November 27, 2014 | 1464 users online

Shampoo - LUSH - Trichomania bar



image 0

rated 3.3(164 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 55% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 7/12/2010 10:59:00 PM More reviews by puggyxisxbored

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Brown, Kinky, Other Eyes: Brown

I absolutely LOVE this shampoo bar!!!!! It has a lovely creamy coconut scent and it does wonders for my hair. After I used this (along with Jungle conditioner) my hair felt clean, soft, and moisturized.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/28/2010 3:30:00 AM More reviews by xxxanity

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

I've used Trichomania on my hair a few times, and the solid shampoo experience does have a learning curve that I don't necessarily want to mess with. I have temperamental naturally curly/wavy hair that isn't cooperative at all, and the few times I used Trichomania I honestly didn't notice that much of a difference from my regular shampoo (typically v05- not fancy at all), though with repeated use (and practice with the solid) maybe I would have. The texture of the product isn't exactly helpful, either- I know it's a solid, but it's very crumbly and dense. It's hard to cut into small chunks without it breaking into pieces.

I don't mind the smell. It's mostly coconut to me, with some other notes in there too. Some stuff from LUSH can smell god awful (and a lot of it smells REALLY good too) but this isn't really notable to me in either direction on the scale.

However, I do absolutely love Trichomania for one purpose, and it's the one I buy it for exclusively. The salesgirl at LUSH and I were talking and she mentioned that it was good for shaving your legs with. My skin does not like shaving AT ALL and I generally spend days scratching scratching and scratching every time I use a razor. Because I don't shave that often (due to the horrible itching) I also have to deal with trying to get a close shave through the stubble, and I've found that Trichomania gives me the most comfortable, close shave that I can get, far superior to any of the shaving creams or gels (Skintimate, etc.) and it works better than liquid hair conditioner, too. I just get the bar slightly wet and rub it between my hands until it makes a very creamy... lather, I guess you could say, though it doesn't really bubble. It's more time consuming, but totally worth it for me. So if you hate Trichomania for your hair but you have a big chunk of it left, try shaving with it.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/20/2010 11:44:00 PM More reviews by AnthaPanther

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I received this as a sample in one of my MO. I have to say that I absolutely HATE the smell if I am not in the shower; when I am in the shower, it's bearable. The smell aside, I LOVE what it did to my hair. Usually my naturally curly hair gets weighted down by other products after I shower (and let it dry naturally). This allowed my hair to remain its bouncy, curly self. Although I did have a bit more frizz than usual, I attributed it to the fact that it allowed my hair to curl more than what most shampoos allow my hair to do.
The smell wasn't that bad in/after the shower, and after a few hours, I couldn't smell it anymore.
I do agree that it was awkward to work up a lather and it shrinks incredibly after the first wash. It just wouldn't at first. I felt like I was spending a good five minutes in the shower just trying to get enough suds to put into my long hair. Also, after my first usage of the sample, it shrank to half its size!

In all, I may consider buying it in the future just because I loved the results, but I wouldn't use it as an everyday shampoo since it was awkward and shrank so quickly!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/19/2010 4:26:00 PM More reviews by lovepink679

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

The only thing I like about this is the smell. I tried it for my frizzy hair and it did nothing but dry it out. My hair was so dry I couldn't even get my fingers through it afterwards!
I'm stuck with a still wrapped up $10 piece. ugh!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/28/2009 6:11:00 AM More reviews by TeresaTwilight

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I got a really big sample of this...and I really, really dislike it. I thought the concept of the whole shampoo bar was weird, but intriguing but I couldn't imagine using anything other than liquid shampoo. I used it, and I felt like I had to rub it in my hands for a long time to get some froth for my hair, and it just wasn't worth it. When I dried my hair, it didn't look any different from how it usually looks. The bar is very expensive considering you only get a little bit for it, and even the sample I used was significantly smaller after just one wash. I wouldn't buy this at all, I think I'll stick with my usual liquid shampoo

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/10/2009 3:18:00 AM More reviews by foureight

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I used this product exclusively for over a year and aas relatively happy with the results. Although my curly hair was still somewhat frizzy and dry, it was behaving better than with more traditional liquid shampoos. I like using natural products so I stuck with it even though it is pretty expensive. I've now switched to Chagrin Valley shampoo bars (which don't have SLS!) and am even happier. My hair is probably the best it's been as an adult!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/30/2009 3:58:00 AM More reviews by tinathecookie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Green

I truly hate this product. Between this and Coolaulin, it was like I was washing my hair with sea water and seaweed until it ran out. Seriously, no benefit whatsoever comes with either product. May as well wash your hair with soap and rinse with dish drops. I will never, ever buy Lush hair products again because they are what has contributed to making my hair what it is now- a dry, uncontrollable mess.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/30/2009 1:36:00 AM More reviews by Rain70

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This was my very first shampoo bar and I was skeptical. I was amazed by the thick lather, creaminess and ease of application. I have very thick long wavy hair and I had no problem getting into my hair. It has a nice mild coconut smell and most importantly, tames my frizz better than most shampoo products. It seems expensive, but it lasts a LONG time, so I think it is a good value. I have stocked up on it for fear it will be discontinued. (always seems to be my luck)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/29/2009 9:26:00 PM More reviews by hannahjean55

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love, love, love this product. It is my favorite solid shampoo from Lush. Smells so yummy and conditions my waves so well. I find that with this shampoo if I am in a hurry I do not have to condition.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/29/2009 1:52:00 PM More reviews by livewire_uk

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Trichomania is a lovely, creamy, coconut and vetivert scented shampoo bar. It is good at removing the grease from hair, and leaves it soft -- but don't forget to condition afterwards! I am using it less often these days, because I am attempting the conditioner-only (curly girl) method, but this is a good standby soap for clarifying, as it contains SLS.

Is this review helpful? Yes No