April 17, 2014 | 1914 users online

Eyeliner - Essence - Gel Eyeliner ] [DISCONTINUED]

rated 4.6(242 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.6
  • 92% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    This product has been discontinued

    rated 4 of 5 on 5/26/2013 3:05:00 AM More reviews by haruhii

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Other

    This is an absolutely wonderful gel liner and for $3, everyone should try it! The black applies as a true matte black and the formula is very soft. Since the formula is a lot softer compared to similar products from L'oreal, Maybelline, and MAC, it does require a little longer time to fully set. In the beginning, I didn't like this at all because it would smudge all over the bottom of my eye. Once I started giving it some time to set (less than a minute), it stayed on beautifully. It does still smudge a little at the end of the day but it's minimal. The glass container is pretty sturdy and the lid closes tightly. I've had mine for months and it's still very soft. I like that it's cheap enough that I can just buy a replacement (for hygienic reasons) every few months and it's not a big deal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/20/2013 10:01:00 AM More reviews by Princesa7

    Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

    Definitely a favorite!!!

    I've used many gel liners from low to high end and this stuff is excellent!!!

    I will say I do prefer my MAC Fluidline but when low on $ this Essence liner is the next best thing to get!!!

    It goes on nice & smooth and imo is very pigmented. My only tiny gripe is that I notice after a few hrs it tends to fade but otherwise this stuff is great.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 5/19/2013 10:52:00 AM More reviews by SweetManiac

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    I bought the black one (Midnight in Paris). I like the texture, it is really easy to apply! Also it is waterproof.
    However I think it could be higher pigmented, because you need a thick line if you want it REALLY black. Also it needs some time until it is completely dry.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 5/14/2013 6:46:00 AM More reviews by kata8

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

    I love this product. It's cheap but it works great! It is long lasting and beautiful. In the future I will use it instead of expensive eyeliners.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 5/11/2013 10:58:00 PM More reviews by Mellaaayy

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    This is the only gel eyeliner I have tried, so I can't compare it to any others. It's cheap and works great. It lasts all night on the lids. I use it with an angled brush.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 5/7/2013 1:21:00 AM More reviews by lorenap08

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    First off, I have been through my fair share of gel liners. I have bought MAC fluidline in black track, bobbi brown gel liner, the maybelline gel liners, etc., and I must confess that this gel liner is by far the best gel liner I have tried to date. It's long lasting, creamy, smooth, all the things that you look for in a gel liner! It goes on like a dream and I've had it for a good month and it still has not dried up on me.

    Long story short, save your cash! (I've done the testing for you!)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 5/1/2013 3:08:00 AM More reviews by lusox33

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

    I got this at ULTA. It was like $3!!! I don't usually use gel liners because they dry out so fast! I love this one because I've had it for months and the formula is still pretty good and it feels new-ish. However, it can be darker in pigment. It's not SUPER black if you know what I mean...unless you go over your liner twice. If you're looking for a budget friendly alternative to MAC, Bobbi Brown, or even Maybelline... This is awesome, and better than WetnWild's gel liner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 4/30/2013 12:22:00 AM More reviews by FloralRed

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    GREAT STUFF. Even for the price, the product itself is pretty amazing. Compare this to Maybelline's gel eyeliner and you will definitely want to choose this because not only is it cheaper but it's creamier and it's a lot less likely to transfer to the lids. The packaging isn't all that great but it still works!

    Edit: If the product starts to dry out and cause flakes when you apply it, wet your brush first before dipping it into the pot. Gives a more precise and darker line anyways.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 4/23/2013 5:44:00 AM More reviews by bebexxx

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    This is by far the cheapest gel eyeliner i've seen at a drugstore like Target. When i saw all these reviews online, i thought why not give it a try. It costed around $5 AUD and it came in a pretty big jar. The consistency is SO smooth, like i dipped my brush in and it went very far down the pot. The colour is REALLY black and its so easy to apply to the eye. Downside however is that because its so wet you have to kind of leave it to dry for awhile because if you move your eyes or rub it it will cause lots of smudges (and its very black may i remind you). At the end of the day wise, i would get a few smudges here and there but its not bad considering how cheap this product was. I would really buy it again and its one of my favourite drugstore gel eyeliner!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 4/18/2013 12:39:00 PM More reviews by Peahennery

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

    This stuff is perfect. I used to fork out the $35 for the bobbi brown longwear because good gel liner is a staple I couldn't live without. One day I lost my jar whilst poor & got a little desperate so I bought essence instead. I am never looking back now. It glides on smooth and pigmented, drys to the point where it doesn't transfer all day, and does not flake off. The only thing I can complain about is the packaging is obviously not as pretty and it takes a little longer to dry without transferring. The quality is just below bobbi brown I would say, but certainly not enough to pay an extra 20 something bucks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No