September 1, 2014 | 2044 users online

Mascara - Maybelline - One by One Volum' Express

rated 3.6(766 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/13/2011 5:26:00 PM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I bought this mascara because I like to try various types of maybelline mascaras and this one had cute packaging. I really like that the wand has a thick brush and separates my lashes. It gives a very natural look for daytime but would not recommend for night time dramatic lashes

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/13/2011 4:15:00 PM More reviews by polemonium

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Too bad there isn't a 'maybe' on the question, "Would you buy this product again?" The waterproof version of this mascara in the color 'Black' isn't bad (I make this distinction because in 'Brownish-Black' it is kind of bad, going on with a tendency towards thick globs).

The brush is a bit large and doesn't separate lashes well, but in general the mascara goes on pretty easily. I'd rather it had more 'tooth' and grabbed the lashes more quickly, because as it is, a couple of passes are necessary before you get any significant buildup.

It doesn't seem to smudge or flake, but on the whole, I much prefer my old favorite, Maybelline's Waterproof Full 'N Soft in Black. It's superior in every way, from ease of application, to brush size and separation, to endurance.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/12/2011 9:55:00 PM More reviews by ak0703

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

The colorful packaging sucked me in...and I REALLY did want to love this mascara, but unfortunately it didn't work out. Like other reviewers have said it clumped pretty badly and gave a spider lash effect. Maybe next time, Maybelline.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/11/2011 8:05:00 PM More reviews by alainlalaland

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Good job, Maybelline! I have the non-waterproof black/brown. I have fairly long lashes, but they aren't thick or dark. This mascara makes my lashes fluttery and not clumpy at all. Two coats provides pretty volume and lasts ALL DAY. Added bonus- the color actually makes my eyes look bluer. SCORE. I really hope they never discontinue this. I've tried literally every other Maybelline mascara out there right now and this one is the best!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/10/2011 4:23:00 PM More reviews by hnn

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I got the non waterproof version in blackest black. It separates and lengthens nicely, but I see absolutely no volume even with several coats, which is what I usually look for in a good mascara. It also clumps a little surprisingly, I have to pick through my lashes afterwards to take them out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/10/2011 4:47:00 AM More reviews by sweetlysour21

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have pretty thick eyelashes so I was looking for a mascara to help seperate them. I was using falsies but it clumps on me quite a bit n sometimes would irritate my eyes. I like this mascara for everyday, it seperates well but when i want my lashes to look even more thick I use covergirl lash blast fusion with it. I gave it a 3 because it doesn't volumize like it says, but i does awesome at seperating without 3+ strokes. so so, but i still prefer my covergirl lash blast, it's just harder to seperate with that alone.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/9/2011 11:40:00 AM More reviews by shizumasa

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I really wanted to like this....but I usually don't have problems with mascaras except for this one.
It did nothing for my eyelashes, except make them look kind of spidery...and the waterproof version still managed to smear. It didn't really volumize my lashes either.
Over all it just made my lashes look a bit darker, would not repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/7/2011 6:29:00 PM More reviews by Bjet

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

*waterproof version

I was disappointed in the "volumizing" it does not really give any volume but it defines and separates each lashes. I prefer the falsies a lot more.
This mascara would be best for day time and a natural look however definitely not for dramatic.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/7/2011 5:50:00 PM More reviews by ksuey

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Let me start off by describing my natural lashes. I have asian, stick straight lashes that are pretty long but stick out horizontally.

I wanted to find a mascara that would look like my lashes, but better.
For me that meant a (NONWATERPROOF) mascara that could hold a curl , fan out my lashes, darken my lashes so that they would be more visible from far away, and have no obvious clumps close up.
Basically, I wanted NATURAL looking lashes, so it wouldn't be obvious that I was wearing mascara.

If any of you girls have similar eyelash goals, then I definitely recommend trying out this mascara. It definitely doesn't weigh my lashes down which is probably why the non-waterproof holds my curl all day (I normally curl my lashes after applying mascara), and looks completely natural with one coat (it is buildable to an extent but I like the way my lashes look with one coat).
NOTE: This volumizes by fanning out your lashes, and defining each lash individually, NOT by adding fibres to the sides of your lashes. It will NOT be as dramatic but look like your eyelashes with no mascara on them, but better.
This is why I think it looks best with only one coat of mascara (although it was hard at first to refrain myself from adding more and more coats haha :P)

Also I don't find the smell of the mascara that offensive, It's not strong but when I sniffed it, I actually liked the smell.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/6/2011 9:22:00 PM More reviews by thesunsetglow

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I wasn't crazy about the brush - it felt too flimsy to be able to give me a nice coating. It did manage to coat my lashes, but it didn't give me much volume... a little disappointing :(

Although it didn't do too much for volume, it was great for the natural look - I found if I only applied a small amount it gave me great length and definition for a more simple look. The more you apply, the longer they get, but again, not too much volume.

Overall, great for length and definition, but a little lacking in the volume department. But considering what I paid for it, it was a great bang for my buck!

Is this review helpful? Yes No