July 29, 2014 | 1900 users online

Eye Shadow - MAC - Paint Pot in Painterly

rated 4.3(944 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 81% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/22/2010 7:59:00 PM More reviews by Bambie_Blonde

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Other Eyes: Green

This is an amazing product. For the longest time, I was using Maybelline's Dream Matte Mousse foundation as an eyeshadow base- it worked great, however I found that after awhile and getting a job outside- it started to slightly dry out my lids...also I could never use it for under my waterline. After seeing so many reviews on this on Youtube and blogs, I decided I would try Painterly. I was initially going got get Soft Ochre, since I range in NC tones- however the skin around my lids and crease etc... is more pink/neutral so I decided to opt for this (also yellow bases about my eyes give my E/S a sallow look) .....I applied a little bit of this above my lids and it does dry a little quick, so its good to blend right away. My eyeshadow adhered to this great, and after a long 9 hour day my eyeshadow did not crease one bit. I'm super happy I purchased this, the jar will last ages- and the product is versatile! I love using this as a lip base, it erases my lips and lets me rock nude pink looks without any of my lipgloss or lipstick settling into the lines on my lips.... (I asked a MAC SA if this was lip safe, and she said it would be no issue- as long as you don't ingest it lol)...Painterly is a must in anyone's Makeup kit :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/20/2010 7:39:00 PM More reviews by AndieHeartsMAC

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I know this has worked for many, many people, but this does not work at all for me. I have oily, hooded lids. When I use this as a base, after 8 hours, all my eyeshadow has migrated into my crease with nothing left on the lid. Not a good look. It fairs better if I use it over UDPP, but I don't see the point. I have other paint pots I like because of the color, and thus I wear over a primer. This is nearly the exact color of my skin; if I can't use it for a base, it is really of no use to me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/18/2010 7:18:00 PM More reviews by xxaceswildxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I use this almost everyday as my eyeshadow base and I love it. First paint pot I purchased. Made me want to buy more of them. This one is very similar to my natural skin tone (NW20) so it blends well with me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/15/2010 6:23:00 PM More reviews by demcgaby

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Been using this Paint Pot everyday since I got it as a base, having oily skin in a very humid place makes me eyeshadow stay and stay... Love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/11/2010 6:40:00 PM More reviews by Lux77

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this product, I use my shadow primer and then this over it and my shadow last all day and night, I never wear shadow with out this, and it matches my skin perfectly.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/10/2010 2:55:00 PM More reviews by greatglamdc

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Always a great base on light complexions. Also gives my cream and powder eyeshadows staying powder.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/8/2010 12:14:00 AM More reviews by MIJA_97

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I like this paint pot as a base for eyeshadows...it helps even out the discoloration on my eyelids too...love this color!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/7/2010 1:51:00 PM More reviews by RyoRyoChiwa

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

LOVE this product. It matches my skin tone perfectly and is great when using browns and neutrals. I was glad to finally find this after having such horrible luck with UDPP as a base. I also like that I can take it all the way up to eyebrows and that it can be worn without any make up if I want to hide the small veins in my eyelids.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/6/2010 10:17:00 PM More reviews by heyimcortney

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I swear by this product! For a long time I used no base when I put on eyeshadow but once I discovered this I can't live without it! My eyeshadows last all day on top of this and it provides a nice matte look. It also blends nicely with other colors and paintpots on top of it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/5/2010 3:59:00 PM More reviews by caitlyncrafts

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I really wanted to like this product, because I loved the color on my eyelids and I know some people just wear Painterly without any eyeshadow. However, it just didn't work for me because it made my eyelids look super wrinkly and dry, as if there was a ton of product on it. This happened even when I tried using very little product and when I tried it over Urban Decay's Primer Potion and Too Faced Shadow Insurance. It was as if the paint pot exaggerated every bad aspect of my eyelids. Sadly, I had to return it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No