October 24, 2014 | 1681 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Fleshpot

rated 3.8(123 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 4/7/2009 10:14:00 AM More reviews by starla219

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this lipstick and I'm happy I purchased it (although I paid too much for it). Although I can wear it on its own (lightly, and usually enhanced with gloss) it is also terrific as a base layer for making the true tones of a gloss stand out. You cannot bear down in applying it, or it will definitely look like concealer -- it's all in the application. With the correct application, its retro Brigitte Bardot. I think it probably looks best on fair skin and lighter toned hair. I tried on Myth first, and wasn't so sure about the peachy tones in that one, although they are similar. I prefer the pinker tones of Fleshpot. I have the Pro version (not Heatherette).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/26/2009 9:06:00 AM More reviews by BRANDI7013

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

All this really is is a concealer. If you can wear this lippie, power to you! I'm an NW15 and looked ridiculous with this on. I tried it tons of ways before I swapped it. It shows every crack/crinkle/peel etc. in your lips and applying balm,gloss,liner etc. doesn't make it look any better. It just isn't a very wearable lipstick.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/3/2009 5:58:00 PM More reviews by EternalKudra

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

This is *almost* my HG nude. My lips are fairly pigmented and my skin is pale, so I have a nearly impossible time finding lipsticks that are both opaque enough and light enough to wear as a nude on me. This one is opaque, and light, but unless I blot it to tone it down some, it's just a bit too much of that concealer-lips look. I've realized that a super, super pale lip can look as dramatic as a really dark lip, not necessarily a good thing if you're looking for daytime friendly. I do like the mod, colorless lips look sometimes, and this is a good color for my skintone when I do want that look, so I would repurchase. I also think this would be great to tone down my lip color under other lipsticks, though I haven't tried it yet. But in general, it's still not exactly the nude I wanted.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/9/2009 4:27:00 PM More reviews by venturasummer

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

melandie (below) sums it up perfectly:
IF you have the time for the 4 step process, this colour can give you a very sexy "Bridgette Bardot the morning after" look (with the help of creme d' le nude and gloss). A unique light beige matte colour.
It's a FABULOUS colour but boy does it take some work!
PS I have the original packaging (not the heatherette limited edition)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/7/2009 12:05:00 PM More reviews by glitternglitzy

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I waited a while before I reviewed this lipstick because I really wanted to love it. The name is sexy, the packaging (I have Heatherette) is stunning and the color in the tube is very sassy. However, I just can't get this to look right on my lips. It's too light. It is quite opaque and for me requires a bit too much work to get it to look right. I can imagine on a blonde this color would look really hot with some gloss. I'm red headed and have more of a 'sophisticated' look and this is a bit too light for my look. Would probably be fun for a summer look or going out. If you wanted to play up your eyes, this could really be a great lipstick to pair with it. I'm not saying it's a bad color, but for me, it's too light and looks like concealer on my lips.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/15/2008 12:30:00 PM More reviews by dominicangirl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I wrote a review on this before but have decided to edit it because now I've grown to love this lipstick even more :)
First off, the packaging is so pretty, all pink and sparkly - so many people say "wow, what's that? it's soooo cute!" The lipstick has that distinct MAC vanilla smell which is divine.


The actual colour of the lipstick is what I would describe as beige with a pink undertone to it. I wouldn't describe it as simply beige...more like a beige-pink. I have olive skintone that is tan all year round and it does NOT wash me out or make me look like a corpse at all, it actually enhances my skin colour. There is no glitter or shimmer it it (YAY!) and the texture of it is really good. Applied on bare lips with no gloss can look good aslong as you don't apply too much. My main gripe about this is that it can sometimes make my lips flaky unless I scrub them with a toothbrush and apply lipbalm before putting it on.


The way I apply fleshpot may be slightly different to how others do.l I apply it OVER my pinky peach lipgloss and it just looks AMAZING. I get so many compliments on my lip colour, both from guys and ladies. Yes, my method makes the lipstick all glossy ontop from the lipgloss, but that's why I have 2 fleshpots - 1 to use over the lipgloss and 1 to use under it. Both methods are good but I prefer my one a little more :)


This is my HG lipstick and I'd definately repurchase.
PROS:
1) Beautiful beigey pink colour that I haven't seen anywhere before
2) Pretty packaging
3) Long lasting, when it does finally start to fade it leaves a nice light pink colour on my lips.
4) Smells yummy
5) Goes with just about every outfit colour

CONS:
1) Formula will make my lips look dry unless I scrub/apply lipbalm
2) Pretty pricey for me as I have to buy it from the US.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/14/2008 6:08:00 PM More reviews by metalandie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Oh hello there lover....What? No, no I can't buy you. Why, well, dear only pornstars can get away with your look. Oh, no it is true, you know how it is - they put you on and line their lips with a much, much, much darker liner. Hhaha, yeah I know. Lame. So I'm sure you understand. I'm going to scoot over and buy a nice, safe pink. Bye now.

What? So you say that if I line you with a fleshtoned liner and pop a light glaze of pink lipgloss and do a dark eye -....I'll look...I'll look...glamorous? Hohoho, surely you jest you little tricky nymph. I know your porn star loving ways. Your a deceiver - and what's more I know your fomulation, being so opaque and creamy will only turn my lips into a graveyard of dry flaky nastiness. I'm sorry, I didn't mean to be rude, but one cannot deny one's nature, now can one? Bye now.

Oh, you say if I wear a lipbalm underneath it all, none of your devilish lip cracking attributes will shine through. Well, I'm a busy lady - I don't have time for a 4 step lip process. Time is money and with that time I can get lip injections. Tata.

Oh all right you wicked little bastard, I'll try you on just to shut you up. At the very least I respect your persistence.



Oh my! You were right all along! How blind I was! I look freshfaced and at least...like....72% more couture than before.

I'm sorry I ever doubted you.

38 out of 42 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/5/2008 11:17:00 PM More reviews by Peacelover18

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I am NW15 though my skin tends to be neutral. This color is a permanent pro color, and was repromoted with the March 2008 Heatherette collection (I have the Heatherette version). The color description is a light neutral beige. It is a satin finish. If you are even the slightest bit darker than NW15, and you do not want to look like a corpse, this lipstick is not for you. While I do love this color, I do have a bit of trouble making it work for me. I cannot apply it straight out of the tube - I have to smudge it in with my fingers, and I usually have to apply the accompanying lip gloss Bonus Beat, to give it a little more color. However, I do find it to be a true nude lip for me, so it's worth the work. But like I said, I would not recommend this to someone with a darker skintone. The Heatherette packaging is gorgeous, so no complaints there. MAC lipsticks are $14, and I would repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 6/16/2008 9:11:00 PM More reviews by pianadark

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

if you're trying to choose between fleshpot and myth, go with myth. fleshpot has this strange pink to it which looks almost scary in natural light. myth is more of a nude beige. it's lighter but still gives even pigmented lips that perfect color. Yes, it is very pigmented and may be alright on cooler skintones but fleshpot looked too strange and unnatural against my skin's yellow undertones.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/28/2008 5:35:00 PM More reviews by lilhenna

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

God help me! I'm an NC42, and even the MA was like "this color looks awful on you." I am a no-fuss makeup wearer. I do not wear gloss over lipsticks. I line, and thats it. Fleshpot is not an easy lipstick to wear. It requires time and finesse. I don't have that. Also, it was too far of a stretch with my coloring. May work for others...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No