April 17, 2014 | 1800 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Lustre Lipstick - Pretty Please



image 0image 1

rated 3.9(118 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 68% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 3/26/2010 9:25:00 PM More reviews by bmst

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Blue

I love this lipstick, I have no complaints.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/21/2010 2:24:00 AM More reviews by PinkSyringes

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought this color looking for that "pornstar" nude lip. It is a very pale light pink, almost nude. I love this color on me, although it does require a few swipes on my very pigmented lips. I found this lipstick did not last very long, and was not the most moisturizing on my lips. I would buy MAC lipsticks again because they are very low priced to me, and they come with an array of pretty colors! I would just use something moisturizing underneath.

Edit: This color I have to layer on a lot of it to be a nice looking color on me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/12/2010 2:43:00 PM More reviews by bubbleheart

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Im a bit surprised by this lipstick - I actually think its one of the more unique lipstick colors I've found in MAC. This is to me, basically, a nearly effortless nude. It very naturally blocks out the pigment in your lips just enough for a light sheer nude lip, on me it looks just the slightest bit milky. This is exactly the look I was hoping for when I bought this - to achieve it perfectly though I do need to wear this over a lipbalm which tones down the frost. Wearing this alone it is just a smidge too frosty and typically of MAC lipsticks - a bit drying.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/11/2010 8:42:00 AM More reviews by Zena6000

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I am blond/blue/fair and yet couldn't figure out how to get Pretty Please to work, for the longest time. I kept going back to my secret stash of Real Doll for the Mod retro look.

Every time I tried Pretty Please, it seemed to look thin and odd, kindof like a lippy somebody had worn for a couple of hours, you know? Silvery and dry.

In the spirit of giving it "one last try" I just applied it much more heavily than I normally would, 5 or 6 swipes, and voilà! There we were, lush and pale and shiny all at once.

After letting it set, Pretty Please looks good for quite awhile, and responds well to touch-ups. Contrary to some rumors, (and reviews) it's still available from M.A.C.'s website -as of today anyway.

On me it's a bit more on the nude-beige side more than the baby pink but has it's place if you are looking for the somewhat invisible but polished lip, this might be just the thing.

Why wouldn't I buy it again? I don't know, Pretty Please is not a bad product, once you get it working, I just prefer the slightly more pink of Real Doll or Dior's discontinued Pink Magnet, this is purely a shade preference.


Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/10/2010 1:47:00 PM More reviews by charla21

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

wow so many positive ratings hmm not from me...it looks like a cheap £1 lipstick on me its so shiny and washes me out in a sick way. i really dont like it. i keep trying to find ways in which i could make it wearable, ive kind of lost hope.. (i like mac lipsticks but the colour looks really cheap)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/10/2010 6:26:00 AM More reviews by Ninotchka87

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I'm on my third of this one. I'm a bit tan, cool skin tone, blue eyed and blonde and this looks fab on me, makes me look more tan and brings out the blue in my eyes. I don't use this when I'm véry tan in the summer, it can look a bit tacky then, this is definitly a color for lighter skin tones. You do have to moisturize first, this doesn't work with chapped lips.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/28/2010 12:15:00 AM More reviews by ashleydarlin

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

well i have to saay, when i first got this lipstick, i hated it. it was kinda tricky to get this to work for me but now that i know how to wear this, i love it! first, you have to make sure that your lips are very moisturized (no flakes!) and you dont just want to glide it straight across your lips...you have to use a tapping motion and its not very buildable soo dont apply TOO many layers. it doesnt really look that good at first but you have to give it 5 or 10 minutes to let your body heat warm it up and it looks amazingg =)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/26/2010 6:47:00 AM More reviews by olympialetantoli

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Its a pearly, pale with minimal pink... Probably a better shade for pale girls with light coloured eyes. I'm an NC30/35 to NC 40 in the summer....so I'm pretty tanned. Anyways NOT a fan of this. I don't know what lipliner or lipgloss to use with this. Its not an everyday colour for me, its a more of a california girl lipstick. I tend to like neutrals and only reach for bold pinks (Snob, Saint Germain) when I'm goin out at night. Anyways, I have to moisturize my lips like crazy before applying because it looks chalky otherwise. I basically have nothing good to say about this colour. I took a risk when I did get it, I got it purely on a Back2Mac ...so I didn't really purchase it. And I probably wouldn't have gotten it if I wasn't at the counter for over 20 mins and was unable to come to a decision as what to get and in the UK they only do back2mac on lipsticks. It was summer when I got it so I figured it would be like Plink! *seashell pink* yet Pretty Please reminds me of a more pinky version of MACs old school Bubbles. And even Bubbles was better to mix and blend other lipcolours with.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 2/24/2010 6:21:00 PM More reviews by staceyd2401

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Pretty please is a frosted pale pink that looks great in the tube, I just think that the lustre texture does not go with the colour of this lipstick. It does not have a nice coverage at all, it applies very sheer and I dont feel it is buildable either. Because of the sheerness that it has it just looks like i have a pale wet wash on my lips which is not very flattering. I cannot wear this on its own, a lipgloss over the top is definately needed. Great colour, not so great formula.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/13/2010 12:59:00 AM More reviews by snakehips

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Pretty Please is a sweet light pink frosty shade. Very pretty, matches well with my cool skin tone. The formula is lustre I believe, which is also nice. Best to apply lip balm before wearing this one, as it is very light pink, and could accentuate dryness. Not too bad though. I would recommend to anyone who loves frosty/pink/dreamy colours on their lips. Good for achieving a mod look, too, if that's something you like. Sweet scent and packaging, as always.

Is this review helpful? Yes No