October 31, 2014 | 847 users online

Powder - Cover Girl - Fresh complexion oil control makeup (powder foundation) [DISCONTINUED]



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.6(247 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
    Pin It

    As per Cover Girl's website, this was replaced by
    http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=172863/Ready,-Set-Gorgeous-Powder-Foundation/Cover-Girl/Powder

    rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 7/2/2009 8:15:00 AM More reviews by lygophilia

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

    Very disappointed in this product. For a product that feels heavy, powdery, and thick, it delivered flimsy coverage. I get better coverage from setting powder then this foundation powder. The texture was grainy and was difficult to blend. I even tried it with a few different primers and moisturizers with no success. As the day wore on the colour turned darker and orangey on me, began to get cakey, and super shiny. All my pores were on display after a few hours. Not attractive at all and a waste of money.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 6/24/2009 3:46:00 PM More reviews by ShesDeadlyPoison

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    I use this powder everyday as a setting powder. I've been using it for roughly 5 years now. It gives a nice finish and flawlessly matte look at first. It fades rather quickly. I've mostly continued using it because of it's ease of accessibility and how cheap it is. It's not a bad powder, just not that grand. The only reason I still use it is because I haven't found something that I love. I'm not going to switch to something more expensive but just as mediocre. I definitely recommend for the younger crowd though. I started using it my senior year of high school and absolutely loved it back then. I think my skin was just different.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 2 of 5 on 6/12/2009 3:40:00 PM More reviews by shelly73

    Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

    I really hate to do this, but I've tried this product several times over the last few years, thinking maybe *this* time...and it never works out. I used Ivory, the lightest shade and it was still a touch dark. The problem was, it turned orangey everytime I wore it. It just isn't going to work on my skin. While I can't blame the product persay, for an oily skinned type product, you'd think that those kinks would be worked out.

    I WISH it had worked out color wise, cause the texture was great. I've switched to mineral makeup for everyday, and for special occasions, I use CG simply powder, the ingredients are almost the same I believe, but that one doesn't turn orange for some reason.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/10/2009 3:23:00 AM More reviews by theymightbejenny

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

    Love this powder! I used this all through high school and I still use it today. The color (classic ivory) matches my skin perfectly. It makes my skin soooooo matte. You do need to touch up throughout the day, but the best part about this product is that you can pile it up and it never gets cakey. Absolutely love it. The blue compact is cute and I like to use the sponge it comes with - although I do have to wash it often. The coverage is light, so I'd recommend this as a powder and not a powder foundation (unless you have really good skin).

    -Great for oily skin
    -Best at mattifying
    -Never gets cakey
    -Cheap

    Can't get too much better than that!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/31/2009 7:21:00 AM More reviews by ayngemac

    Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

    I can't believe I haven't written a review of this yet. I've used it for several years. I use 655/Soft Honey. It matches my skin perfectly, covers well and gives me a nice matte look. Plus it's less than ten bucks. I always stock up when I see a BOGOF sale. My beef with CG makeup is they just can't coordinate their shades. I mean, when I want to try a new foundation, the numbers and names are off and it's another freakin' crapshoot. Why can't they be like Maybelline? Honey Beige is Honey Beige is Honey Beige; same name no matter what foundation formula you try. Except their disastrous stab at mineral makeup. What a fiasco that was! I digress. I love this product!

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 5/20/2009 4:33:00 PM More reviews by semor211

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

    To preface: I do not use this product as my foundation, but I use it as a normal pressed powder throughout the day.

    As a regular touch-up powder, I love this. It helps me go from work to dinner to wherever and look fresh and put together.

    I will occasionally use just this as my foundation if it's the weekend and I'm going to the grocery store or something like that, and it works pretty well for quick, light coverage, too.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 3 of 5 on 5/2/2009 2:33:00 PM More reviews by anettescorpio12

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    This product I only buy just because its cheap...it works for a ibit when I use it for oily skin but if you dont mund reapplying often then its okay....this is my other compact...it like med/light coverage , it works...for the price...

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 4 of 5 on 5/1/2009 5:37:00 PM More reviews by alisoncooks

    Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

    I had no major problems with this foundation. I used it for quite a long while (several years). The only reason I switched was b/c I was trying to transfer my skin care/ makeup to all-natural.

    For the price, it is a great product. Decent light coverage, very portable and easy to use. Over the course of a day, I found that I needed to blot and if I *wiped*, quite a bit of this foundation would come off onto the tissue.

    But...it's cheap and I'd probably buy it for travel again. As for daily use, probably not. I don't know if it helped/hurt my complexion since I have changed so many items recently.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No

    rated 5 of 5 on 3/15/2009 4:02:00 AM More reviews by d0rkiamyxd

    Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

    Finally, I'm writing a review for this product! I've just been waiting to see how this product works on my face for a few weeks, before I write a review.

    First of all, I have a pretty OILY face. Since I'm a high school student who only gets a few allowances, I always look for products in drugstores. And I've been looking for a foundation or a powder that looks natural and makes my face non-oily.

    After using about 4 different powders/foundations, CG Fresh Complexion Pocket Powder is ... SERIOUSLY ... the BEST. Not only do the colors look so natural on my face, it isn't cakey AT ALL (at least not on my face). Ironically, my face is now actually pretty dry in some parts, but I don't mind that too much.

    One thing I dislike about this product, however, is that it doesn't give a very good coverage. It makes the skin color look balanced, though. It just doesn't cover those acne scars on your face, so I need to use concealers to cover them.


    BUTTTTT I still love it. 5/5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

    rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/9/2009 1:38:00 AM More reviews by Plagueofhamsters

    Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

    Really dry, little coverage, and a crappy compact. There wasn't too much to like here...but it was convenient.

    Is this review helpful? Yes No