April 19, 2014 | 886 users online

Cleansers - Neutrogena - Oil-Free Acne Wash

rated 2.8(891 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.8
  • 44% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 8/25/2007 1:15:00 AM More reviews by JadziaDAx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Terrible. This was one of a few cleansers available in travel sizes, which I desperately needed, so I bought it and used it for a week. My acne was slightly worse afterwards and my skin was DRY!!! And this is coming from a girl with a very oily face in the middle of hot, humid summer. Don't buy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/16/2007 7:27:00 PM More reviews by Monipalm

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I used this product on the recommendation of the book Skintype Solutions, and for a minute my skin was glowing (and that's an unusual ocurrance to say the least!) Then I was tempted by the Oil Free Acne Stress Control products (foam wash, and facial scrub.) They smell delicious - but what a disaster for my skin!! I had terrible breakouts ALL over =(

Well, I finally realized my mistake and went back to this at night, and the Oil Free Acne Daily Scrub in the mornings. Back to almost glowing again, in a matter of days!! I won't make the same mistake again and I will be re-purchasing this product for SURE. I am sure it won't work for everyone, but since it was on the recommended list for my skintype, I know it's right for my skin (oily {combination - oily cheeks and forehead, dry around the eyes and mouth}, resistant, tight and pigmented, if you know the skintype model.)

Make sure you're using the right product for your skin and if you need/can tolerate salicylic acid, maybe this is the perfect product for you too!
ETA - I upgraded to 5 lipsticks. I am still using this, and my skin is still doing great. This stuff is GREAT for the right skintype. =)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/14/2007 8:39:00 PM More reviews by LiveWireTaiji

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Just an okay product. While it didn't aggravate my acne, it certainly didn't do anything amazing. I prefer Cetaphil's Gentle Cleanser for Normal/Oily skin, over this. However, it did help my sister's skin out a lot, but then she started breaking out again a few months later.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/12/2007 2:35:00 PM More reviews by agnesuhhx3

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

It somewhat got rid of my pores, not my acne though. I even got new acne becuase of this. It's not that bad though. It smells ok, and i feel so clean when i sue it. I would probably buy this product again, even though it's not the best. And what's good is because it doesn't dry out my skin, like every acne medication I've used.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/7/2007 4:36:00 PM More reviews by KDM

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have combination skin and this helps keep my skin clear... I like it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/3/2007 5:00:00 AM More reviews by Neilp1993

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

smells good but doesnt nesseserly work if u have acne. i wouldnt buy it again

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/31/2007 10:16:00 PM More reviews by chelsea_lynne

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have combination/sensitive/acne-prone skin. This cleanser was okay. It didn't dry out my skin too much, but it also didn't seem to make my skin look better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/27/2007 4:41:00 AM More reviews by theroxywave

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Another one of my staples during my secondary school days when I had breakouts. The packaging sucks cos it leaks easily.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/23/2007 2:27:00 PM More reviews by makeupjunkie22890

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a pretty good cleanser. I have combination skin with very oily skin on the T-zone and normal skin on the cheeks. It does dry my skin out a bit, but once I apply moisturizer, my skin is back to normal. It hasn't rid of all my acne, but if I stop using it for a while, my skin breaks out like crazy. I used to faithfully use it both night and morning, but I've found that it works better for me if I just use it at night. I like the gel texture, but I'm not crazy about the smell or the color. It feels good on my skin and makes it smoother, although I wish I didn't have to add water to the gel and then lather, which I find quite tedious. I have and will buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/22/2007 1:50:00 PM More reviews by SeaHorsiee

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

So, I used to be a huge fan of this, but then I started getting some dry patches on my chin. So I decided to do some research and according to Paula Begoun, "sodium C14-16 olefin sulfate" (which is a key ingredient in the product) is too irritating for all skin types. I think I'm gonna try a much more gentle cleanser.

p.s. Skin type: combination, acne prone skin, dryer cheeks.

Is this review helpful? Yes No