December 20, 2014 | 1751 users online

Body Scrubs - Soap & Glory - Flake Away Spa Body Polish

rated 4.2(106 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 74% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 11/2/2011 11:31:00 PM More reviews by powersuit

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I originally bought this for my daughter. I had tried the scrub of your life before and found the skin dryness afterwards outweighed the exfoliating benefits. my daughter, however, loved it for her oily skin. Anyhow, she ran out, and I had read such great reviews on flake away that I thought we'd try it. I AM SOOOO GLAD I DID!!!! I tried it on my face before moisturizing before bed. It is the most intense and effective exfoliater I've ever used.. and after rinsing, my skin was soft and NEW- yeah, that's the best way to describe it! My skin felt as soft and new as a baby's! Problem i can't get past with it is how mucky it leaves the tub, and it is extraordinarily difficult to fully rinse off. I will keep looking for that elusive grail scrub for dry skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/9/2011 11:41:00 PM More reviews by rastaxcore

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

This is my HG body scrub -- I also have a tube of Scrub of your Life which is nice but it doesn't get the job done the way Flake Away does. This one smells STRONG so if you don't like the scent of S&G products, stay away from this. It scrubs really well and the granules last longer than in other salt/sugar scrubs. A little goes a long way so the tub lasts quite awhile. It has a coating that it leaves behind for moisture so it's better to use before shaving so it doesn't gum up your razor. One surprise use for this is to get garlic scent off your hands and nails after cooking, take a tiny bit and rub it all around your nails after washing your hands and it will get rid of the food smell. Lovely!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/7/2011 4:25:00 PM More reviews by anmitchell25

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this brand, but I am not a huge fan of this product. I like the smell, but the thickness and greasy texture is a big problem for me. I find big globs of the product stuck to my tub after along with a layer of greasy film. I will not be purchasing this again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/31/2011 3:50:00 AM More reviews by sopchan

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Love this scrub, it seems to be the perfect combination of salt, sugar and other ingredients which means it doesn't feel overabrasive like a pure salt scrub, or under like a pure sugar or nutshell one.

Also love the consistency - rather than drowning in oil like an expensive salt scrub (e.g. the Sanctuary), it's quite thick and so easy to slap on without wasting it by it running immediately off your leg etc into the bath!

Totally recommended, and I got this on 3-for-2, so I consider it really good value as you don't use much at a time, generally due to that sturdy consistency. Also smells great.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/8/2011 4:38:00 PM More reviews by Harrialice

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I cannot live without this scrub - it's supposed to be used on your legs but I use it all over - keeps my skin looking and feeling nice. Smells amazing and is a good moisturiser too!
It can leave the shower a little bit slippery.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/23/2011 12:30:00 PM More reviews by Summerbeauty

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

this smells great and does the job really well. it's great if your legs and arms are feeling a bit dry. this smoothens, softens and makes them more supple. although a bit expensive i might treat myself to this over the summer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/12/2011 8:14:00 PM More reviews by thinkpink241

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Beware, be prepared to clean your tub immediatly after use because the oils from this stuff adhere like bacon fat.

Its a really nice scrub.. but i find it is extremely greasy after you get out of the shower... good for legs and arms, bad for the rest of you... i usually solve this by just wiping with a dry towel really well.

I use this mainly before my fake tanning... it moisturizes the areas that need moisture and the scrub is nice. I think i will spend a bit more and go to the body shop and get one of their salt scrubs that dont feel so oily.


------------------------------

UPDATE: This stuff has left a grimey sticky film all over my bathtub... its SO hard to get off... will not repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/8/2011 3:14:00 PM More reviews by Afiach

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

It's quite gritty in texture, and a little awkward to scoop out of the pot and apply, but it does exactly what it promises. It's particularly good on the upper arm area, and gets rid of bumps and uneven looking skin from the first application.

It comes in a adecent sized tub, and the product lasts for ages. I used it twice a week, mainly on my legs.

However because of the oils in this product cleaning the bath/shower after is a pain and it makes the area very slippery. Which is annoying. I've also grown tired of the smell - it just doesn't appeal to me anymore as it's quite strong.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/3/2011 2:24:00 PM More reviews by huamao

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is definitely the worst body product I ever used. I'm not sure what's in it , but the texture is very thick and greasy, almost like bacon fat. It took me forever to clean my bathtub afterwards. Smells very cheap and chemical. Had to throw it away.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/1/2011 6:59:00 AM More reviews by suzerxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

this is great!! its the best scrub i own! really good and quick exfoliation and makes skin feel lovely and soft! great to use before fake tanning! and smells gorgeous!
xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No