The packaging is super cute and can be recycled(big points), but not very practical. The size isn`t travel friendly and the box can get pretty beat up. I think it would be better if it were flatter or something. Anyway, it`s still awesome. I also don`t like how the brush just lays on top, but I don`t use it or keep it in there anyway. This bronzer is quite pricey at CAN$36, but it has 11g as opposed to Nars which is I think 8g and the Nars is more expensive. So for anyone having trouble looking for a bronzer because they are usually too orange or reddish brown, definitely give this a try.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/7/2009 7:26:00 PM More reviews by macismycrack627

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Great matte bronzer! I am about an NC15 - and this is not too dark for me. I apply it with a 187 brush and it looks great! Very natural looking, and doesn't make me look dirty or orange.
I don't particularly care for the box design of the packaging, even though the idea is pretty cute. Not great for traveling.
When I run out of this, I will definitely buy another one. I would say this is pretty darn close to HG status! =)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/5/2009 10:27:00 PM More reviews by lily_vert

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am very pale. A light dusting with this does exactly what I wanted - I look like I have a little sun, and I'm not washed out or pasty. I love the fact that it has no glimmer or shimmer. Its such a finely milled powder that it feels like silk and truly disappears into the skin. I have no trouble moving this around - I don't get streaks or blotches. Maybe its the fact that I'm so pale in the first place - I can dust it on very lightly and its perfect; if I get too much in one place, I just take a makeup sponge and remove it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/5/2009 8:22:00 AM More reviews by cheesecakefiend

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This product definitely works, but I can't say that it is my favorite. It looks natural and what not but I do miss a little shimmer in my bronzer! I've used Nars laguna, stila, and mac. Out of all of them, my favorite is Mac's Refined Golden. It makes you glow without looking like a disco ball.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/2/2009 12:56:00 PM More reviews by AshleighPerkins

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I really love benefit cosmetics because They give a really nice look but not to cakey. Benefit make-up works with your skin and looks natural. I also Love MAC but it is quite cakey and harsh on skin. Benefit is well worth the high price and most of my collection is BeneFit. I gave the packaging quality a 4 becuase the brush is very small and takes longer to apply. HOOLA is an amazing bronzer with no shimmer and gives a natural looking tan. The ONLY problem I have ever had with this product is that if not applied properly it can look dirty. But overall I really love this bronzer and I repurchase every time I run out! I hope this has helped! xxxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/26/2009 3:56:00 AM More reviews by vleemakeup

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

I bought this as a lot of newspapers & magazines were raving about how this was the best bronzer blah, blah, blah - what an ABSOLUTE RORT!!! I'm trained as a make-up artist & I know I'm a damn good one; but even I can't make this muddy, dishwater, dirty coloured bronzer work by itself - no matter how much you blend, blend, blend, blend & blend some more.

The only way I can make it look half decent is by mixing it with Guerlain Meteorites Beige Chic or Mythic or with the Benefit Georgia powder. I won't be purchasing this again as I've found many better bronzers that aren't as expensive or as foul to use.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/24/2009 4:40:00 PM More reviews by lillylou2

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Best bronzer hand's down ever.
I looooved this stuff when I was in college I could just pack it on and never look orange although It could get a bit of a dirty look if not blended well & I was never one to blend back in the day.
Fast forward 6 years & I have learned the importance of blending & fell in love with this product all over again.
Now with more of a light hand and new found blending skills (lol) It looks better than ever.

ps. It's a great contour

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/22/2009 8:08:00 PM More reviews by Coquii

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Several makeup gurus suggested I try this brown, non-glittery bronzer so I was stoked when my Sephora F&F order arrived. Boy were they wrong. This left my face looking brown, splotchy, and dirty. I practically ran to my local Sephora store to get a refund for this junk.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/11/2009 5:38:00 AM More reviews by LusciousLashes123

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I'm sure it looks fab on other people but it just doesn't sit quite right on me, looks too much like a 5 o'clock shadow rather than a contour.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 10/31/2009 6:02:00 AM More reviews by mecepeda

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I hate to rain on the Benefit parade, as I know that this product has many fans, but I am not one of them. On a recent trip to Sephora in search of a basic bronzer with minimal to no shimmer, the SA recommend this product to me, and I took her advice. This was clearly a mistake on my part, as this bronzer has little to recommend it besides the cute packaging (which ultimately turns out to be very problematic if you plan on traveling with this product or carrying it around in your bag for touchups). The brush is of extremely low quality: rough, and instantly prone to shedding, it also does a very poor job of applying Hoola, which turned out to be a very muddy, unflattering shade of brown on my medium olive skin. Could I have applied it incorrectly, you ask? I wondered the same thing myself, so I tried this product again, using a small MAC skunk brush. Unfortunately, the results were not much better, which leads me to the conclusion that this is simply not the bronzer for me. Once again, I am disappointed by Benefit's offerings for olive/darker toned women.

Is this review helpful? Yes No