Tarte Lights Camera Lashes

3.8

650 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Aqua, oryza sativa (rice) bran wax, cyclopentasiloxane, hydrogenated stearyl olive esters, stearic acid, cera carnauba, triethanolamine, alcohol, candelilla cera, acacia senegal gum, panthenol, VP/VA copolymer, polyvinyl alcohol, aminomethylpropanediol, chlorphenesin, iron oxides (CI 77499).


on 7/14/2014 2:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Say it ain't so, Tarte! Beautiful packaging, lovely wand, just the right size. Great formula, not too wet or too dry. Perfect as is when opened, no wait time for it to dry up a bit. At least for me. It made my lashes black. Looked fantastic after curling, for about 30 minutes, then they fell flatter than a man on vacation who left his Viagra at home. Too expensive of a mascara to perform like a $6 one I already have.

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.



on 7/14/2014 12:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Overall I really like this mascara. Its gives you a volumized look, but actually separates the lashes as well. I think its hard to find a mascara that can do both. I wish the brush was a lil bigger to hold more product; sometimes feel like I have to dip it in several times to achieve the look I want. I wear it all day long and don't have any issues with flaking. It removes easily with a eye makeup remover. I will be buying this again!


on 7/8/2014 11:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I got this mascara as a sample from Sephora. I didn't use it for a while since I still had a Too Faced Lashgasm mascara (which I do not like at all... the container fell apart and it was very clumpy). Lights, Camera, Lashes is really fabulous (and I am very picky about mascaras). It goes on without clumps and lengthens my lashes. The color is very dark and the packaging isn't messy. I will definitely repurchase.


on 7/6/2014 1:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this mascara in a QVC Tarte special I ordered about 3 months ago. After about 2
months of use I noticed my eyelashes were thinning and falling out in places. They used to be very long and full and now I have several almost bald patches. The only thing I can think of what caused that is mascara. Prior to using this mascara I never had that problem. I've stopped using this mascara and tossed it away. Also the packaging isn't that great because the leather came unglued on my mascara cap and fell off. Do not recommend!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/27/2014 5:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

It's pretty decent, and decidedly better than other higher quality mascaras but my test run of it did not convince me to switch from my current favorite....yet.

I purchased the $10 travel size at Sephora because I was in need of a compact makeup carry on for a trip, and they were out of the travel sized version of my current HG, Too-Faced Better Than Sex mascara.

This is a nice dark tint and gave me very decent length, but was lacking in the bulk/thickness that I prefer. Also, they didn't have the waterproof version in travel size so I was sort of bummed about it disappearing after a few hours on me. It didn't look messy at all, which was nice, but it just didn't give me volume.

I do think it's better than Lancome and Dior, but it's not any better than the L'Oreal Miss Manga, and definitely not like my Too-Faced. But, I'm going to throw down some $$ and buy the full-size waterproof and check that one out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/22/2014 7:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For sure it volumizes and it's VERY black in color. BUT it clumps when applying and smudges as the day goes by. The formula is right in between dry and liquidy and it feels nice when applying but smudges to much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


ckb

on 6/19/2014 3:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I purchased this at 50% off during a sale at Utla some time ago. The only negative about this mascara is the packaging because it's just so bulky. But the formula, brush and application is very nice. It is a dark black mascara that gives me volume and length. It can clump if you put too many coats on, but this always give my lashes a dramatic, yet wearable on a daily basis, look. I noticed that the $10 deluxe sample size is sold at Ulta in the front register area(similar to the Benefit They're Real sample size). If you want to try it out -- I would get that one -- then just wait for a sale. I don't think I'd pay $20 for this -- let alone any mascara -- but this is a great one!


on 6/19/2014 2:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Yeeeeeessss.
Volume. Super blackness. Lengthening for days.
The brush is big and sort of stiff, so application can be difficult if you are in a rush. If you're not careful, this stuff can get all over the place.
But that's where the negatives end.
It's unbelievably volumizing, which is needed on my sadly thin lashes. I don't need help in the length department, but this provides it anyway. My lashes are huge and long and deep, pure black.
The formula is neither wet nor dry. It works perfectly with the brush to separate and add definition while still building perfect volume. And it's mighty buildable.
Holds up well in heat and humidity, but doesn't require a demolition crew to remove.
It's on the pricier end of the cost spectrum, but it's not so bad that I wouldn't go back for more.
And can we just discuss for a moment how adorable the packaging is?! The snakeskin-print embossing on the dark metallic tube is just too dang cute for words.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Great for everyday or as a lash conditioner. Light and matte, can be flakey but I guess it's not exactly meant for clubbing XD one of my favorite mascara a.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I agree with the reviews. It is very heavy and clumpy, but it makes your eye lashes look thick. It would be perfect for someone with already full lashes. It was not good for my thin, long and blonde lashes because of the formula.


Back to Top