Revlon Colorsilk in Dark Brown

4.3

85 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/16/2011 10:53:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

UPDATE******
BE VERY CAREFUL WHEN USING THIS COLOR!!! THE DAY AFTER I USED THIS, I LOOKED AT MY HAIR IN THE DAYLIGHT AND IT WAS BLACK.....REALLY BLACK! The instructions are NOT clear. IF YOU have EVER colored your hair -- as in getting it salon colored -- do not leave it on the full head for the full amount of time!!!!! ONLY do the roots for the 20 minutes, then pull thru for 5 minutes. Had I known this I could have avoided a lot of heartache for the past three weeks. I have black hair now, and short of stripping it and damaging it, I will have black hair for a very loooooong time. Still think the product is awesome, my hair condition is great, but the color is just totally wrong due to improper use.
:(

I've been brainwashed/snowed for the past two years by my salon with their hoity toity salon color "INOA by Loreal" .....paying $80 dollars plus tip, just for a root touch up (no haircut or blow dry,) every 6 weeks. Supposedly, the "Inoa" was making my hair "healthier" with every visit....because of the lack of ammonia. Well, that was a load of bull crap.

So I read the reviews on here, and took the plunge with Dark Brown Colorsilk. All I can say is: YIPPEE! I can't believe how absolutely amazingly terrific this product is! I am literally blown away by the high-quality results I got from this hair color . No bad smell. Leaves hair in great condition. Ammonia free. Easy to apply. No fading. Perfect Color without any brassy red. I paid 4 bucks.

I can finally tell my salon to suck it! -- I'm never ever going to spend 80 bucks for someone to color my roots again. I may go in for a few strands of lighter highlights around my face in the summer, but I'll be coloring myself from now on.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 2/25/2011 4:45:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Wow! I started coloring my hair at 18, for the fun of it. Now at 45, it is a necessity due to an abundance of gray. I have tried EVERY drugstore and beauty supply color over the years with mixed results. I have naturally dark brown hair, and this color is my color but better. Completely covers gray, doesn't fade, is multi-dimentional, gentle, just rich and beautiful results. I just can't believe it. I have been looking for these results for years, never imagining they could come from cheap Colorsilk. I was always afraid to try it. I can't recommend it enough. Again, wow!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/21/2011 1:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use Revlon Colorsilk a lot. I think I'll stick with Medium Browns from now on because this looks VERY dark on my pale skin. It's a very close match to my natural hair color though, which is what I was going for so that I can grow my hair out w/o having to color it every 4 weeks

O nm about the color being too dark! I haven't died my hair in over a month and it matches my roots perfectly, so I guess this was my original color (I haven't seen it for a while lol)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this hair colouring product, I've been using it for several years now. It's not sold in Canada so I load up in the USA a couple of times a year.

This colour in particular is very dark, nearly black. It's darker than I'd prefer so I mix it with another Colorsilk (medium golden brown) in a 3:4 ratio for the perfect shade for me.

I really appreciate the nice shine I get from this product...no dull over dyed hair look!


on 10/20/2010 2:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this color. It looks almost black inside without natural lighting. but once you go outside you can see the rich brown come threw...Its almost my natural color anyways.

My only problem is, theres very little in the box. So if you have longer hair i would suggest 2 boxes. but for almost 4$ its no biggie..


on 7/24/2010 1:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I hated my black hair so I decided to dye my hair a little lighter with this product and it didn't do anything to my hair at all so I'm not that impressed but the color looked good anyway and it worked better than some of the hair dyes out there for $8! So I wouldn't recommend this product if you want to lighten your hair but it's a good product for everything else.

UPDATE: It fades quickly...not good :( At least it was only $3.


on 3/11/2010 11:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Revlon Colorsilk is one of the best kept secrets in the beauty world! Don't be deceived by the low price: Revlon Colorsilk in Dark Brown delivers dark chocolate tones, possesses staying power, and leaves the hair in excellent condition. The kit's conditioner nurtures newly colored hair, leaving it softer and silkier than ever. Do be aware that your hair may turn out a little darker than the model's. My hair is always a blackish brown for the first couple weeks; then, it fades to a rich chocolate brown. Because the color fades very evenly, I can go 8-10 weeks between colorings. The product offers salon quality at a below drugstore price.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I have been using this product for about 6 or 7 years. I have dark brown hair but every now and then scattered throughout is a white blond single strand. I used to get made fun of in school because people said it looked like I had gray hair so I resorted to dying it. I love this dye. I have used herbal essences, garnier... just about every drugstore box dye but i always come back to this one. My hair is very thick and half way down my back. I use 2 boxes to dye mine. I think most people could get away with one. I use the color Brown Black or Black usually and it gives me great results but if those are sold out I get this color. It turns my hair the same color as Brown Black or Black...JET BLACK. Which is fine with me but I'm sure most people want brown when they buy brown hair dye. It fades down some but not much. Just know if you are considering purchasing this color that it will be black not brown. I really like the conditioner that comes with it. It works awesome. I use both whole packs on my hair after I dye it to get it nice and soft.


The only complaints I have are 1.) The gloves that come with it suck so I use my own. and 2)It seriously takes forever to rinse out. Other than that it is wonderful and a lot more affordable than having to buy two boxes or 7-10$ dyes. I recommend this to anyone who wants to go darker.

The only thing I have to say about the other shades are that 1) if it says golden _____ like golden brown, golden blonde etc it will most definitely come out very orange or reddish in my experience and 2.) if you are trying to go lighter this will not do it. It is ammonia free and will not lift the color from your hair well. Always go to a salon if you are trying to go lighter. At least that is my experience. Hope this helps!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 2/17/2010 9:25:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I can't believe I spent $3 on hair color and got the results I wanted! I had been using L'Oreal Natural Match in Natural Black (had used Dark Brown and Brown Black prior), and wanted something a little softer but still dark. Everything seems to appear with strong red undertones, or blond highlights, which I did not want. This dye gives you a rich chocolate brown, and it does not look like your hair is colored! The product is a little runny (not enough to sway me, though), and it rinses out dark purple. The conditioner is amazing, and left my hair super soft and smelling great! The color is the rich shade I wanted, and I will definitely use again. If the color fades quickly with washing, I'll update. Will definitely buy again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2010 2:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I was so tired of spending a hundred bucks at the salon every month to get rid of my grays and then the reddish brassiness that would eventually show up. I decided to try home coloring and after reading the reviews for Revlon Colorsilk Dark Brown (30) I decided to give it a try. So glad I did. It turned out great! it is a deep chocolate brown, not a hint of brassiness and completely covered my stubborn grays and left my hair shiny and soft. its not the inky flat jet black color..it has some dimension and lots of shine. Its actually in better condition now that before I colored it. And it was on sale for $4.00.
Go get it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top