April 18, 2014 | 1752 users online

Pressed Powders - MAC - Mineralize Skinfinish Natural - Medium Dark



image 0

rated 4.2(196 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 79% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 8/6/2011 8:04:00 PM More reviews by mangogo234

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this powder! I use it everyday after my morning skin routine to just brush it on my face and even out my skin tone while taming my oiliness. Be sure to moisturize well before putting this on or you may look a little cakey, but I was so surprised that a powder could look so natural! I love to just pop this in my bag for future touch ups and I can't go wrong with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/30/2011 5:52:00 AM More reviews by abbyyyy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have several MSF, some for highlighting and two for general setting of foundation after use. I recently purchased medium dark as the medium shade I was originally matched to was turning ashy on my skin because I was getting darker. I have NW25 skin and when the SA told me I should try the medium dark I was sceptical it would match me as I know people that have darker skin than me and have been matched to medium plus, however I feel some of the shades are different undertones rather than shades of darkness. This really suits me better than the medium as I feel it tones down the redness in my skin a bit more and makes my complexion a tad warmer and like I have a healthy sun kissed glow. However the SA advised me I should keep the medium and use it for a matte highlight if I want something subtle under my eyes/ cheekbones.

I adore MSF and think that they are very multipurpose products. You can use them to contour, highlight, set your powder, as an all over light coverage foundation.

I love the package too - it doesn't contain a mirror but this isn't too much of a worry for me as I don't take it with me to touch up. I like the clear top because unlike a lot of other MAC compacts with the mirrors (select powder, blot powder, etc), I can see which one and grab the one I need without opening it. They are very sturdy and I haven't had one break yet, even when I was travelling from University or the times I put it on my non-carry on in planes while going on holiday. Plus they last for ever!

I love it - I just recommend going in to the store and getting matched to make sure you get the correct shade for your skin tone, but if they mess up it's not too big of a deal because as I said, you can easily find another use for it.



Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/30/2011 12:58:00 AM More reviews by thecrazyfilipino

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Other Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this!! I actually have a lighter skintone than this, but I like using it to just warm up my face, and it still gives me a little more coverage.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/9/2011 11:26:00 AM More reviews by olimac909

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I had this tried on me at the MAC store in Janurary and I LOVED the natural glow it gave me, the MAC artist didn't tell me what shade I was though she just put it on me and rushed to help another costumer. Shock! But I loved the way it looked on me and I think medium dark would be the perfect color for me (I am NW30 in Studio Sculpt Foundation and NW33 in Studio Fix Fluid) but Which shade should I chose for this cause I love it so much! I don't mind being a bit lighter or a bit darker.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/18/2011 1:13:00 PM More reviews by Iphegenia

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I've been loyal to this product ever since I bought it (one month ago). I just wanted to buy a powder that I could warm up studio sculpt since it was a bit too light for me. Mineralize Skinfinish Natural Medium Dark was a perfect match! My body had yellow undertones, my face however has neutral undertones.. PLUS it's a lot lighter than the rest of my body.
Most yellow toned foundations are too yellow and look very fake on my skin. Whenever I use a foundation that matches my skintone (face) and I add the MSF over the foundation, it is a perfect match! My face and body are even again in skincolor.
I apply this powder with a HUGE fluffy brush from sephora. A little goes a long way since it's so pigmented. Definately recommended!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/14/2011 10:55:00 PM More reviews by mar559

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

I didn't like this at first because it didn't give me enough coverage (or it would but it would look cakey on my dry skin). The MUA told me that I could get more coverage if I sprayed fix+ on my brush, dipped the brush in the compact and then apply. BAD ADVICE, it hardened a layer of my MSF. I ended up having to scrape off the first layer (which didn't wast too much product but was annoying).

After that I just didn't know how to use it beyond using my Sigma F82 and getting decent coverage. However, I've lately been using it as a light setting powder under light liquid foundation with a Sigma's blush brush - this not only sets my foundation but gives me just enough coverage w/o looking cakey at all. It makes my makeup last all day! I'm glad I found a way to use it - I'm satisfied. I would possibly repurchase if I don't find something better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/14/2011 7:21:00 PM More reviews by Savvy890

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

MY FAVORITE POWDER! i have tried sooo many, and this is the best powder on the market!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/13/2011 5:44:00 PM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I was hesitant to use this because my skin doesnt react too well with mac products for face. However, this didn't cause me to break out and the finish was great. I use this as a setting powder because it doesnt provide enough coverage to wear alone. I don't like the fact that there is alot of fall out. I use a flat top kabuki to buff this into my face after applying liquid foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/29/2011 8:00:00 PM More reviews by nycpari

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Dark, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Other

NC44 for reference.

Okay so this is kind of a 2-in-1 review! I originally used this as a mineral foundation since I had previously used BE in Warm and loved the glowy affect. BE was too red though and my best friend who had also worn BE had just switched to this MSF and it looked great on her. I thought it was pretty good however my only gripes were that it was way too drying for my skin (I was applying just over moisturizer), and it was actually a shade too dark! Since then I haven't worn it as a mineral moisturizer.

Which leads me to my second review...
This time I've been using it as a setting powder after watching some YouTube videos. I didn't even know it could be used for that! I used it over my Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer which can make my skin look a bit TOO glowy haha.

This stuff has been amazing for setting my Mac Studio Finish concealer, it also evens out my skin tone and matts down the oilyness from the LM tinted moisturizer. Before my concealer would barely last an hour, but now it stays on for up to 4! It still dries out my skin a bit, not too much just makes me have to stay on top my skincare routine.

I actually also use it as a contour powder.

I'll definitely re-purchase, but next time will probably get a shade lighter if using as a setting powder.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/21/2011 11:16:00 AM More reviews by efrazier

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I hate this product. It made me break out all over my face. Now I have acne scars that I am trying to cover up. It took a full week of me not wearing this product in order for my skin to not break out.I will be going back to Urban Decay's Surreal Skin Mineral Makeup powder (Mirage) soon. At least Urban Decay doesn't break me out or make me look orange.

Is this review helpful? Yes No