December 21, 2014 | 1510 users online

Eye Shadow - Maybelline - Color Tattoo - Tough as Taupe

rated 4.0(262 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/30/2013 1:18:00 PM More reviews by PianoGirl1985

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Ok, so the color by itself can either look very flattering on some people but not so much on others. I love grays and taupes but due to dark circles I can't wear too much of them without looking sickly or as if I haven't slept enough.
What I ended up doing is I MIXING this color with MAC's paint pot in Painterly and the end result is an absolutely beautiful muted taupe (almost dark nude). ALSO I realized that this mix becomes a dupe for Bobbi Brown's cream eyeshadow in Cement which I was dying to buy but felt bad spending $25 for a tiny pot. SO if you enjoy color Cement and already have the Maybelline Tough as Taupe and MAC's Painterly, just mix them together!

Obviously, the end color result will vary depending on how much product you mix together, but just play around with it. Also, I find Bobbi Brown's cream eyeshadows a bit on a thinner side where if you mix Maybelline and MAC you'll a thicker, more opaque texture. I actually prefer that more.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/30/2013 12:59:00 PM More reviews by llydiall

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

im using this with an angled brush to fill in my brows. its too tacky to blend on my eyes and it creases. stays on my brows with slight fading only. try this if you have dark hair, on my brows this becomes less gray and more natural.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/29/2013 7:51:00 PM More reviews by marshiemallow14

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Other

A matte grey-brown colour. Applies fairly well using fingers, though less creamy than my other Colour Tattoos. Works well as a base. Didn't find it particularly drying, and it was buildable.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/27/2013 9:54:00 PM More reviews by akharri785

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

As others have mentioned, these are pretty much dead on dupes for MAC's Paint Pots. I really love the color of this, as it's a nice and soft, matte grey. I like the simple glass pot packaging as well. And the price is not steep so it's not too much of a loss if you want to give them a try and they don't work out. However, as others have mentioned, because it is matte, it's more of a drier texture than others and does not blend easily. Also, it applies much better with a finger than any of my brushes, and I don't generally like to use my fingers for application. Additionally, if you have oily eyelids like me, these will probably end up in your crease after two hours or so. I love the consistency and finish of cream shadows but I should just give up trying to make them work. Unfortunately, no matter what brand (drugstore or department) of cream shadow I use, they never stay put. I was more optimistic with this one since it promised prolonged wear, but nope, it's staying power is the same as the rest. I used my faithful Too Faced Shadow Insurance primer with these and they still did't work for me. So if you're a gal with oily lids, trying to find a lasting cream shadow, the search continues.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/27/2013 12:17:00 AM More reviews by Kalady

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

UPDATE (8/7/2014)
Man, do I love me some eyebrows. Over the past few months I've gotten even more obsessed with the brows, and now my technique has also improved a bit. This is a really quick and effective brow product now for me- one of my previous gripes about it. The pot itself seems to last ad infinitum- mine hasn't dried out, if not shrunk a bit. This is definitely my go-to brow product when I want my makeup to last- whether at prom, while swimming, on a hot day, while working out, etc. Definitely still the best match for my brows color-wise as well, and I highly recommend it for any brunettes or blondes with very cool-toned brows. Still love it.

_________
The Basics:
PROS: inexpensive, complex color, solid packaging, lots of product, travel-friendly, long-lasting, PERFECT BROW COLOR FOR COOL-TONED BRUNETTES
CONS: extremely quick drying time, difficult to control the opacity of the color, can appear chalky on the eyelids
Tough as Taupe is a beautiful grayish-brown with a bit of purple, and on the lids it appears a cool, purple-toned gray. I bought this product thinking that I would use it as an all-over lid color for some quick definition... Unfortunately, for a very fair, mascara-lip-balm-and-concealer kind of girl, this color was a little too statement/makeup-y for my everyday liking, as beautiful as it is. I had no idea what to do with it. Interestingly enough, I had recently gotten more into filling in my brows as a way to keep my makeup natural but polished, but I could not find a brow color to suit me. I'm very fair with dark hair, and my eyebrows near black-brown. All the brow colors I had - the Wet 'n' Wild kit, the Coastal Scents set, the Japonesque Brow Kit - were far too brown and far too warm, making my brows look suspiciously unnatural and reddish. I decided to try this on my brows and voila - a match made in heaven. This is totally undetectable (even on my fair skin and gaps in my brows), it dries matte, and it doesn't rub or smear. I love it. Make sure to remove the majority from the brush before doing the front of the brow (so it doesn't look too artificial), and blend with a spoolie as you go (as it dries quickly). Besides brows, this color is great on the lids, crease, or as liner so long as you work quickly and blend before it sets- because man, when it sets, it stays forever. Overall, very wonderful, versatile product. 4/5

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/30/2013 6:13:00 PM More reviews by annhf24

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This color is very matte and difficult to blend, but it works perfectly when used with a little of the shimmery white Color tattoo to smooth it out. I have oily eyelids, and I do find it creases if I don't use a primer first. I use a the Too Faced eye primer in the blue tube, let it set, then use the Taupe in my crease / as a contour, and use the shimmery white to blend it and in the inner corners. After letting that set, I put a little eyeshadow powder on top, and it seriously lasts all day and all night long.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/26/2013 7:34:00 PM More reviews by AleMarisol1212

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was ready to throw this away, BUUUT...I decided to read the reviews in here and give it a last try, tough as taupe to me is too dry and uneven , but I tried it on my eyebrows and it's perfect !!...no wearing off..before giving up on this one try it on eyebrows, it's great!..:-)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 6/18/2013 11:49:00 PM More reviews by realitydust

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I bought a few of the color tattoo shadows, expecting Tough as Taupe to be my favorite as I'm a sucker for taupes and muted browns. Well, first off, this shade is NOT a true taupe when applied as it looks in the container. It's a matte GREY (think Copperplate by MAC), which is okay, but not the taupey color I was expecting (something close to Groundwork paint pot). It does not apply as smoothly as the other shades, so I cannot wear this by itself as I was hoping to since it does not go on evenly and wears off quite easily. I guess I will use it as a neutral base for layering shadows, because this thing does not look flattering on its own; it gives a tired/sullen look almost.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/17/2013 4:41:00 PM More reviews by distinewatso123

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Just like all of the other color tattoos, I like this best applied with my fingertips. It is a drier formula than the other color tattoos but it has held up just as well as the other shades I bought as the same time (well over a year ago). Tough as Taupe should be called Good Ol' Grey in my opinion as it is a perfect cool toned, matte grey (no brown that I can see) that can be worn alone for a simple, matte look (always over a primer for me) or topped with shadows if you want a look with shimmer. My quick 2 minute eye look lately has been a medium brown in the crease, Tough as Taupe on my lids topped with a shimmery shadow (MAC Grand Entrance 90% of the time), liner, & mascara. If you want a quick, wearable "smokey eye" apply Tough as Taupe on your lid, a grey/black shadow in the outer corner, blend everything out with the crease color of your choice, add liner & mascara and you are good to go.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/17/2013 1:23:00 AM More reviews by surfinjan

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really enjoy the few color tattoos that appear as matte or satin. They are the easiest to apply from the set and the matte base it provide enables any color going over these to pop - both in color and in texture.

Tough as Taupe can also serve as a one-and-go shadow on the lid, providing either a smoky finish or a very sheer hint of color to the lid. Highly blendable and buildable - however, as a cream, you'll want to watch the degree to which you build if you have oily eyelids. It can also be used as a crease shade for many fairer skinned individuals (I range from NC40 to NC44, depending on sun exposure and product used).

I prefer these to MAC paint pots. For me, the MAC paint pots crease but the Maybelline color tattoos do not. Maybelline Color Tattoo cost less as well. Very versatile but I had not rate them only a 4 on the packaging as they are sold in glass containers that are not practical for travel or busy, somewhat clumsy individuals like myself. That being said, I had one drop about 32 inches last night and the jar did not crack.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No