October 23, 2014 | 1980 users online

Fragrances - Lancome - Magie Noire



image 0

rated 3.5(85 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 5/1/2005 7:03:00 PM More reviews by jules007

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This did not agree with my body chemistry at all! Smells really old ladyish and like dead flowers on me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/18/2005 2:58:00 AM More reviews by GlamDiva

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Other, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I had chemistry problems with Magie Noir. It was very
unpredictable on me, and turned bad in the drydown
enough of the time that I never dared to wear it again.
Update 9/09 on the current reformulation - has the same
dirty dishrag center that Hypnose does, making it
entirely unwearable for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/28/2005 2:36:00 PM More reviews by Enigmom

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I used to love this fragrance years ago but between changes in the fragrance and my own body chemistry it doesn't smell as good on me. I walked into the post office and the guy working there said "I smell laundry detergent and it smells horrible" Being that I just purchased it, wasn't a great response. It's pretty and different but a little too sweet for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/5/2005 9:49:00 AM More reviews by Chrisskins

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I chose Magie Noir to wear on the first day I actually felt pretty after the birth of my first son. Nice shower, good makeup, non-binding pants. I picked up the Magie Noir as the finishing touch, and promptly sprayed it in my eye. Haven't tried it since, and it's been 16 years.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/5/2005 6:33:00 AM More reviews by nosheenabc

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Never bought this stuff. One of the worst fragrance I have ever smelled!!
Not sure what it smells like. It has a haunting old cemetery scent. Smells like dead flowers. Horrible floral!
Not for me!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/9/2005 4:07:00 PM More reviews by metaldog32

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I used to wear this in the 80's and early 90's..and although back then I probably was wearing a fragrance that was too "sophisticated" for me, I still held onto it.

I still consider it one of my staples...it is a heavy strong green oriental floral. Like Poison, either people love it or hate it. My own sis can't smell it for too long on me..but I love it nonetheless...it is a great fall/winter scent...more winter than fall IMHO. I don't usually go for heavy fragrances..but call me sentimental..Magie Noire somehow sort of "does" it for me. A sentimental favorite for me and if you like to stand out in a crowd maybe for you too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/7/2005 6:59:00 AM More reviews by claychappell

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

One of the best oriental fragrances out there. Starts quite green, then moves into a soft warm heart. Not too spicy. Sweetly woody on the drydown. Different than anything else out there. I read an interview with Mandy Moore and she loves this. You can see it on her table in "Saved" also. Not that it matters. A very nice distinctive scent.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 11/10/2004 12:03:00 AM More reviews by Soie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I recall one night being awakened by the unrelenting odor of urine -- real up close and personal-like! Initially I thought my cat had freaked out and sprayed me until I realized it was the Magie Noire I'd spritzed on just before going to bed. Haven't used it since....I can take some animalic fragrances (Magie Noire has TWO animalic notes: civet and castoreum!), but on me this one is overkill.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/9/2004 9:13:00 AM More reviews by Avocet

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Summon up a wedding in a candle-lit, glowing church just before Christmas. Mature winter bride in gorgeous berry-coloured velvet with red roses, berries and jasmine in her bouquet, and , later, the lingering warm aromas of mulled wine and sweet Italian nougat cake....it just HAD to be Magie Noire! Perfect !!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 9/24/2004 12:39:00 PM More reviews by doree_001

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I've never liked Magie Noire: it is IMHO very dull fragrance, it reminds me of dead leaves/dead flowers. Lacks "sparkle" and allure. Spicy, masculine, leathery, mossy...While I like some of those qualities in Gres Cabochard, Magie Noire is not my cup of tea.
The name "Magie Noire" has always been very banal to me as well.

Is this review helpful? Yes No