MAC Pro Longwear Concealer

4.1

1040 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Water, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Tribehenin, Magnesium Sulfate, Phenyl Trimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Glycerin, Dimethicone, Methicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Laureth-7, Xanthan Gum, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Sorbic Acid [may contain] (CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides)


on 2/5/2015 12:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just need to stay away from MAC products, I love their lipsticks but anything else is terrible. The color I was matched was off (NC42) I don't like that whole bright eye under eye trend. I like a concealer that will hide my bags & can be worn alone without foundation. And doesn't make it obvious I am wearing concealer. Its not a great design, it doesn't blend very well, too much product comes out, and it's a glass bottle. Yes you can use a container and pump the amount needed. But who has time for that????? Took it back and haven't looked back! Went to the NARS counter and bought Caramel can be worn with my foundation or without. And it blends amazing!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 2/5/2015 12:17:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Really good with undereye circles, not too bad with acne spots.


on 2/3/2015 5:09:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've used this concealer in both NC15 and NW15 and i find both colours work fine for my undereye area on my NC25 complexion. This concealer is the one i go to when i don't want to think too much about my makeup throughout the day and I can always guarantee it will look great by the end of my 9-12 hour work day. I actually disagree with it being a very full coverage concealer, i'd say it is quite thin and medium coverage but definitely easily buildable to a full coverage with no caking. Doesn't crease on me like most concealers do. No need to set with powder in my case. Beautiful beautiful formula and I will always repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/2/2015 5:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

An amazing concealer that WILL NOT crease or smudge once put on the face. I use this as an under eye concealer and it's perfect and keeps its brightness throughout the day. Only problem I have is that you have to work pretty fast with it once it's on the skin as its sets V quickly which can leave lines, also, the pump squirts out a lot of product which could cover my whole face so I have a separate container for it. The price is quite high but you get 10ml and this stuff goes a VERY long way and lasts forever! Would be 5* accept the pump and drying issue which aren't major problems.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/31/2015 8:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

MAC's studio finish concealer was my HG since I was 18 but over the years I realised that although its coverage was insanely good, it could get too cakey especially when used under the eyes and the colour was not an entirely perfect match for my skin - I would have to top it with foundation for everything to blend in.

I bought the pro longwear concealer hoping that the fluid formula would solve all the problems I had with the studio finish and it did. The colour NC20 is a perfect match for my skin so I can get away with wearing just concealer and not have to mess around with foundation hooray!

Coverage wise I would say it is a bit lesser than the studio finish but I wouldn't deduct any points for that because it's an advantage rather than a disadvantage: you can layer on without having to worry about the cakiness that comes with the studio finish.

I'm really glad MAC came out with this formula. Hate the packaging but oh well, like those before me - pumping it out into a small container works pretty good.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/31/2015 7:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have been very disappointed in this product. I wanted to love it, but it just isn't working for my skin. I originally used it as an under eye concealer. It comes out as a liquid and dries matte and really quickly. it provides pretty good medium coverage. But it settles into the fine lines around my eyes horrifically and is very aging and made me look tired and worn out - the exact opposite of what I was trying to achieve. My boyfriend told me I looked "destroyed" if that's any indication of how bad it was. I tried it as a spot concealer on my face as well. I found that it oxidized over the course of the day and I was left with embarrassing dark smudges over my zits, drawing even more attention to them. This product just doesn't work for my skin.

TIP: As just about everyone else says, the packaging is bad. Before I gave up on this product, I would pump one or two squirts into a sample pot and dip my brush in that instead. That way you can save the extra that comes out with each pump and you don't waste product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2015 9:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this concealer! I would even dare to call it my holy grail! I have severely dry skin, although I am also acne prone. I have very red cheeks, and need a high coverage concealer. This concealer is AMAZING. It doesn't flake off or give me dry patches, and it covers my cheeks and acne. I like to put one pump on a beauty blender and blend it all over my face, then go back over with a little more concealer on any problem areas. I've never had any issues with creasing or transferring. At least on my skin, it's very long wearing, but I've found primer and powder help make it last even longer.
My only real issue is the packaging. Although I love the idea of a pump, which is much more hygienic than something you're dipping your finger or brush in, the pump itself is problematic. It is almost impossible to get less than a full pump, it's pretty much all or nothing. I'm fine with this since I always use a full pump, but if you wanted to only use this as a spot concealer, there would be a lot of unused product wasted each time.
I have the pro longwear concealer in NW20 and it's a perfect match. I got matched in the store, and I haven't had any issues. I bought it for around $30, which I think is reasonable. It's a great quality concealer, and has already lasted me three months, even while I'm using it as a foundation.
Final thoughts: Great on dry skin, medium buildable coverage, packaging needs some work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

this is amazingggg. full, full coverage, ridiculously matte. doesn't feel cakey, and it does not crease. it does not BUDGE. but... if you're dry, it can somewhat accentuate dry patches if you go a bit too heavy handed. a few cons are that it's very easy to drop and break into a million pieces, and it's sort of pricey for how little product there is actually in the bottle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2015 8:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have this in the shade NC20 and it cost me a whopping $32 instead of the $16 my american friend bought it for. I only use this for special occasions, but thanks a lot Australia, you're ripping me off so badly. However, this concealer only disappoints me a little bit.

It covers very well and as the title insists, it lasts on me for about 6 hours (could've gone more but it was late and I was tired by then). Application dries extremely quick so you do have to blend super fast to get it to go on your face evenly. There's also a problem with the dispensing pump, it does a full flush and no pee option. What I mean is that when I just want a small amount to cover a pimple on my chin, it gives me enough to cover two faces and still have a concealer stain on my finger.

Being a newbie with concealers, I do not recommend these for people who are just popping into the beauty world.
I also wouldn't recommend mixing this with your moisturiser and/or talcum powder and/or applying it with oily fingers as it does tend to flake instantaneously when you do so. I'm not joking :( I went to school with a flaky concealer nose. I still struggle trying to put concealer on because it just doesn't want to apply evenly on my face, does anybody else have this problem?

All in all I would have rather spent my $32 on a better, even though less branded concealer that I can trust for a good non flaky face :)

Read more of my reviews at http://bochlo.blogspot.com I hope they answer all your questions!
xxx


on 1/29/2015 1:39:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I like this concealer a lot but the pump pisses me off. Half of the product that comes out I need to wipe off my hand, so I waste a lot of it. But it is an amazing concealer, so I guess I'll have to live with it.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

MAC Pro Longwear Concealer | First Impression (F.I.F) by Chloe Luckin

Mac Pro Long Wear Concealer and Prep and Prime Highlighter Review by BeautynLifewSue



Back to Top