October 24, 2014 | 1536 users online

Powder - MAC - Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation

rated 3.7(3703 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 5/28/2014 3:23:00 PM More reviews by shannonstyles

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I wear shade NW45. In my opinion this powder gives great coverage,but does look cakey and powder like....maybe because its a powder:')Overall I would like to buy it again but would like to try other powder foundations first

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/27/2014 7:12:00 PM More reviews by srxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My HG powder! I have a dry skin but makeup tends to go patchy, not with this! I use a liquid foundation then very lightly dust over with a fluffy brush and my make up stays in place all day with no primer. You can build it up easily and it lasts ages, usually have to buy once a year. Would definitely recommend, it's an all rounder!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/25/2014 3:07:00 AM More reviews by Coraldc

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I purchased the MAC Studio Fix powder foundation about 2 weeks ago in shade NW10, and have been using it on an almost daily basis since. I use Loreal Lumi Magique primer underneath. Using a primer with this product definitely makes a difference to how long the foundation will last, and the type of finish achieved.

You get 15g of product which is pretty much the same as most other brands of pressed powders.

PROS:
Provides full coverage with a matte finish if applied with a powder puff.

If applied using a powder brush I get medium coverage (which is buildable), that looks more natural and is more of a satin finish. I think I achieve the satin finish because of the type of primer I'm using underneath. This is my favourite way to wear this product as I like looking a bit more natural.

When applied with a brush it feels really light on the skin, like you're not wearing makeup at all.

The packaging is quite nice - a black compact with a mirror and a space underneath to store a powder puff. It's nothing out of the ordinary though.

I have sensitive skin and this product doesn't cause me any discomfort. I have extremely fair skin, and this shade matches me perfectly. It covers up redness quite well too.

CONS:
This is an expensive product to purchase in New Zealand ($60 from the MAC counter), although not as expensive as some other high end brands (e.g. Christian Dior or YSL).

If I don't use a primer underneath then this foundation doesn't last very long at all, although this is remarkably improved when using primer (it will last all day at work 8+ hours with the use of a primer).

VERDICT:
Overall I'm very happy with this product, and it's a great step up from the products I have used previously (Rimmel stay matte pressed powder, and Natio pressed powder which were both too dark for my fair skin). Although these products are quite a bit cheaper than MAC, I'm happy to pay more to get a shade that matches my complexion and a product that looks more natural and feels better on my skin.

I would re-purchase and recommend to my friends.

EDIT: Of course because this is a powder foundation, on days when I have dry patches this product will make those dry patches stand out and look worse (for me this is in the middle of my forehead, the tip of my nose and on my chin). Using an exfoliator regularly is important for me to ensure a flawless application every time.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/24/2014 5:04:00 PM More reviews by Gislumy

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Product kept me matte but also caused me to breakout. Gave it to my sister and she uses it without complaint. Guess everyone reacts differently to it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/24/2014 3:14:00 PM More reviews by lolita97

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Okay so this has the best coverage and finish i've ever gotten from a powder! it looks silky and smooth and covers amazingly! it also lasts me 6-7 hours even though i have oily skin. but it breaks me outttt ughhhh! i don't use it as consecutively now but i still can't be withought it because it looks so good!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/23/2014 4:59:00 PM More reviews by Orlacam1

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Absolute HG of foundations for heavy cover. I'm a makeup artist and I will not do a job without this compact! I've used it for years and I have used many shades. It's excellent for wedding makeup as it stays put and is easy to touch up. 2 pro tips: use a primer and don't use the sponge (that's just dirty). Put it on with a good kabuki or mineral brush and build it up as required.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/23/2014 3:23:00 PM More reviews by Leialilly

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Great full coverage powder foundation.
Huge colour range as you would expect from Mac, I am NC 20 - 25 in Macs liquid foundations but I use a 30 in this as I was advised it comes up a little lighter.
What I love this for is an evening foundation as it has no spf it gives zero flashback and always makes my skin appear really flawless in photos. Being a powder it also keeps the skin matte and it's so portable I can touch up with it more easily.

I apply with a damp real techniques sponge and it gives a really full coverage either alone or on top of liquid foundation. It's also nice used over a tinted moisturiser with a fluffy brush for a lighter look.

I do prefer to use a powder or foundation with spf in the daytime and I also think this can look too heavy in natural light if you apply too much but daytime use is not what I love it for, its just my holy grail of products for when I need my skin to look flawless and picture perfect!! I will repurchase forever!!!




Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/18/2014 11:09:00 PM More reviews by Marebear2013

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Absolutely love this powder. It's everything you could want from powder foundation. Full coverage & it looks absolutely gorgeous. You don't even need liquid foundation if you have oily skin. This provides amazing coverage. A must try for those with oily skin!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/13/2014 1:44:00 AM More reviews by lizzobee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This stuff is the best, my HG of powders. I always keep this compact handy in my purse, even though I keep the rest of my makeup separate. I've been using it for close to a decade now (one compact will last me close to year - I just change the sponge out every few weeks or so). I love how many shades they have so you can always find your skin tone. It stays on very well - I get some serious T-Zone shine and I only need to reapply once or twice a day. Not gonna lie, I get most of my makeup at drug stores but this, THIS I will always travel to MAC & pay the extra bucks for. One of my favorite products, I love it!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/8/2014 10:23:00 AM More reviews by MaggieHelena

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

this is my hg powder ^-^ you can build up coverage or dust lightly all over the face. it works for me and my oily combo skin ♥

Is this review helpful? Yes No