July 29, 2014 | 1840 users online

Toners - The Body Shop - Seaweed Clarifying Toner



image 0

rated 3.2(109 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 4/24/2011 8:51:00 AM More reviews by Mazzy1981

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm Hair: Other, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

This toner comes in the Seaweed Line for oily skin and is actually now called a Clarifying toner (not Purifying). It certainly clarifies the skin, cleaning off all excess dirt, grime, make up etc and it does it well. It did tingle my skin but I thought it was more of a refreshing, 'tightening of my pores' feeling-not a burning sensation like other reviewers have experienced. This toner also works well with the Seaweed Pore Perfector by effectively unclogging and minimising my pores. Yes my face did feel nice and clean and balanced, but I don't think I will repurchase because when you check the ingredient list, you will see it is full of parabens-who knows what this will do to my skin in the long run. I love the packaging-a clear, abeit plastic bottle, that easily dispenses the toner onto a cotton pad. It is also pretty expensive-$17.95AUD for a toner. Works well as it should but it has too many cons for me to think about re-purchasing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/16/2011 10:31:00 AM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

The lady at the store said this would control my oily skin, however, it made it more oily. I thought that was a bit odd, it probably dried my skin out and made my face produce more oil to compensate for the dryness. I ended up returning it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/8/2011 10:17:00 AM More reviews by Mands39

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

So sad it didn't work for so many people! I absolutely love it! I was very skeptical about using a toner because I didn't want to dry my face out but I thought, what the heck. It is so great! On lazy nights I don't even wash my face I just give this a swipe and poof(!) all the dirt is off my face! Catches all the grime that you miss when you wash and I don't notice a stinging sensation but I suppose I'm just lucky in that respect.

My skin has improved tenfold since I began using the line, I switch up the wash but the toner I am sold! I will use it for as long as it's around!

Try the $3 sample size if you're curious, sometimes the travel kit is on sale and you can't beat it! I'm still using them! And the toner bottle and day face cream you can reuse them for actual travel. I love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/28/2011 2:16:00 PM More reviews by NerdyGirl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

Out of the set of seaweed products I bought from The Body Shop, this one was my least favorite. Not only did it contribute to breaking me out, it left a slick residue on my skin and I had to use another toner/astringent to remove that residue.
Again, I wanted to love this line.. but sadly it's given me nothing buy grief for my combo skin. Would not repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/18/2011 6:50:00 AM More reviews by spilledmilk

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Blue

I decided to try this toner after hearing some good things about it. When I would apply it, it would burn a bit but not enough to really alarm me, so I thought it was normal... I noticed the day after I started using it that I was breaking out LIKE MAD. I decided to give it a good week run to see if it would improve, but everytime I used this it only made my skin more irritated, blemished, broken out and oily (and my skin isn't even that oily to begin with!!) I will be returning this. May work for some but not for me!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/3/2011 2:22:00 AM More reviews by theresadactyl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love this toner. I was skeptical because of all the "meh" reviews on it and didn't want to take the plunge and pick it up. Eventually I got the whole full size seaweed skincare line during a sale and I am so pleased! My face is a mess, the US should buy my face as a new source for oil. Nothing I have tried has helped me control oil, normal astringents remove the oil only to have it reappear within minutes. First impression - it ...doesn't smell like alcohol, wow. It definitely feels like a toner, the stinging factor. You don't need much, I use it on a cotton round after cleansing morning and night. It doesn't make your face feel dehydrated afterwards. I use the mattifying day cream as a moisturizer afterwards .. this is seriously the dream team here. My pores have been minimized and if I wear heavy foundation there is a HUGE difference in the finish. I will continue to buy from this line, it's a shame this didn't work for alot of people. However, I would definitely recommend it. It's worth a shot, especially if you can try it for a decent price! This is love. <3

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 2/8/2011 2:18:00 AM More reviews by rrrebelle

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i give 2 lippies, one for the price, and one for the smell. i love the smell, but that's it. it doesn't do anything for my oily skin, it even makes my skin more oily and it gives a sticky feeling just after you use it on ur face. Won't buy it again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/25/2010 12:21:00 AM More reviews by leyan

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

It's water...and,well,fragrances,and preservatives.
Doesn't do anything.
I could wipe the leftover dirts better with evian.
Not buying again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/7/2010 2:12:00 AM More reviews by cutem3w

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

Theres a lot of harsh ingredients in this toner. Slight stinging in my eyes from the scent. It also feels hars on my skin and is overly drying now that it's gotten colder. Doesn't help to clear my skin, I think it may be irritating it worse.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/2/2010 10:13:00 AM More reviews by Dedree

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I rate like this:
Ingredients/animal-testing: If it doesn't contain parabens or perfume and isn't tested on animals it gets one lippie.
Packaging: Good packaging gives 1 lippie.
Quality: The quality of the product counts for 3 lippies.

Ingredients/animal-testing: The first thing: there's both parabens and fragrance in this stuff, even though I asked the woman in the store to find something without those two things. And stupid as I was, I just trusted the lady and didn't check it out myself - DUH, last time doing that. But no lippie because of the ingredients.
Packaging: There's nothing special about the packaging - I broke my nail a couple of times trying to open the lid. My bad, but still annoying. Had it been a great product that I wanted to last for a longer time, I would have poured it into a spray bottle instead of the original packaging. So no lippies for packaging.
Quality: This product made my skin burn when I applied it, and my skin would get really red. First I just ignored it, but as I kept on using it, the burning and redness got a lot worse and it started to break me out - so after three weeks of burning every morning and evening, I finally decided to stop using this stuff. Can't recommend this if you have sensitive skin, even though your skin is combination. So 0 lippies for quality.

However I can't add a review with 0 lippies, it keeps on saying "please select" - therefore it gets 1 lippie.

Is this review helpful? Yes No