July 28, 2014 | 1047 users online

Fragrances - L'Artisan Fragrances - Vanilia [DISCONTINUED]

no image

rated 3.6(132 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 56% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 1/16/2005 7:43:00 PM More reviews by Glossaholic

    Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    Well, I did not get the "smokiness" that many others did, but I didn't get any "vanilla" either! This scent is not bad, it just has no hint of vanilla whatsoever (at least on me). It reminds me of something I wore in the '80s but can't quite place. Glad I sent for a sample instead of taking a chance on it. For my money, I'll stick to L'Aromarine's Vanille. Sweet (but not overly so) and it smells like VANILLA!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 1 of 5 on 1/13/2005 2:13:00 AM More reviews by MaisieGrace

    Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

    Opens with an ashtray note, then morphs into the smell of cheap, artificial-vanilla scented candles, like you might find at the dollar store. Maybe it's a chemistry thing, but I did not find this appealing at all.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 12/26/2004 1:46:00 AM More reviews by PerfumeEnjoyer

    Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

    Upon initial application it smells like an ashtray, but an hour later it smells like the inexpensive incense that students burn and outgrow by adulthood. I say this without judgement -- it is not a criticism, but a description. This scent is interesting, but it doesn't shout "beautiful." Instead, it reminds me of what I thought adulthood was as I was entering puberty. And I should add that the vanilla is there, too, and it is nice but it is not strong. It does, however, form a pleasant cloud that surrounds the wearer, and it lasts quite a long time. Because of the smokiness, or ashy smell, however, I have a hard time imagining anybody who is not a smoker wearing this scent. Since I have read that Michelle Pfeiffer wears it, I wonder if she smokes cigarettes. If you know the answer, do tell me. And lastly, I have to add that I do not smell the vanilla orchid flower at all, which should not surprise, since I have read that the flower is odorless. I think it would be a lovely scent, the combination of vanilla bean and an orchid flower, but this is not that, at least not the batch I've smelled.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 12/26/2004 1:44:00 AM More reviews by PerfumeEnjoyer

    Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

    Upon initial application it smells like an ashtray, but an hour later it smells like the inexpensive incense that students burn and outgrow by adulthood. I say this without judgement -- it is not a criticism, but a description. This scent is interesting, but it doesn't shout "beautiful." Instead, it reminds me of what I thought adulthood was as I was entering puberty. And I should add that the vanilla is there, too, and it is nice but it is not strong. It does, however, form a pleasant cloud that surrounds the wearer, and it lasts quite a long time. Because of the smokiness, or ashy smell, however, I have a hard time imagining anybody who is not a smoker wearing this scent. Since I have read that Michelle Pfeiffer wears it, I wonder if she smokes cigarettes. If you know the answer, do tell me. And lastly, I have to add that I do not smell the vanilla orchid flower at all, which should not surprise, since I have read that the flower is odorless. I think it would be a lovely scent, the combination of vanilla bean and an orchid flower, but this is not that, at least not the batch I've smelled.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 1 of 5 on 12/22/2004 12:45:00 AM More reviews by BubbaJab

    Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

    Agree with what has just been said below, no complexity, no smokiness ala Un Bois Vanille.
    Not bad but not great either. In the CSP category vanilla scent.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/9/2004 12:33:00 AM More reviews by schminken

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    To be completely honest, not a lot of the vanilla or spice that others have mentioned showed up on me. What I do get is a lot of soapiness. I never thought a vanilla could be clean smelling but this one does! I really like this one but it doesn't last very long.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 1 of 5 on 9/24/2004 1:22:00 PM More reviews by jm1875

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I was so excited when I ordered this. I love sophisticated vanilla scents, but this just smelled like flea dip to me. Horrible. I walked it around my office to get other opinions and to the very last person, everyone hated it. Someone compared it to mothballs. YICK!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 9/14/2004 6:33:00 PM More reviews by sriley

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    Finally, a vanilla which doesn't smell like Duncan Hines cupcakes or Krispy Kreme glazed doughnuts!

    A wonderfully layered, smoky, sophisticated vanilla...blissful! This is one of my staples in my perfume arsenal!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 2 of 5 on 8/20/2004 2:30:00 AM More reviews by icelos

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

    Very incense-y! I cannot detect much vanilla in this. It's very smoky and strange - not something I'd wear.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/27/2004 10:26:00 AM More reviews by ara133

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    Not a very interesting vanilla, in my opinion. Definitely not a foody scent - a little more grown-up, but also quite boring. In the bottle it smells really really good and there's a slightly sharp note, but as soon as it's applied that bit of interest immediately disappears, to leave a very dull slight vanilla fragrance. I wanted to find a nice non-foody vanilla but this is not it, I actually ended up layering this with a CSP after a while to liven it up. Will not purchase larger bottle.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No