February 1, 2015 | 2126 users online

Fragrances - Lancome - Magie Noire



image 0

rated 3.5(86 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 59% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 5/26/2005 10:55:00 PM More reviews by nancy_183

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I reviewed this fragrance once before, but I decided to review it again. This is my mum's favourite perfume and she has been wearing it for over 10 years now. I decided to spray it on a few nights ago before going to bed, wow... this smelled incredible on me! Smelled just as good as it does on my mother. I never had the inclination to use it because I'm only 22 and I thought it was too "mature" for me. Well, that's definitely not true, and I won't let this little treasure pass me by anymore. Contrary to many people, I don't mind wearing the same perfume as my mum, she's my idol, so why not!! Magie Noir is pure liquid gold! It's everything that a perfume should be... sensual, sophisticated, mysterious, classy, edgy, sexy and provocative (in a good way) all in one! Not long ago, I was watching a Portuguese soap opera and happened to see Magie Noir sitting on top of the main character's vanity. This character was everything that this perfume embodies, a typical soap opera character, plus a few love triangles thrown in as usual... ah, les affaires du coeur! But back to the fragrance, is it a coincidence that they chose this fragrance for her vanity?! I think not!! This fragrance says, I'm classy and I'm confident, that's exactly how I feel when I wear this and I'm sure any woman who uses this perfume will agree with me. One should always know their limits... a fragrance doesn't have to... ;)

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 5/1/2005 7:03:00 PM More reviews by jules007

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This did not agree with my body chemistry at all! Smells really old ladyish and like dead flowers on me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/18/2005 2:58:00 AM More reviews by GlamDiva

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Other, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I had chemistry problems with Magie Noir. It was very
unpredictable on me, and turned bad in the drydown
enough of the time that I never dared to wear it again.
Update 9/09 on the current reformulation - has the same
dirty dishrag center that Hypnose does, making it
entirely unwearable for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/28/2005 2:36:00 PM More reviews by Enigmom

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I used to love this fragrance years ago but between changes in the fragrance and my own body chemistry it doesn't smell as good on me. I walked into the post office and the guy working there said "I smell laundry detergent and it smells horrible" Being that I just purchased it, wasn't a great response. It's pretty and different but a little too sweet for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/5/2005 9:49:00 AM More reviews by Chrisskins

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I chose Magie Noir to wear on the first day I actually felt pretty after the birth of my first son. Nice shower, good makeup, non-binding pants. I picked up the Magie Noir as the finishing touch, and promptly sprayed it in my eye. Haven't tried it since, and it's been 16 years.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/5/2005 6:33:00 AM More reviews by nosheenabc

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Never bought this stuff. One of the worst fragrance I have ever smelled!!
Not sure what it smells like. It has a haunting old cemetery scent. Smells like dead flowers. Horrible floral!
Not for me!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/9/2005 4:07:00 PM More reviews by metaldog32

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I used to wear this in the 80's and early 90's..and although back then I probably was wearing a fragrance that was too "sophisticated" for me, I still held onto it.

I still consider it one of my staples...it is a heavy strong green oriental floral. Like Poison, either people love it or hate it. My own sis can't smell it for too long on me..but I love it nonetheless...it is a great fall/winter scent...more winter than fall IMHO. I don't usually go for heavy fragrances..but call me sentimental..Magie Noire somehow sort of "does" it for me. A sentimental favorite for me and if you like to stand out in a crowd maybe for you too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/7/2005 6:59:00 AM More reviews by claychappell

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

One of the best oriental fragrances out there. Starts quite green, then moves into a soft warm heart. Not too spicy. Sweetly woody on the drydown. Different than anything else out there. I read an interview with Mandy Moore and she loves this. You can see it on her table in "Saved" also. Not that it matters. A very nice distinctive scent.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 11/10/2004 12:03:00 AM More reviews by Soie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I recall one night being awakened by the unrelenting odor of urine -- real up close and personal-like! Initially I thought my cat had freaked out and sprayed me until I realized it was the Magie Noire I'd spritzed on just before going to bed. Haven't used it since....I can take some animalic fragrances (Magie Noire has TWO animalic notes: civet and castoreum!), but on me this one is overkill.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/9/2004 9:13:00 AM More reviews by Avocet

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Summon up a wedding in a candle-lit, glowing church just before Christmas. Mature winter bride in gorgeous berry-coloured velvet with red roses, berries and jasmine in her bouquet, and , later, the lingering warm aromas of mulled wine and sweet Italian nougat cake....it just HAD to be Magie Noire! Perfect !!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No