September 2, 2014 | 2008 users online

Eye Shadow - MAC - Paint Pot in Painterly

rated 4.3(948 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 81% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 5/29/2010 6:02:00 AM More reviews by latinabeautyy

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I LOVEEE Painterly Paint Pot! this is such a good product i use this as an eyeprimer under my eyeshadows and it makes my eyeshadow last alll day long. What i like is that it makes sure that my eyeshadows do not crease! Excellent eyeprimer it easily blends, it holds any eyeshadow well, and i love that the color is almost universal ! you dont see it any way, but i absolutely adore this product . I would Definitelly 100% buy this again!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/28/2010 5:49:00 PM More reviews by murflegirl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I can't believe I've been using Painterly paint pot every day for more than a year and I haven't properly reviewed it! This is one of my must-haves from MAC. It's a slightly cool-toned neutral beige shadow that just blends effortlessly into my NW20 skintone. I use this just by itself sometimes for a more awake, put-together look. Painterly, mascara, and lipgloss. I also use it as a base and get great color payoff and staying power from my shadows. It doesn't crease on me, and it seems pretty sweat-proof. I'm really impressed with the paint pot formula. I was at first a bit worried about bacteria on my fingers getting into the pot repeatedly as I used it with my fingers, but a good stiff brush like the MAC 242 or 252 quickly solved that problem for me. Will repurchase again and again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/26/2010 9:24:00 AM More reviews by Marybeth818

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is by far the best eye shadow I have ever used. I have never had a whole lot of luck with eye shadow because I haven't really seen the use of it. I love colors and so am drawn to them, but they don't enhance my beauty in any way. For one thing, I wear glasses. Anyway, I got this because I had started to experiment a little with eye shadow again, and I knew it could be used as either an eye shadow or a base. Well, I immediately started using it everyday. I guess it is like a concealer for the eyelids but the color, though extremely subtle, is beautiful and I feel more done. Unlike concealer, though, it applies extremely easily and stays put all day. I guess I am a minimalist... I wear serum, sunscreen, concealer, painterly, powder, blush, and lipstick and I feel great. If I do wear an eyeshadow, I go on and put this under it, but I usually wear it by itself. I showed it to my Mom and she asked what was the use of wearing skin-colored eye shadow? She asked whether it made me feel beautiful, and I said yes, and she said she guesses it was worth it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/26/2010 8:52:00 AM More reviews by bluestarjcf

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this product. It really makes your eye shadow last a really long time. It is a bit too yellow for my skin tone, but I would definately buy it again as a primer or just for some colour on my lids.

Edit: About a year later
I haven't used this product in a while and when I went back to try and use it, I found it all dried up! The packing definitely doesn't help to preserve the paintpoint. I don't know if this happens to other people but I don't think I'll be buying another paintpot from MAC if this happens again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/22/2010 7:59:00 PM More reviews by Bambie_Blonde

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Other Eyes: Green

This is an amazing product. For the longest time, I was using Maybelline's Dream Matte Mousse foundation as an eyeshadow base- it worked great, however I found that after awhile and getting a job outside- it started to slightly dry out my lids...also I could never use it for under my waterline. After seeing so many reviews on this on Youtube and blogs, I decided I would try Painterly. I was initially going got get Soft Ochre, since I range in NC tones- however the skin around my lids and crease etc... is more pink/neutral so I decided to opt for this (also yellow bases about my eyes give my E/S a sallow look) .....I applied a little bit of this above my lids and it does dry a little quick, so its good to blend right away. My eyeshadow adhered to this great, and after a long 9 hour day my eyeshadow did not crease one bit. I'm super happy I purchased this, the jar will last ages- and the product is versatile! I love using this as a lip base, it erases my lips and lets me rock nude pink looks without any of my lipgloss or lipstick settling into the lines on my lips.... (I asked a MAC SA if this was lip safe, and she said it would be no issue- as long as you don't ingest it lol)...Painterly is a must in anyone's Makeup kit :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/20/2010 7:39:00 PM More reviews by AndieHeartsMAC

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I know this has worked for many, many people, but this does not work at all for me. I have oily, hooded lids. When I use this as a base, after 8 hours, all my eyeshadow has migrated into my crease with nothing left on the lid. Not a good look. It fairs better if I use it over UDPP, but I don't see the point. I have other paint pots I like because of the color, and thus I wear over a primer. This is nearly the exact color of my skin; if I can't use it for a base, it is really of no use to me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/18/2010 7:18:00 PM More reviews by xxaceswildxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I use this almost everyday as my eyeshadow base and I love it. First paint pot I purchased. Made me want to buy more of them. This one is very similar to my natural skin tone (NW20) so it blends well with me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/15/2010 6:23:00 PM More reviews by demcgaby

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Been using this Paint Pot everyday since I got it as a base, having oily skin in a very humid place makes me eyeshadow stay and stay... Love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/11/2010 6:40:00 PM More reviews by Lux77

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this product, I use my shadow primer and then this over it and my shadow last all day and night, I never wear shadow with out this, and it matches my skin perfectly.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/10/2010 2:55:00 PM More reviews by greatglamdc

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Always a great base on light complexions. Also gives my cream and powder eyeshadows staying powder.

Is this review helpful? Yes No