August 1, 2014 | 1937 users online

Treatments (Face) - Clean & Clear - Advantage Acne Spot Treatment

rated 3.3(388 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 10/7/2012 8:45:00 PM More reviews by emmanelson96

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I have never tried a better spot treatment! I put this on some zits I could feel coming, and in two days they were completely gone! It is really amazing. It does leave the area really dry and flakey, but I'd rather have that than a huge pizza face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/28/2012 11:28:00 AM More reviews by misslu990

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Over all I like this product. It helps bring down the size of a pimple or helps after extracting a pimple. The consistency is gel-like and as other reviewers have said it also has a glue-like texture when applied to the skin. I only apply this after I remove my make up for the night on any spots or in the morning if I'm not putting on make up right away. If you happen to extract a pimple this might sting a little but that's only because there's salicylic acid in this. You only need a tiny amount so there's no need to glob on a bunch of product. The smell is a typical acne treatment smell/ chemical smell but it isn't very strong.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/5/2012 11:31:00 AM More reviews by lavenderwig

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

okay the photo with the two different items i got both those for free and i pretty much used them together at the same time but ill write this review for the times that i used it alone like whenever i left the house_ tip though if youre staying inside or going to bed use this its a clear gel but not jelly like i really love it anyway the other little bottle is a blue cream put it on top of the gel and your acne will just whoosh go away so much faster_ also my keyboard is f*ked heh sorry_ alright so this stuff is pretty great i dont have any idea how much it cost though but if i had to buy it i am cheap and think this should be three to four dollhairs five dollhairs is pushing it i think and i would never buy it alone id only get it if i could get the blue cream too_ i know this is an acne spot treatment but im weird i figure if its strong enough for a spot ill put it on my whole face just to protect it from acne i dont go outside much anyway and my skin only gets the tiniest bit dry at the corners of my mouth but around my mouth sometimes even at my lipline are where I AM most acne prone and i dont wanna look like i have the herp! hahaha i dont care if its just a whitehead i refuse to let anyone think im having some herpes flareup no offense girls with it :c especially if a mum passed it through birth or by an even worse situation_ ah i digress_ i enjoy the feeling of this on though its a gel its "wet" enough to where i can spread it all over my face and then it dries but its not an "ew" dry_ i have bangs my forehead has no actual zits ready to be popped but its like i have at least six very tiny bumps underneath my skin_ theyre so small only one pore is in them ive been able to squeeze a tiny bump or little thin string of nasty zitpuss out of them all but man these zits are the hardest to get rid of! i would love to not have bangs anymore but its so tough to not keep cuttin em! and my hair is so long i dont even wanna think how long itll be before my bangs "dont exist" anymore_ personally i used this stuff to death im surprised i didnt cut it opento get any more of it_ it feels moisturizing and will not dry you out it will just dry leave you feeling fresh and clean_ i dont think they put fragrance into this i think the smell it pleasant it is the gel making itself known as you put it on around your lips+on your chin+in your cheeks+on your forehead then its as if it all sinks and starts to fight off your acne the smell goes away and your skin is just clean and perfect_ i am sure they do this so you can put your moisturizer? primer? foundation? etc on top of it_ also calms down your skin i love when acen products do that_ takes a bit of the redness away_ wish a bit more product was included but when something i free i cant complain

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/29/2012 6:14:00 PM More reviews by DanaKatherine9

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This spot treatment works wonders on my skin. My skin is often sensitive to spot treatments but this causes little to no peeling. If I feel a pimple brewing I can put some of this on and it either stops the pimple from ever surfacing or brings it to a head in no time. The smell can burn your nose and eyes as well as sOme minor discomfort to your skin. I find this works best BEFORE moisturizer or anything else. Cleanse skin, dry, put on the spot treatment to dry for 5-10 minutes and then apply whatever else you need to.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/18/2012 8:21:00 PM More reviews by bethdanielson

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I love this stuff! I have been using this spot treatment for years...does anyone remember when it came in the aluminum-like packaging?? I use this at night after washing my face and putting on moisturizer. If I'm having a really bad breakout, like during my TOTM, I will put a thin layer over my cheeks and T-zone. I've used tons of benzoyl peroxide products (proactive, acne.org regimen) and they have never worked as well as salicylic acid for me. I've seen a few people review that it dries out their skin, but what salicylic acid really does is speed up the process in which your skin regenerates itself, thus peeling can take place--this may be a pain in the butt for some people but for acne-prone skin, I promise it's a good thing and it will go away! I also use the Clarisonic Mia at night, so I don't have peeling problems. Another thing about salicylic acid is that it reduces the inflammation of acne. All in all...will this make all of your pimples disappear overnight? No...but including this in your skin care regimen can give you that glowing skin you're looking for. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/18/2012 2:08:00 AM More reviews by MochaLatte18

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

This stuff works! It reduces the size of your pimple in just a couple of hours which is amazing! The smell is a bit odd but tolerable at first but after you've used this a lot and you're sick of it, it won't be very pleasant. For my combination skin, this can really dry out my cheek area and make it peel if i keep using it in the morning and at night routinely. You can't use any products that require rubbing on top of it because it will come off into little dry balls on your face and it's a pain to remove. What i've noticed though is when it comes to bigger and more pigmented pimples it will remove the lump but the colour will stay, i don't know if that's for everyone but that's what happened to me. The consistency is almost like glue and it's transparent. The tube has a pointy end where the product comes out which i believe is very sanitary and makes it easier to use all the product inside.


Overall, i would buy this again despite all the cons because it works under a couple of hours.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/16/2012 11:04:00 PM More reviews by miranda99111

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I am going to admit that I am now finishing up my third or fourth or fifth tube! I love this acne spot treatment because it actually reduces the size of my pimples in a few hours and does not dry out my skin as long as I don't use too much of it on one spot. I like that this treatment reduces the size and redness as described on the product. On the other hand, it does not completely clear the pimple out so that it's completely gone, but it does make your pimples reduce to almost the size of nothing. The smell is tolerable, not bad. I even find myself repurchasing this so many times I've lost count so obviously it's a great treatment for pimples!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/11/2012 12:36:00 PM More reviews by blueyes14

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Blue

SO, i have combination-dry skin (dry-ish only in my cheeks, nose and chin pretty oily and forehead normal), and i really like this stuff. the only problem i have found, is i dont think it works on 'that time of the month' pimples. i have a few right now, and its working okay, but nothing compared to normal 'everyday' pimples. But, i dont really have acne, i just usually have 1-2 pimples on my face at a time, and then on my chin, i can always see little blocked pores that dont turn into pimples, if that makes sense :P. this works great for that! it litterally clears up my pimple in about 3-4 days, max. theyre usually just regular whiteheads, or normal pimples-i dont have an issue with blackheads, except for the tiny ones on my nose which i cant really do anything about. But i do recommend this product if your skin is like mine. I dont have any problems with my skin getting flaky, unless the pimple is dried up and healing, which is what this is supposed to do. also, if you pop a whitehead, then clean it with toner, then apply this, the pimple will usually be gone overnight. which is amazing(: im on my second tube now.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/6/2012 7:36:00 PM More reviews by AAMM

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I bought this product to clear up a pimple on my chin. I applied this product several times over the next couple hours and it seemed to make the pimple smaller however the next day when i thought the pimple was dried up it infact had made the skin around the pimple so dry that it peeled off and i had horrible dry skin patch for a week and made a small scar! this product is to harsh on sensitive skin and i will never use it again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/2/2012 12:18:00 PM More reviews by LussyCakes

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

DOES NOT work for my acne...at all :(

Is this review helpful? Yes No