July 25, 2014 | 1115 users online

Mascara - Maybelline - One by One Volum' Express

rated 3.6(762 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/23/2011 4:50:00 AM More reviews by Annushka

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

i have tried all maybelline mascaras and honestly, the one that works best for me is the collossal. i bought the one by one because i wanted to try it out. i thought that the brush would be a dissapointment (like the covergirl lashblast was for me; no rubbery brushes ever seem to actually separate my lases and ive tried other max factor, rimmel and revlon ones) but i was wrong. It actually does separate! what i did find though was not enough product would come onto the brush, so i would have to coat and dip over and over again to try and get reaaly phat, black lashes.
in the end, i ended up using this as a sort of 'base' coat, to separate. then i go over with the collossal to make them phat, long and black.
overall, i didnt find this very volumising either...but like i said, i only use it for separating before i actually apply the mascara i like

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/18/2011 10:52:00 PM More reviews by hotlips94

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

love this mascara. it seperates and lengthens!!!! however, it does leave exxccess mascara on the wand instead of the brush. on y second tube cannot wait for my third!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/16/2011 8:05:00 PM More reviews by serrabird

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I saw One by One mentioned in a Youtube review and wanted to give it a try. It came as a total surprise: This the best mascara by Maybelline that I've used. I used and hated their over-hyped mascaras such as Great Lash or Volum' Express or The Falsies. I was expecting another sticky, non-existent, clumpy, smudgy, under-performing mascara that would turn my lashes into pathetic spider legs. I have long, thick, curly lashes that can make me look like Chucky's Bride with a poor mascara. That's why I keep shelling out a fortune to high-end mascaras such as GA Eyes to Kill, YSL Faux Cils, Givency Phenomeneyes, Helena Rubinstein Lash Queen, etc. One by One performed no less than any of these mascaras so far.

1- The brush is very well-designed. It's not actually a brush as it is, but a spiky rubber stuff. It reaches every single lash in the innermost and outermost corners without smudging the upper lid. It coats, separates and lifts the lashes. Causes no clumping even on my very thick outer lashes.
2- The formula is much better than other Maybelline mascaras. It isn't gooey, shiny or sticky like their other stuff. In two coats, my lashes are huge, soft and curled. It coats up very well without clumping and sticking lashes together. It holds the curl very well and doesn't weigh the lashes down.
3- No flaking whatsoever. I use contact lenses and flaking mascaras almost turn me blind with pain. This stayed on for 17 hours without any flaking or smudging.
4- The finish is a very good soft matte black texture. I absolutely hate the other wet sticky lashes I get with other cheaper mascaras...

There was a 3 for 2 offer at Superdrug and I stocked up on it. This is the first drugstore mascara that I bought backups for. I don't yet know how long the tube will last but I've got the summer covered with so many backups. I really liked this mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/16/2011 7:58:00 PM More reviews by xomegs

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This mascara really works for me to separate my lashes! For only 10 dollars its definitely worth the money. I combine it with a more voluminizing mascara when I go out but I would wear this alone every day. The brush is really cool and catches your lashes separating them really well. The formula is a little bit liquidy which I dont like, but whatever I really like this product. Packaging is bright and cute. I probably will repurchase this, and I like it better then the falsies by maybelline

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/16/2011 7:46:00 PM More reviews by morganito

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

let me preface by saying that I am a mascara junkie, yet I don't want to pay a lot for one tube, and I expect a lot out of my mascara. I like length but what good are long lashes if it looks like you only have 3 of them? So I must have volume as well. I want it to hold curl,not flake, clump or smudge. Impossible right?


Not so, I have found this mascara meets my requirements fairly well (not perfect but I ask a lot). I bought this in very black waterproof. The price is good, I got mine on a 40% off sale (so it was even better). Packaging is ok, I don't really care about packaging as long as whats inside works. I love the brush, big rubber brush, it grabs and separates my lashes with no clumps or spider legs. The formula is not to wet or dry, no offensive smell, very black and does not weigh my lashes down after I curl them. No flakes (even after combing through them with a metal eyelash comb) no smudging after a long day (even a nap). it makes my lashes look fuller and a bit longer, so I am happy. I have tried a lot of mascara, (cover girl lash blast, lash blast fusion, full and soft, lash stiletto voluptuous, colossal, stila major lash and lash visor) and this one is my current favorite.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/13/2011 10:28:00 PM More reviews by sarah71390

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

I loved the brush! Flexible, soft bristles, and very unique, but the formula was awful. I had never tried a Maybelline mascara before and I'm pretty turned off by it. No matter how hard I tried, I couldn't prevent this from flaking off. The flakes were so horrible after only 2 hours of use that it looked like I had bags under my eyes. I really wanted to love this product, but the only good thing about it is the brush. I did however, clean the brush and stuck it in one of my Revlon mascaras and it works wonder.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/13/2011 5:26:00 PM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I bought this mascara because I like to try various types of maybelline mascaras and this one had cute packaging. I really like that the wand has a thick brush and separates my lashes. It gives a very natural look for daytime but would not recommend for night time dramatic lashes

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/13/2011 4:15:00 PM More reviews by polemonium

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Too bad there isn't a 'maybe' on the question, "Would you buy this product again?" The waterproof version of this mascara in the color 'Black' isn't bad (I make this distinction because in 'Brownish-Black' it is kind of bad, going on with a tendency towards thick globs).

The brush is a bit large and doesn't separate lashes well, but in general the mascara goes on pretty easily. I'd rather it had more 'tooth' and grabbed the lashes more quickly, because as it is, a couple of passes are necessary before you get any significant buildup.

It doesn't seem to smudge or flake, but on the whole, I much prefer my old favorite, Maybelline's Waterproof Full 'N Soft in Black. It's superior in every way, from ease of application, to brush size and separation, to endurance.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/12/2011 9:55:00 PM More reviews by ak0703

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

The colorful packaging sucked me in...and I REALLY did want to love this mascara, but unfortunately it didn't work out. Like other reviewers have said it clumped pretty badly and gave a spider lash effect. Maybe next time, Maybelline.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/11/2011 8:05:00 PM More reviews by alainlalaland

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Good job, Maybelline! I have the non-waterproof black/brown. I have fairly long lashes, but they aren't thick or dark. This mascara makes my lashes fluttery and not clumpy at all. Two coats provides pretty volume and lasts ALL DAY. Added bonus- the color actually makes my eyes look bluer. SCORE. I really hope they never discontinue this. I've tried literally every other Maybelline mascara out there right now and this one is the best!

Is this review helpful? Yes No