July 23, 2014 | 2297 users online

Powder - Cover FX - Cover Fx - Powder Fx



image 0

rated 3.8(133 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 63% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 2/13/2011 11:27:00 PM More reviews by iEndlessly

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I actually walked into Shoppers Drugmart's Beauty Boutique, and the Beauty Expert recommended this for me along with the setting powder. I was told that this make up line is made for covering marks such as tattoos , and would work wonders in covering my acne scars.

My main "scar" problems in my shoulder blades, and a slight part of my back. I don't have very main scars on my face - thankfully my skin has been mostly clear in the past three years. I was looking for prom makeup - mostly a foundation, I do want my skin to look the best it can be. So letting the sales associate know about my concern about my scars she recommended me this line.

From the sample she used to apply on my skin, I first got the impression that this foundation is creamy. However - it is a powder, compact and application must be used with a brush. I'd recommend a basic foundation brush, and maybe a smaller concealer brush to get the hard spots. Anyway, the best way to get this make up on I find is to pack it and press it lightly on your face instead of brushing it on. It does give good coverage, but however (maybe this is just for me) I did not find that the coverage was enough for my dark circles ( i could not be applying it properly or something?). Anyway, the foundation does feel light in comparison to liquid or cream foundation any day - and if used properly this is a fantastic product for a "natural look".

I have only been using this product for about a week - and it is a decently priced - at 35 $ CAN. and I am told that this product should last me a week - I actually think it might because it does not take very much product to fully cover redness, and scars.

EDIT: after experimenting for possible foundation combinations to use, I found that using the Powder FX as a second layer of foundation over a cream based foundation such as Cover Girl Natural Luxe, works miracles. Great texture, and amazing coverage !

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/12/2011 8:25:00 PM More reviews by littlesunshine

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is such a hard one to review. I love the product. It blends so nicely and covers amazingly! That said, if your skin is the slightest bit dry, the motion used to buff this in and make it flawless just irritates the skin and causes it to look flakey and cakey. This is definitely one for people with combo or oily skin. I will revisit this in the summer when my face isn't so dry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/6/2011 11:51:00 PM More reviews by cheesecakefiend

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I've gone through about 6 Bare Mineral Matte foundations in the color Light. I absolutely loved that because it did not break me out like the original formula and like the laura mercier mineral foundation did. But recently i've realized that bare minerals just wasn't cutting it. I have a lot of post acne hyperpigmentation that the bare minerals wasn't doing a good job concealing. I was also using Nars sheer glow underneath the bare minerals matte but it was too sheer. A friend of mine who has battled acne for years recommended me this line and although i was interested, the packaging of coverfx made me not want to buy it. Last weekend i was desperate for more coverage since i was planning on going away and I just decided to try it. I am a Light in Bare Minerals Matte a NC 27-30 in MAC and i was matched to a M50. the M40 works but the M50 just covered way better. With just moisturizer and this swept ontop it cover all my hyperpigmentation and it just looks SO natural. This has earned HG status. At first it looked like Cover Girl packaging from the 1980s but now I really love how sleek the packaging of this powder is. I"m sick of loose mineral powder. Pressed powder is the way to go! I love this so much that I want to get the cream foundation and use that as a concealer. But really, I shouldn't bother because this works just fine. Plus, this hasn't broken me out! Give this a try girls, especually those who are battling acne and feel embarrassed to go out in public. Good luck!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/14/2011 2:47:00 PM More reviews by Rina7

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I picked this up a couple of weeks ago in M50 because it's one of choices without perfume. I'm torn about it. On the one hand, this color is a great match. On the other hand, it has an aging effect by exaggerating fine lines and pores and making my skin look dry, especially in dry winter weather. I've also noticed a bit of slight bumpiness/possible clogged pores after using this a few days in a row. I'll look for something else for now, and try this again in the summer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/11/2011 4:41:00 PM More reviews by GreekGoddessxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Okay sooooo,, this the FIRST product I have ever loved enough to actually take the time to write a review on. This Powder Fx has CHANGED the way I feel when Im in public and the way my skin looks when I take it off. I would like to start by saying that I have tried numerous powders, mineral and non mineral, etc as I find liquid make up too heavy and probably not helpful to my acne prone skin. This powder applies like a dream (but chuck the sponge they give you with it.. it will only make you feel and look cakey and obvious). Grab yourself a powder brush and go to work.. you can literally do your entire face in a minute or two. It takes a few minutes to settle into skin and look natural but after it does.. what a difference. I should mention that I use the Cover FX clear prep primer before applying this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/1/2011 12:59:00 PM More reviews by mikicats

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Okay, so let me start off by saying that I purchased this a little over a year ago and I just hit pan a few weeks back. This is such a pigmented powder that you really don't need a lot at all!!! I paid somewhere around $40 for this (I live in Canada), and bought this cause the woman helping me out said that it was supposed to be good for oily skin and it won't cause breakouts. And she was right! This is a pretty good powder for oily skin, though it won't solve any miracles for you people with REALLY oily skin. It looks very mattifying when you first apply, but if you wait a few minutes it begins to look more like skin and less like paper. If you have some oiliness (enough to be embarrassed by) this will do pretty well.
This has NEVER broken me out, even without cleaning my brush (I was a makeup newbie a year ago) it still didn't give me any new blemishes. And now picking it up again a few months later its STILL not breaking me out!!
I have just started using a new acne treatment about a month ago which dries out my skin, and I have found that it makes my skin look cakey when I apply this over my dry areas. I discovered though that if you get some on your brush and dab it onto your skin instead of sweeping that it's fine. My skin has gotten even drier recently, and it does cause a little cakeness, so again, people with really dry skin, stay clear of this powder.

I am in love with this powder foundation, it's my HG powder hands down! Definitely worth the price because it's so pigmented it lasts super long so that you don't use a lot at once. Great at setting liquid foundation or other makeup, like primer, and comes in so many different shades you are bound to find a great colour match. The packaging is chic and slender, can easily fit into a small makeup bag or purse, and has a mirror inside which is useful when applying. Because of the price I only have one, which I use in the winter, cause that's the colour your skin stays the longest before turning deeper, so I usually just find a cheap drugstore powder for the summer times when my skin tans. If you have normal, acne-prone, a little dryness, and/or oiliness, then go and BUY THIS POWDER!!!!!!! You will not be disappointed (:

Hope this works for all who try it!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/12/2010 9:23:00 PM More reviews by karenecashin

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is the best powder I've found in a long time! I use it over a tinted moisturizer (LM) and apply with a brush. It has staying power, tackles elements (I was at an outdoor hockey game for 8 hours and didn't need to reapply) and makes my pores look smaller. I had pictures taken and it looks natural. I'm very fair in the winter so yeah, I look it but isn't due to a chalky makeup. It feels great too. I was matched to the E40 and use over Nude in LM tinted. It looks natural and I can build if I don't use the tinted moisturizer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/18/2010 10:52:00 AM More reviews by chenks

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought this powder hoping that it will cover up acne scars without feeling too heavy. Unfortunately, that's not the case. It has a creamy feeling to it that I don't really enjoy and it kind of cakes on no matter how much I buff. It also tends to rub off on things really easily (again, even after buffing & adding setting powder). It didn't help with my acne, either. I won't be purchasing again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/4/2010 4:38:00 PM More reviews by PurpleCupcake87

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

When I first was using this I had horrible skin, and it worked really good. Now tht my skin is a lot more clear and even it would work even better. I'm an nc 30 and I used this in E40 excellent match, photographed good, and lasted all day. This is great for in a hurry situations when you still want to look polished. I like tht the coverage is builadable, and looks smooth and flawless. The only thing was it sort of made me itch when I broke a sweat :( this happens to me often with mineral makeup. However the colder seasons are coming up so I mite pick this up again. The compact goes kinda fast, but its totally worth it with the results you get. No breakouts either! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/17/2010 4:04:00 PM More reviews by wabdon

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I needed to cover up my post-acne marks which were red and dark brown ones along my jaw line. I decided to try the powder version becasue although the full cover foundation coverage was excellent, I found it too heavy. I'm normally nc30-35 but I tanned so M60 was a good match (not too orange or pale). The powder feels light on my skin and isn't chalky, it melts like butter into my skin making my skin look natural. With 2 swipes, my acne marks faded but still visible. I had to use my concealer first then one swipe of cover fx and then my marks were made invisible. I love the fact that it really lasts long. I worked 12 hr shifts and in the morning, my face still looked flawless. so much so that a coworker on days thought I was just starting work and she even commenteed on how "fresh" I looled. So this is a keeper. It didn't make me break out and it didn't oxidize on my skin. retails about $35 CDN at Sephora or Pharmaprix.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No