April 19, 2014 | 1617 users online

Powder - Cover FX - Cover Fx - Powder Fx



image 0

rated 3.8(130 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 1/14/2011 2:47:00 PM More reviews by Rina7

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I picked this up a couple of weeks ago in M50 because it's one of choices without perfume. I'm torn about it. On the one hand, this color is a great match. On the other hand, it has an aging effect by exaggerating fine lines and pores and making my skin look dry, especially in dry winter weather. I've also noticed a bit of slight bumpiness/possible clogged pores after using this a few days in a row. I'll look for something else for now, and try this again in the summer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/11/2011 4:41:00 PM More reviews by GreekGoddessxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Okay sooooo,, this the FIRST product I have ever loved enough to actually take the time to write a review on. This Powder Fx has CHANGED the way I feel when Im in public and the way my skin looks when I take it off. I would like to start by saying that I have tried numerous powders, mineral and non mineral, etc as I find liquid make up too heavy and probably not helpful to my acne prone skin. This powder applies like a dream (but chuck the sponge they give you with it.. it will only make you feel and look cakey and obvious). Grab yourself a powder brush and go to work.. you can literally do your entire face in a minute or two. It takes a few minutes to settle into skin and look natural but after it does.. what a difference. I should mention that I use the Cover FX clear prep primer before applying this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/1/2011 12:59:00 PM More reviews by mikicats

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Okay, so let me start off by saying that I purchased this a little over a year ago and I just hit pan a few weeks back. This is such a pigmented powder that you really don't need a lot at all!!! I paid somewhere around $40 for this (I live in Canada), and bought this cause the woman helping me out said that it was supposed to be good for oily skin and it won't cause breakouts. And she was right! This is a pretty good powder for oily skin, though it won't solve any miracles for you people with REALLY oily skin. It looks very mattifying when you first apply, but if you wait a few minutes it begins to look more like skin and less like paper. If you have some oiliness (enough to be embarrassed by) this will do pretty well.
This has NEVER broken me out, even without cleaning my brush (I was a makeup newbie a year ago) it still didn't give me any new blemishes. And now picking it up again a few months later its STILL not breaking me out!!
I have just started using a new acne treatment about a month ago which dries out my skin, and I have found that it makes my skin look cakey when I apply this over my dry areas. I discovered though that if you get some on your brush and dab it onto your skin instead of sweeping that it's fine. My skin has gotten even drier recently, and it does cause a little cakeness, so again, people with really dry skin, stay clear of this powder.

I am in love with this powder foundation, it's my HG powder hands down! Definitely worth the price because it's so pigmented it lasts super long so that you don't use a lot at once. Great at setting liquid foundation or other makeup, like primer, and comes in so many different shades you are bound to find a great colour match. The packaging is chic and slender, can easily fit into a small makeup bag or purse, and has a mirror inside which is useful when applying. Because of the price I only have one, which I use in the winter, cause that's the colour your skin stays the longest before turning deeper, so I usually just find a cheap drugstore powder for the summer times when my skin tans. If you have normal, acne-prone, a little dryness, and/or oiliness, then go and BUY THIS POWDER!!!!!!! You will not be disappointed (:

Hope this works for all who try it!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/12/2010 9:23:00 PM More reviews by karenecashin

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is the best powder I've found in a long time! I use it over a tinted moisturizer (LM) and apply with a brush. It has staying power, tackles elements (I was at an outdoor hockey game for 8 hours and didn't need to reapply) and makes my pores look smaller. I had pictures taken and it looks natural. I'm very fair in the winter so yeah, I look it but isn't due to a chalky makeup. It feels great too. I was matched to the E40 and use over Nude in LM tinted. It looks natural and I can build if I don't use the tinted moisturizer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/18/2010 10:52:00 AM More reviews by chenks

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought this powder hoping that it will cover up acne scars without feeling too heavy. Unfortunately, that's not the case. It has a creamy feeling to it that I don't really enjoy and it kind of cakes on no matter how much I buff. It also tends to rub off on things really easily (again, even after buffing & adding setting powder). It didn't help with my acne, either. I won't be purchasing again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/4/2010 4:38:00 PM More reviews by PurpleCupcake87

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

When I first was using this I had horrible skin, and it worked really good. Now tht my skin is a lot more clear and even it would work even better. I'm an nc 30 and I used this in E40 excellent match, photographed good, and lasted all day. This is great for in a hurry situations when you still want to look polished. I like tht the coverage is builadable, and looks smooth and flawless. The only thing was it sort of made me itch when I broke a sweat :( this happens to me often with mineral makeup. However the colder seasons are coming up so I mite pick this up again. The compact goes kinda fast, but its totally worth it with the results you get. No breakouts either! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/17/2010 4:04:00 PM More reviews by wabdon

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I needed to cover up my post-acne marks which were red and dark brown ones along my jaw line. I decided to try the powder version becasue although the full cover foundation coverage was excellent, I found it too heavy. I'm normally nc30-35 but I tanned so M60 was a good match (not too orange or pale). The powder feels light on my skin and isn't chalky, it melts like butter into my skin making my skin look natural. With 2 swipes, my acne marks faded but still visible. I had to use my concealer first then one swipe of cover fx and then my marks were made invisible. I love the fact that it really lasts long. I worked 12 hr shifts and in the morning, my face still looked flawless. so much so that a coworker on days thought I was just starting work and she even commenteed on how "fresh" I looled. So this is a keeper. It didn't make me break out and it didn't oxidize on my skin. retails about $35 CDN at Sephora or Pharmaprix.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/10/2010 11:58:00 AM More reviews by briniboo

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is my all time favorite foundation product. I had been using a very high end/high priced organic mineral powder for years, until I found this product. I am very prone to breakouts, some cystic at times and this covers beautifully. After using this for awhile I even think that it improves my breakouts. I used to use lots of concealer and now only need minimal amounts. It makes my skin look smooth and silky and lasts all day...with no oiliness breaking through at all. The one thing I think they could improve on is the packaging...since this is a higher end product I feel that the packaging should be better quality. Also, I find that applying the powder with a good quality brush works better and makes the product last longer, than using the sponge that is included.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 9/5/2010 10:51:00 AM More reviews by oohollyoo

Age: Unknown Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I was on the search to replace my laura merciers pf bc it caused little bumps and contained parabens. I hopped off the mineral makeup bandwagon a long time ago but considering this is pressed and was suppose to control oil with good coverage i gave it a try. I want a natural matte look but forgot that mica acts as a light diffuser and makes me shiney. I can move my face and you can see lighting bounce off from it in different angles but not like tin man face that i get from bare minerals. no spf and the coverage was light-med and accentuated my pores. I took this back to sephora and now I am using too faced amazing face powder foundation spf 20 and contains no parabens and controls oil well. see review if interested.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/18/2010 1:31:00 PM More reviews by dipndotts

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This is the first powder I've ever bought and hit pan on, so yes, I love it. I've been just a concealer girl in the past, then it was the loose mineral makeup. But that stuff is annoying--so messy, and not very good coverage. So I was looking for something that would provide better coverage and could be a one-step process...oh and also, wouldn't bother my sensitive skin. I was directed to this, and man is it great. Doesn't bother my sensitive skin and the coverage is AMAZING. You don't even have to use a concealer with this, you can just apply more powder to areas that need it. Builds nicely, and IT DOESN'T OXIDIZE ON ME (i.e. turn orange!). That is probably why I never used powders in the past, they turned me into a pumpkin by 5. Not this though! Wonderful product. Looks very natural too. Looooove.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No