November 26, 2014 | 1489 users online

Eye Shadow - MAC - Matte - Espresso

rated 4.5(187 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 87% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 4/25/2011 3:44:00 PM More reviews by draginl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i wanted to like this. i really wanted a matte brown crease color, with the least amount of red tones. this is so non-red, it's practically grey when it goes on. a little too grey for me. im still using it but i'm on the hunt for something else. it's really hard to blend too! and once you put the color on, it's impossible to blend out so you have to apply this very carefully. i think i'm going to try mac's brown down next...or maybe a nars shadow. when i run out of this in a bajillion years, i wont buy another one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/27/2011 12:04:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Espresso is now a color I cannot live without. Back in the day matte colors did not appeal to me. I thought they were boring, chalky and unflattering. Since Espresso has been in my life my opinion is quite the opposite. I was given this shadow by an aunt of mine who swears by it. Hesitant to try it, I didn't touch it once until she saw that I hadn't used it. I let her put it on me and when I saw the results I was pleasantly surprised. She put a light shimmery white on my lid, Espresso in the crease and filled in my brows. I was shocked because brow colors are hard to find with my dark hair. It looked PERFECT. Now I use Espresso everyday, for my brows and my crease. If you're getting a few basic shadows from MAC I recommend this 100%.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/13/2011 11:11:00 PM More reviews by Bambie_Blonde

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Other Eyes: Green

I absolutely love Espresso as a crease color :) Its the perfect dark brown that can match with any lid color- anything from neutral to bright. I do admit though, that Espresso is slightly hard to blend. The only way I can get any rich pigmentation out of this is if I use a sticky base like NYX's Jumbo Pencil in Milk- otherwise, it goes on very sheer. I have tried so many other dark brown eyeshadows, but none of them compare to this color wise. Most of the darker brown eyeshadows I have tried tend to go on very muddy, or are just not dark enough. My favorite eyeshadows to pair with Espresso have to MAC's Club & Honey Lust- I still have to try some other combinations, but this is so versatile! I even love smuding this onto my lower lashline- it looks heavenly =) I would give it 5 stars if the pigmentation was slightly better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/13/2011 8:20:00 PM More reviews by bennodalove

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Coarse Eyes: Green

I love this shadow for filling in my brows. I have dark brown brows and the colour fits me perfectly...doesn't look harsh at all, incredibly natural. It's a flat dark 'espresso' brown with no red tones. Occasionally I use it on my crease aswell which looks nice but is a little difficult to blend. Still workable though.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/25/2011 4:18:00 PM More reviews by Lorrainee

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i use this eyeshadow every day! it works great as an eyeliner, crease color, brow color etc. its so versatile. it's not too dramatic on my nc40 skin tone so it's great for everyday.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/23/2011 4:20:00 AM More reviews by Melly5891

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I actually really like this product but not for eyeshadow but to fill in my eyebrows....but i wouldn't buy it again cause i can find this same color for a nicer price :]

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/20/2011 5:03:00 PM More reviews by pinkmacprincess

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

A must for eyebrows and crease color.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/20/2010 6:56:00 PM More reviews by OliviaMakeupChannel

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this eyeshadow for both creasework and eyebrows. It's my go to cool toned brown! :D

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/17/2010 11:09:00 AM More reviews by voxamoeba

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Love it! Makes my hazel eyes sparkle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/25/2010 12:14:00 PM More reviews by despoina76

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Espresso is like grey-brown on me,i have to agree with another reviewer who said that make her look dirty,and yes...you can go wrong even with browns!Made my green eyes looked tired-super boring colour.Ok,maybe for some of the reviewers works for their eyebrows,but i did not want to spend my money for an eyeshadow that works better on eyebrows...Sorry MAC,but i want my money back...(Sorry for my poor english.)

Is this review helpful? Yes No