September 30, 2014 | 1703 users online

Eye Shadow - MAC - Paint Pot in Painterly

rated 4.3(953 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 82% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 5/4/2010 11:15:00 PM More reviews by ppinkrroses

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I'm loving paint pots! They are amazing! I got Bare Study a while ago and it works great for me, but sometimes I want a more matte look and Bare Study has shimmer in it. Painterly works great for me. It matches my skin tone, covers up imperfections on my eyelinds, helps my eyeshadows last longer without creasing, and makes eyeshadow colors more vibrant. Will definltly keep repurchasing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/4/2010 11:47:00 AM More reviews by botitas1977

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

AHH I cant believe I never bought this. I used it and it works AMAZING. I put a drugstore eyeshadow on and it looked like a dept store e.s Last night I washed my face and this didnt come off. After I washed 2 times. I had to take this off w a makeup remover which means the staying power is GREAT! I use a concealer brush for this. I dont put too much.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/3/2010 10:07:00 PM More reviews by waazzup

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

i really like this because it covers everything on my lids and creates a nice bare canvas, but it is a little drying and cakey. it does keep the shadows from budging and creasing though

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/3/2010 4:36:00 PM More reviews by kristinq

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

II know a lot of people like this product and I was so ready to love it but I really don't.

I was hoping that it would be a nice product that I could wear alone that would brighten up my eyes but it is a bit too dark for my skin tone to do that. So I though I could use it as a base. I have heard raves about this product as a base so I assumed it would work pretty well. Not so much. I put on a thin layer of painterly then lightly dust with my other shadows and those shadows look cakey. I can't put a thin enough layer of this paint pot so that it doesn't look cakey. It also feels pretty heavy and attaches itself to any dryness on my eye looking flaky. To top it off this stuff creases.

I've used other cream shadows from benefit and TheBalm (which sadly I believe are discontinued) which work wonders and leave a very nice finish. I am disappointed by Mac's cream shadows. I won't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/3/2010 4:05:00 PM More reviews by xxxklcandy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

If I could give this ten stars I would. I wear this everyday under all eyeshadows as a base. I never have creasing, and fading is minimal. Perfect shade for my fair skintone. I will never wear eyeshadow without this again. A must have from MAC, works with everything, and even alone. You have to screw the lid on really tight or the product will dry out as it is creamy, which is my only problem with the packaging. I love you, Painterly.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/2/2010 1:58:00 PM More reviews by aglitz915

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Not on this particular one for me but (Delft) the cap keeps coming loose, like unscrewing part way which is annoying but what can you do? That being said, I really like Painterly and nothing is perfect. The consistency is creamy and this glides on well both with fingertips or a brush. I love the color because it is almost devoid of color, a true nude base to provide an even and rich canvas for your shadows. This helps to avoid creasing and gives your shadow staying power and a bit of a more complex hue that's truer to the e/s pan. I love using this and would recommend to anyone, a little goes a long way and the small jar will last you quite a while so long as you don't get a rogue loose cap that you have to babysit!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/1/2010 11:33:00 PM More reviews by Therealslayergrrl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I use this every day on top of UDPP to even out my lids. My eyeshadow does not budge at all. No creasing or fading. It will stay like that until I wash everything off. 12 to 18 hours. MAC PP's are the best.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/1/2010 11:27:00 PM More reviews by canadiangirl7861

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

good staple to have in collection. I use mine everyday to prime my lids and i do not experience any creasing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/30/2010 1:25:00 AM More reviews by MakeUp_0507

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love the color of this paint pot but on my skin (NC25-NC30) it shows up a bit pink. I also have this in soft ochre which matches my skin better. MAC paint pot is a very generous size product and even with everyday use, it will still take a while before the pot is empty. The price is $16.50 and well worth it cause there's a lot of product in the pot. It can be a bit drying but with a primer it helps blend easily. I also use this on my lips instead of concealer, and let me tell you, this stuff makes lipstick and lipgloss last longer. It mutes very pigmented lips and is great as a base for lipsticks that are too dark.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/30/2010 12:36:00 AM More reviews by curlywurly89

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I own 4 paint pots and painterly is one of my favourites after bare study. It looks very boring in the little pot; it almost looks like a concealor. However this makes a great eyeshadow primer for medium skinned toned ladies. It will really intensify any eyeshadow and give it a boost. Ironically i have very dry skins but very oily lids. Even when i wear painterly i get creasing within 5 hours of application. I do feel it's a lot creamier than bare study and rubenesque, but not enough to remain tacky. Overall is a pretty decent primer, especially for poeple who don't have very oily lids.

Is this review helpful? Yes No