Lancome Magie Noire

3.5

87 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/12/2005 11:53:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this fragrance! My mom has been wearing this for as long as I can remember. It's her big-night-out scent and when I was little, she would always let me have a spritz whenever she used it. One of my all-time favorites, definetely.



on 5/26/2005 10:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I reviewed this fragrance once before, but I decided to review it again. This is my mum's favourite perfume and she has been wearing it for over 10 years now. I decided to spray it on a few nights ago before going to bed, wow... this smelled incredible on me! Smelled just as good as it does on my mother. I never had the inclination to use it because I'm only 22 and I thought it was too "mature" for me. Well, that's definitely not true, and I won't let this little treasure pass me by anymore. Contrary to many people, I don't mind wearing the same perfume as my mum, she's my idol, so why not!! Magie Noir is pure liquid gold! It's everything that a perfume should be... sensual, sophisticated, mysterious, classy, edgy, sexy and provocative (in a good way) all in one! Not long ago, I was watching a Portuguese soap opera and happened to see Magie Noir sitting on top of the main character's vanity. This character was everything that this perfume embodies, a typical soap opera character, plus a few love triangles thrown in as usual... ah, les affaires du coeur! But back to the fragrance, is it a coincidence that they chose this fragrance for her vanity?! I think not!! This fragrance says, I'm classy and I'm confident, that's exactly how I feel when I wear this and I'm sure any woman who uses this perfume will agree with me. One should always know their limits... a fragrance doesn't have to... ;)

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 5/1/2005 7:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This did not agree with my body chemistry at all! Smells really old ladyish and like dead flowers on me.


on 4/18/2005 2:58:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I had chemistry problems with Magie Noir. It was very
unpredictable on me, and turned bad in the drydown
enough of the time that I never dared to wear it again.
Update 9/09 on the current reformulation - has the same
dirty dishrag center that Hypnose does, making it
entirely unwearable for me.


on 3/28/2005 2:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I used to love this fragrance years ago but between changes in the fragrance and my own body chemistry it doesn't smell as good on me. I walked into the post office and the guy working there said "I smell laundry detergent and it smells horrible" Being that I just purchased it, wasn't a great response. It's pretty and different but a little too sweet for me.


on 2/5/2005 9:49:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I chose Magie Noir to wear on the first day I actually felt pretty after the birth of my first son. Nice shower, good makeup, non-binding pants. I picked up the Magie Noir as the finishing touch, and promptly sprayed it in my eye. Haven't tried it since, and it's been 16 years.


on 2/5/2005 6:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Never bought this stuff. One of the worst fragrance I have ever smelled!!
Not sure what it smells like. It has a haunting old cemetery scent. Smells like dead flowers. Horrible floral!
Not for me!!


on 1/9/2005 4:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used to wear this in the 80's and early 90's..and although back then I probably was wearing a fragrance that was too "sophisticated" for me, I still held onto it.

I still consider it one of my staples...it is a heavy strong green oriental floral. Like Poison, either people love it or hate it. My own sis can't smell it for too long on me..but I love it nonetheless...it is a great fall/winter scent...more winter than fall IMHO. I don't usually go for heavy fragrances..but call me sentimental..Magie Noire somehow sort of "does" it for me. A sentimental favorite for me and if you like to stand out in a crowd maybe for you too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

One of the best oriental fragrances out there. Starts quite green, then moves into a soft warm heart. Not too spicy. Sweetly woody on the drydown. Different than anything else out there. I read an interview with Mandy Moore and she loves this. You can see it on her table in "Saved" also. Not that it matters. A very nice distinctive scent.


on 11/10/2004 12:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I recall one night being awakened by the unrelenting odor of urine -- real up close and personal-like! Initially I thought my cat had freaked out and sprayed me until I realized it was the Magie Noire I'd spritzed on just before going to bed. Haven't used it since....I can take some animalic fragrances (Magie Noire has TWO animalic notes: civet and castoreum!), but on me this one is overkill.


Popular Fragrances


Angel
Angel
1829 Reviews
Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1374 Reviews
Chance
Chance
960 Reviews
Pink Sugar
Pink Sugar
1886 Reviews
Back to Top