December 19, 2014 | 1622 users online

Mascara - Tarte - Lights Camera Lashes

rated 3.8(629 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 3/17/2014 11:39:00 AM More reviews by Lau731

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I have to say I'm a mascara junkie. I was blown away by the sample of this mascara. Left long, plush fluttery lashes. I ran and got the full size and in pretty sure it's not even close to the sample. Didnt impress me at all and dried out extremely fast.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/13/2014 11:09:00 AM More reviews by reniecpa

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I got this as a freebie with my Sephora Beauty Insider points and I'm SO glad I did! I will def buy this mascara again! I have sensitive eyes and cannot use ANY drugstore brand, unfortunately, and I've tried them all. So I have to buy more expensive mascaras.

In the past a couple of my favorites have been Lancome Definicils (which is great) and the DiorShow, DiorShow Blackout, and DiorShow New Look. With the exception of the 'New Look', all the Diors smudge something terrible on me no matter what kind of foundation I wear.

This stuff....I have never been as amazed by a mascara! It doesn't clump at ALL. It isn't goopy. It adds both volume AND length, and doesn't get clumpy even after 3 coats! It's sort of a dry formula, but doesn't flake and it stays put ALL DAY long. It leaves your lashes soft, not crunch & spidery looking like a lot of lenghtening mascaras.

I'm just so glad I discovered this sort of by accident, otherwise I probably never would have tried it. I will definitely pruchase this when my sample runs out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/9/2014 12:44:00 AM More reviews by MadameButterfly

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This mascara is amazing. I was born with really thick hair and long, thick lashes, but over the years my hair has thinned out and my eyelashes have gotten sparser, due to weight loss. My eyelashes are now what you would probably consider as average, maybe still slightly thick. In any case they are not what they once were. I was able to wear eyeliner and shadow with no mascara in the past, or with any drugstore mascara as long as it didn't smudge. Now I need to wear a good mascara in order to look decent and not tired. I've tried a number of mascaras and I've had very good success with this one from Tarte. It is a good "all around" mascara because it lengthens, thickens and darkens without smudging, smearing, running or flaking. I personally like a good balance of volume and length. I hate mascaras that make my lashes long and spidery without volume. I also avoid mascaras that are unpleasant to apply or wear-- anything that smears, clumps, smudges, runs, feels crunchy, waxy or is difficult to remove. Eyelashes are easy to damage, and many mascaras are rough on eyelashes. This mascara is more expensive than most, but it's much more pleasant to apply and wear than most mascaras. It is gentle and doesn't damage your eyelashes. The brush is also not difficult to use and it does not make a big mess. It makes my lashes fluttery and thick, like I have falsies on. It works best when the tube is fresh, once you open it and it starts to dry out, it becomes less effective. This is true for any mascara though. Tarte Lights Camera Lashes is definitely my HG mascara. It is expensive (since you have to replace it so often), but worth the price if you are someone who wears mascara everyday.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/10/2014 4:49:00 PM More reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I really never buy high-end mascaras because I feel like they are a waste of money. I received a full size of this in a kit and wow. I am super impressed. I am not a packaging person, but the packaging is so nice.

The formula is great and the brush is traditional. I normally hate traditional brushes because they don't seem to grab my lashes or do anything, but this one is vastly different. I am not sure what it is, but it grabs everyone and makes my lashes look long and very full. Two coats and I was seriously impressed. I had no clumping issues or smearing or flaking. The formula isn't wet or dry, its in the middle.

I am fairly new to Tarte but I am in love with their products so far. Very hard to please me with mascaras and foundations, but I am sold on theirs. Natural and chemical free, I am happy happy :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 1/15/2014 10:16:00 PM More reviews by jdmcgi2

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I received this mascara as part of a kit and I wonder if it goes bad quickly. I didn't use the mascara in the kit right away it was a month or so before I tried it. It seemed like the formula was dried up and clumpy so it didn't lengthen or give volume to my lashes at all... just flaked everywhere. This stuff was actually the consistency of mud. Won't purchase this item.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/4/2014 5:54:00 PM More reviews by Kimmiebat

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've always used Lancome defincils. That's a really good mascara- tartes is better. Will definitely buy again. I don't mind cheaper products for just about anywhere, but I like big lashes. No clumping and I can wing out the ends of my lashes really well with this ! I apply to the tops of my upper lashes and then the bottom of the uppers-coat both sides of the lashes if you get what I'm saying. Big lashes!!! I've never seen anyone coat both the top and undersides of the upper lashes. What a difference! Look like falsies! Give it a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/4/2014 4:28:00 AM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

Love love love this! I usually stray away from HE ($20+) mascaras because I go through them so quickly and for every acceptable mascara I find there's at least 5 others I've tried that aren't (HE or not). I only tried this because it was part of a kit my boyfriend bought me for Christmas and this stuff blew me away. It added tons of volume to my lashes, it was not clumpy, it didn't smudge and it lasted ALL DAY. I am really impressed. I'll definitely be buying more of this in the future.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/3/2014 9:22:00 PM More reviews by sgray0721

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff. The brush really grabs my lashes and lengthens really well

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/28/2013 3:03:00 AM More reviews by andreakp103

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I really tried to like this mascara. I bought it with another tarte mascara and I honestly didn't like both. I enjoyed the length they gave my eyelashes but the mascara was too clumpy and heavy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/27/2013 11:35:00 PM More reviews by cleotokos

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I love this mascara. I found it extremely lengthening, without a clump in sight. It is build able for volume. The only drawback I found was that it does not really hold much of a curl. However, made my lashes look so long that wasn't much of a problem.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No