July 28, 2014 | 1313 users online

Liquid - Neutrogena - Healthy Skin Liquid Makeup SPF 20 (2009 formulation)



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.6(143 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 62% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 7/12/2010 12:42:00 AM More reviews by katchimo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I purchased this and its mineral sheers counterpart in Soft Beige. The color didn't match my color, and at the time I chose it using the nifty skin match screen they had at Wal-Mart so apparently that doesn't work. Luckily I picked one that was right for my skin tone so I was able to use it and matte it down with powder.


The product itself is decent. The product is a little thick so it gives a medium to heavy coverage. I tend to use my fingers with this because i prefer a sheer coverage. My one complaint is that it doesn't dry matte and can feel a little heavy. I don't mind using it during the winter, when my face is dry and can benefit from a dewy look, but it melts off my face during the summer.


I have had this product for over a year and haven't experienced any significant breakouts. But I have fairly normal skin except during the summer when I can get fairly oily. Not a bad purchase for my first foundation, but I have my eye on many other products so I won't be buying this again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/6/2010 6:30:00 PM More reviews by gogoyng

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

Great Product. I needed something to replace my Clinique Superfit Makeup (15 Creamwhip N, VF) Didn't want to pay the price anymore. I tried this in 90 Warm Beige and got lucky. I kept debating on colors at the store (not easy to pick when you are not familiar with a brands color tones) This was a near perfect match to my color. I sometimes blend this with my benefit You Rebel light for a little more coverage/color when I don't want to just use the tinted moisterizer, but I also use it solo when I need full coverage. I really like this makeup. I wouldn't say it's heavy or light. Right in the middle.... please keep in mind I've never really used heavy makup. Worth a try if you ask me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/4/2010 1:45:00 AM More reviews by Ravey

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

ok, so i bought nars sheer glow after all the hype and was ALL excited but ended up not really being all that into it. i kept using it because it was like what, $40? but the color was kind of off so it was just weird for me, and i didn't like the application (took too long to achieve a nice look). so instead of buying another $40 bottle in a darker color to mix, i bought some neutrogena healthy skin which i heard was similar, in a shade that was a much better match.

i didn't want to admit that i liked the $13 foundation better than the $40 one i had JUST purchased, but ugh i do. i really, really do. this stuff is wonderful. the shade classic ivory "10" is PERFECT for me, looks 100% natural on my skin, is super easy to apply and doesn't break me out and lasts all day with powder on top. AND it has spf 20 compared to the spf NONE nars has.

i feel like the nars will be great for the winter since it is about the same shade i am then (xxx pale, sigh) but for now neutrogena and i are bffs.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/2/2010 6:23:00 PM More reviews by classicpisces

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I really like this product. For years I've been using Laura Mercier oil free foundation. It's rather expensive and was looking for a cheaper alternative. This one has worked out great for me. It's creamier than the Laura Mercier one I was using. I apply it with the Sonia Kashuk flat top brush and it blends nicely. Wish the bottle had a pump though.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/1/2010 10:45:00 AM More reviews by woahitsbrooke92

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

Ugh, I really wanted to like this. I heard such rave reviews about it that I had to try it. But man did this suck for me. It was too cakey, too heavy on my face, and really made me look dried out. Whenever I'd pour some onto the back of my hand, half the bottle would dump out, and I'd end up wasting product. Also, it really easily transfers. I rubbed my cheek against my sleeve, and a big streak of make up showed up. That NEVER happens. Just, not a good experience for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/1/2010 1:03:00 AM More reviews by RitaPerfect

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Black

I can't believe I didn't buy this sooner! I am a foundation junkie, so I have a ton of foundations stored up in my room, but this is the one that I've been reaching for the most often! I love how absolutely lightweight it feels on my face! It's like I'm not even wearing foundation, but I can still get the coverage that I want. Many foundations feel heavy and mask-like. Or, they don't go on too smoothly because difficult to blend. Even worse, they will make my skin look either very greasy or dry and tight. This foundation is none of those things. I'm used to foundations that don't come with a pump, so I just pour a little bit out onto my hand and then apply it with a wedge sponge. The finish looks so natural. This product is sort of pricey for a drugstore item, so try to get it when it's on sale.


EDIT: I find that this stuff can be applied easily with fingers too! It's perfect for the days when I need to be out the door in a hurry and I don't want to bother with sponges or brushes. Just tap the foundation over the areas you want to cover, blend with your fingers in circular and sweeping motions to ensure an even finish, and then be amazed at how wonderful (in the most natural way possible) your skin looks! I've also noticed that this has a light scent, but it's not unpleasant. After having to endure the smell of the paint-like Revlon Colorstay for so long, this product offers a welcomed rest for my nose. However, some people might be sensitive to such scented products, so do take a second to do a sniff test at the store because the fragrance seems to have some synthetic chemical undertones that could irritate sensitive palettes.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/27/2010 3:57:00 PM More reviews by laurxrawr

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I was really skeptical of this product. I wanted to try it over a year ago but didn't see awesome reviews. I finally broke down and got it when it was 40% off. I use shade 50 soft beige. It isn't a perfect match but its like 90% there. I will definitely pick up another shade next time I purchase. I got this like three weeks ago - I wanted to wear it a lot before I reviewed.
Cons:
The packaging. I have only let out too much once but it is still a hassle. Really wish it were a pump esp since I feel it applies nicely with fingers.
Personally this doesn't bother me that much but it could affect someone elses decision to use this and thats the price. I can say that this does go on sale frequently and I only buy drugstore makeup when it goes on sale.
It oxides. This actually didn't happen the first few times I used it but then I started noticing it was a little oranger by the end of the day. This could be from the weather( it is 80+ degrees and humid) or my other makeup but I think its from this.
The is a smell. Some people say its green apple and it sort of is. It isn't strong at all and doesn't irritate me. It fades as soon as I start blending.
The claims that skin improves- that seems a bit far fetched to me. I never buy makeup to rely on the other claims but it is really annoying when companies give you some bogus stats about better skin.

Pros:
I love the coverage. The first layer is enough for me but it is buildable. Layer one covers quite a bit but I still need concealer on blemishes. If I apply more I get really full coverage and it looks pretty good.
I like the finish. It isn't dewy but not totally matte either... I guess satin? Its versatile IMO bc sometimes dewy doesn't translate well at nigth and vice versa.. this eliminates that problem
No breakouts! I can always count on Neutrogena for this.
SPF- It isn't greasy like other makeups though. Its hard to say if it works but I can say that its summer & I haven't gotten a sunburn while wearing this.

My favorite way of applying this is with my fingers or an Ecotools retractable kabuki.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/26/2010 11:52:00 PM More reviews by junethea

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this foundation because I was looking for a light-medium coverage foundation with a dewy finish, and it definitely does both. However, I found that this foundation gave a finish that was TOO dewy, almost oily looking on my normal skin, I think it would be better suited for very dry skin. Also, I have to wear a primer if I use this foundation. It accentuates my pores and make them appear larger. If you have dry skin, and a good primer, this would be a good foundation for you.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/26/2010 4:59:00 PM More reviews by Jules11743

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this product! I purchased this a month ago and I've been using it everyday! I really love it! I have combination dry skin and I am always looking for a foundation that will give me healthy glowing skin! The finish this has on my face is wonderful!

However, I do have two complaints.

ONE: The color range is just horrible! It really appeals to those with more of a fair/light skin tone. I initially purchased the 110 Honey Beige because that was the darkest shade my Target sells and that was a bit too light for me! I have pretty tan skin and I had to use the darkest shade, which is 120 Tan (thankfully it matches me pretty well!).

TWO: There is no pump, but that is to be expected with drugstore foundation and its really not that big of a deal to me!

Overall, I think the pros of this product outweigh the cons! Definitely great for dry skin and for people with a fairer skin tones! I definitely recommend it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/21/2010 11:30:00 PM More reviews by candyxmandie

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Green

This foundation gives me the best coverage out of all foundations I've tried. It feels light but it has really good coverage. I have dry skin and it makes my face look very healthy without being cakey, although I would recommend using moisturizer before applying. It does transfer onto my camera and my cell phone when pressed against my cheek, but I noticed it was greatly reduced when I finished with pressed powder.

It matches my skin well. (I have the lightest shade)
I don't like how the bottle doesn't have a pump, but I guess I'll put up with it since I like the product so much.

Is this review helpful? Yes No