October 20, 2014 | 883 users online

Fragrances - Estee Lauder - White Linen



image 0

rated 3.4(131 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 54% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 3/23/2008 9:19:00 PM More reviews by Helena101

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I wore this constantly throughout college and for awhile after graduation. I am now 41 years old and thinking of buying this again after realizing that I test it every time I go to Macy's. I think I stopped wearing it because I wanted sexier scents--I believe I went from White Linen right to Fendi--but White Linen is truly a classic that has stood the test of time, IMO.

On me, this is a soft rose with a fresh, but not cloying, light powdery scent. It smells clean and delicate. Frankly, I don't get the "Grandma" comments and I find them offensive (and my kids are only in preschool!) If White Linen works on you, you will smell fresh and lovely and get many compliments. If it doesn't, well, then, there is another scent out there for you that will work.

The other thing I like about White Linen is the very classy, Ralph Lauren type of imagery that has been used throughout the years in the ad campaigns. You can almost imagine that you'll be summering at your own place in the Hamptons or Newport when you wear this scent...like Grace Kelly in "High Society". I love it!

Editing one year later to add that I finally picked up a bottle of the edp. I love it as much as I did 20 years ago. It is so reassuring to see the bottle back on my dresser. It brings back such memories! And it smells so divine. All I can think of is beach roses when I wear this. Dying to get the powder now, as I've read such great reviews on the lasting power of it. Love!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/10/2008 9:10:00 AM More reviews by bartamy

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I remember the original ad campaign for this! ...gorgeous woman dressed in crisp white linen in a Hamptons-style garden yard...

Anyway, I started wearing this when I was 15. Fell in love immediately. The crisp greens are perfectly harmonized with the other notes, and lasts forever on my skin. This instantly changes my mood when I apply it; I feel energized, purposeful, subttly sexy. Love it.

EL came out with a limited edition solid lipstick-style version of this some years ago, and I was in love with the creamy texture and slight shimmer. I wore it down to the very end. I used Qtips and bobby pins to get to the last of it. I will forever replace this in EDP form, but may go months without wearing it. Love it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/9/2008 6:25:00 PM More reviews by xxpaxxxilxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I didn't buy this, but I smelled a knock off version of this at Walgreens. I couldn't stop smelling my hand where I had sprayed it. Reminds me of fresh, clean laundry with a hint of powder. Not too overbearing either. Reminds me of summer time.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 2/7/2008 5:04:00 AM More reviews by fpih

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is actually one of the worst perfumes I've tried so far and I've tried it a number of times hoping to get that fresh clean linen smell but to no avail. This smells the exact opposite to me; heavy, cloying, spicy, used linen. I received this a couple of years ago from a friend who got this as a gift herself and hated it. She passed it to me and I passed it to my mother (she's 60 years old) because the smell seemed old ladyish to me. It turned out that she didn't like it either and gave it to my aunt. That's where I lost its traces; maybe it stayed with her or did she gave it away to I wonder? This is the only perfume I know that 3 out of 3 people (or maybe 4?) hated at once. It is also the only perfume that my mom (who wears anything and in large doses, from chanels to drugstore stuff) refused to keep. Awful is the only word to describe it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/30/2008 8:04:00 PM More reviews by auburngal

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is my every day summertime fragrance. I wear it especially when I wear white and blue or nautical-themed clothing (like my Lauren stuff). I have the entire line: powder, lotion, perfume, EDP spray. it's a rose fragrance without an overpowering rose, it's a dry powdery kind of fragrance that's just right for summer. I tried the newer versions but they are not for me, gave them to my D's (who like the original too). Fragrance is so personal. You have to find what you like and what works for you.
Estee Lauder fragrances are not expensive, real bargains when compared to imported ones, and are worth a sniff or two.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/14/2007 9:46:00 PM More reviews by MsFenton

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This has been my signature scent for years. When you put it on in the morning, later at night the waitperson at dinner will say..."What are you wearing? It smells like you just got out of the shower." Unfortunately, now it seems sort of peppery on me. Almost like dirt/earth. I still love it, but I am reconsidering since my fiance said..."It smells like a French whorehouse in here!"

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/26/2007 11:20:00 PM More reviews by brandde

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This fragrance is one I always go back to, like Private Collection. It is one of those fragrances that never seems to date. Classy and mysterious. Lovely.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/14/2007 4:23:00 PM More reviews by LemonSun

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I love this perfume!!! This has always been my absolute favorite because it's so light and fresh smelling. I constantly get compliments on this and will continue to repurchase as long as they continue to sell it! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/1/2007 3:11:00 PM More reviews by sunshine824

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Hmmm....
I love just about everything in White Linen! The crisp, clean freshness. How unique it is. It's very easy to recognize on others as nothing else really smells like it(even the other versions of White Linen).
It would be perfect for me - light, fresh, clean, long lasting, just enough sweetness, unique, etc. - except for this strange note in it that makes it smell a bit dated. Well, not even dated really. Just odd and unpleasant. I wish they would make White Linen without this one note, but then it wouldn't be White Linen, would it?
I took off one lippie for that one note, but I probably shouldn't as it's part of the whole fragrance. Oh well.
Maybe I'll repurchase in the future if I can get over that note....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/30/2007 3:44:00 PM More reviews by ananga

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is awfull!!! I have never smelled anything worse! My wc shell cleanser smells better . I would not recomend to anyone, they should be ashamed of this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No