July 31, 2014 | 1804 users online

Liquid - MAC - Face and Body Foundation

rated 4.0(1072 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/9/2011 6:42:00 AM More reviews by daintydancer

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Every make up artist uses this product. I LOVE IT, its NOT FOR EVERYONE, it does not cover you need a concealer also,its light and even out tones,it blends well, is superb for summer, or sunny vacations.
natural look>I blend this with other foundations that offer more coverage I dilute with face and body. blend nice with strobe cream.I use the darker colours on legs and body, it blends better than spray tan.
only negative, its it does not last long in the bottle and will separate.Its also good for more mature skin as it does not creep into crows feet etc

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/8/2011 9:42:00 PM More reviews by nati777

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

Love love loove this! I apply it with my hands, and let it set for about minutes before going any further. It wears really well on me and gives me really good natural coverage. If you're looking for full coverage you've come to the wrong place, but this stuff is great for natural coverage. I wear this in C6. I think it did get a little darker, but it hasn't affected me at all. It still works fine when I put it on. I wear the mufe hd powder on top and love it! It gets kinda messy when you shake it up, but if you just put your finger over the opening and then shake, it won't get everywhere. Even with the cap on it gets messy. But I think I'll be buying this foundation again when I run out. It's sheer enough that I can wear it all year long even though my skin tone changes. I just put on two layers when I get a little darker. Oh and it's great in pictures and you get soooo much for your money. It's totally worth it in my opinion!! Try it out! If you don't like it just return it. It definitely deserves a chance though!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/5/2011 10:21:00 AM More reviews by CherryKissesxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I am in love with how this foundation makes my skin look. Thank you MUA i read through every single review before finally deciding to buy this product. I get so many compliments from men and women on how my skin looks. It makes skin look fresh, dewy, supple and healthy. I must admit i had problems getting used to the application and wear of this foundation, and still havenít mastered it yet, but i am sticking with this. Now i have to disagree with people who say this is only for people with normal/perfect skin. My skin is far from perfect i have a lot of discoloration and acne marks and this works fine. I was used to a fuller coverage then this foundation but i fell in love with how comfortable i was when wearing it. Even though i have problematic skin, using F&B made my skin look so healthy and natural, and even with a few imperfections showing it didnít bother me as much because my skin still looked radiant.
It took me a good few weeks to get the right primer and powder combination. And i also find that i have to really rub this in like a moisturiser for it to really set. If i tap this into my skin i will end up looking like a greasy mess. Other than that there is no way you can go wrong when applying this foundation, i feel like it is fool proof especially if you use your fingers. This spreads and blends like a dream.
Another massive plus is how well this matches my skin. I hate looking like i am wearing foundation and like everyone says this looks like you are not wearing anything YSBB. I wear shade C5.
Now with cons: Even though i use a primer, rub F&B into my skin and apply powder on top, this still has a tendency to look a little greasy by the end of the day. To me it is bearable and can add to the glowyness of your skin but if i donít blot around half way through the day then i start looking like you could fry up some eggs on my face. Also this is not that long wearing for me. I am out of the house for 12 hours on a work day and i will need to touch up without fail. I have also noticed that the foundation gets a bit darker in the bottle after a while, which is a little annoying because you get so much. After reading reviews i have taken the advice of some of the lovely ladies on here and i pour some into a small travel sized bottle and keep the bigger bottle in the fridge.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/4/2011 6:25:00 PM More reviews by twestla

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

So, after tons of research, and after spending $40+ on Estee Lauder Lucidity and being underwhelmed - I decided to bite the bullet and try this one on for size. At 41, I realized wearing foundation like I used to in my late 20's no longer was working for me. So I wanted something lighter, and somewhat dewy - with out looking OILY. I bought this on the weekend, and loved it, but decided until today to write the review to see if it would pass the "All day at work test" and it did! My routine is as follows: 2 layers of F&B over my Estee Lauder Daywear. the second layer I use a brush, in areas that need extra coverage. Then I use Lancomen Effacernes concealer, Smashbox cream blush, a touch of Moon Beam highligher then top of with the tiniest bit of MUFE HD finishing powder. You know it's good, when your husband comments on it!!!!! I no longer have that powdery, crepey look to my skin. It took some getting used to, as I am used to a more matte, heavier coverage, but I have to say ladies.....(especially us "mature"ones) lighter and natural is the youthful way to go. I have never said this before about a cosmetic............but this is truly my HG!!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/30/2011 2:22:00 PM More reviews by janicedgonzales

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This was an okay foundation for me. I liked the coverage and all but I found that it oxidized over time. I really wish it hadn't just because it was the perfect color match. I bought this at a mac sale and only got a couple months wear out it before I noticed the change in color. Not quite sure the reason why it oxidized but it sucks because I have so much left:(

PS. It oxidized in the bottle not on my skin after applying it. I also store my make up in a drawer so it might have been an old bottle that I bought.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/24/2011 11:00:00 PM More reviews by yourmakeupgal

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I love, LOVE F&B Foundation!!!! It works great for most skin types but I think it looks best on dry - normal skin. It's water based and has a natural finish. Once the makeup sets, it is waterproof and doesn't budge. I wear F&B and hardly ever need touch-ups throughout the day. And I've never once had a breakout due to this foundation. F&B is great for adding colour to the body (without tanning) such as on the arms and legs. The formula is buildable so you can use just what is needed where it is needed which leads to the most natural look. F&B is best applied with a short fibre foundation brush (MAC #190) or a round blush brush (MAC #109). These are best for buffing the makeup into the skin, especially when there is some texture to be dealt with. I like to work a little concealer into F&B and use around the nose area for maximum coverage and longevity. I've noticed F&B also seems to increase hydration in the skin and make skin appear more supple (especially when properly moisturized first).

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/22/2011 4:32:00 PM More reviews by megjane

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Green

**Update**

After trying to work with F&B for a little bit I've discovered that I actually keep coming back to it for certain things. It's still not a good overall foundation, because the coverage isn't full enough for me.

I use it on the bags under eyes because it's so thin it doesn't crease up or look super unnatural. It doesn't look white under my eyes in flash photography. I apply it over concealer on pimples to make it the coverage last longer and to make it more smooth/natural. I love using it to cover up the redness around my nose, it covers my pores and never makes that area look dry. Also, if I know that I'm going to have flash photos taken, I'll apply a really thin layer over my regular foundation.

So weird, but I'm kind of starting to love F&B.

**Original Review**
Girls who are trying to get fuller coverage out of F&B might find my review useful...

For reference, I'm very fair with yellow undertones. I have a lot of redness on my cheeks, dark circles and a little bit of acne to cover. I got this in C1 and it's a very good match for my skin color. I find that the yellow helps to even out my redness. I normally use Colorstay in Buff.

I bought this based on the positive MUA and makeup blog reviews. I didn't like the fact that my Colorstay has such a full matte coverage. I have pretty dry skin so I thought that I would look good in a more dewy finish. I'm super disappointed, but I have to admit to myself that I do not like MAC face and body! I knew going into this that it was going to be a lighter coverage but I have been really unhappy with it even as light around the house makeup.

I tried two methods of application: a F80 sigma brush and my fingers. I found the best way to apply was to use my fingers and pat the foundation down rather than spread it.

PROS:

-Great package design. The squeeze bottle makes it very easy to get out the right amount of foundation. Considering it has a very runny consistency, I can't imagine any other bottle really working.

-Good color match. The foundation is quite sheer, and therefor very forgiving. I can only really speak for my extremely fair skin, but I thought it was a good match for me.

-Looks great in flash photography (unlike my old standby Colorstay). I agree with everyone here about that! No ghostly white cast - just dewy, healthy looking skin. It looks like I am not wearing any make up!

CONS:

- The coverage sucks. It just wasn't enough. Some reviewers have said that this foundation is buildable to maybe a medium coverage. I disagree. I thought that I could do a thin coat, let that dry for a few minutes and then do another thin coat. This method did not cover very well and left me feeling like I had a lot of make up on my face. The second layer also started to make it look mask-like which is annoying considering I wasn't even getting great coverage. I also tried to do just one thicker layer rather than two thin layers. That looked fake too. It's like: "you can tell I'm wearing tons of make up but my skin still looks like crap". Frustrating!

- The texture and finish are pretty terrible. I could get over the fact that the coverage is not great if it dried nicely. This wasn't the case. Basically it just sits on top of my face and feels very moist to the touch all day long. The first time after I applied it I waited and waited for it to get dry so I could set it with powder but it never really fully dried. It's so soft and slidey that it built up in my smile lines and on my forehead. On top of that, it rubs off on everything! My phone, my husband, my clothes. I tried all different kind of combinations to get this to work: Primer, no primer. Moisturizer, no moisturizer. Powder, no powder. I tried just one thin layer to see if I was just putting it on too thick, nope same thing.. When wearing this, I was afraid to touch my face at all for fear of messing up my makeup. I also noticed that by the end of the day it was starting to separate into little blotches and dots on my cheeks. I have never experienced this before with a foundation! I guess this is what everyone calls "patchy". I was surprised to hear that people use this for a summer foundation. I really don't like the combination of sunscreen under F&B because it is too moist already and the sunscreen just exaggerates that.

In conclusion...

The best thing I found was to use a combination of colorstay and F&B. However, I found myself using more and more colorstay...so I'd say that if I am going for a more natural, dewy look I could just ditch the F&B and use a little bit more moisturizer and less Colorstay! This product is useless to me :(

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/21/2011 7:11:00 PM More reviews by KMSA

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is an old favourite - gives a beautiful finish, and you can build it up where needed. Better when used with a brush. I often use it in conjunction with a heavier foundation on my T zone. Perfect for people who need more than a tinted moisturiser, but want less than a full foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/19/2011 4:05:00 PM More reviews by jenifa305

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I origanily bought this product because i am in a what i would call a ''TIGHT BUDGET'' and it is alot of product for the money ...but now i find this product has a very sheer finish.I find this product does not provide full coverage it mostly gives a medium light coverage i dont want to say , but i dont have a single flaw in my skin, with that said i dont think this product will be helpfull for those with minimul acne i suggest a stronger foundation.Also, this product i find is very watery .If you already bought this product and don't know what to do with it you can mix it with a stronger foundation (it mixes beautifully) to get a sheer and great coverage save money and get more foundation.This product is very long lasting.Overal i find it works very well for me and my skin type. :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/11/2011 1:25:00 PM More reviews by Pepelyashka

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I started using this product 2 weeks ago and I love it, it has a natural finish and is long-lasting. I use C2 or C3 and top with MAC Blot Powder in Medium because all other powders oxidize on my face, and I love the veil it covers the face with. The smell is weird at first, but you get used to it pretty quickly, and so far I haven't experienced problems with stickiness or blending as some other users have- I apply it with 187, stipple and then swirl and it blends beautifully and seamlessly. When not primed, my forehead and nose get shiny on about 4-5 hours(oily T zone), but when I use Prep&Prime primer it stays perfect for over 10 hours, with a very slight sheen on the T zone, without blotting or doing absolutely anything. I love how buildable the coverage is, yet I have fairly clear skins without severe imperfections so I can't tell how it would look on acne for example. Great product for a great price, practical packaging, would definitely buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No