August 23, 2014 | 1098 users online

Liquid - MAC - Face and Body Foundation

rated 4.0(1079 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 4/24/2011 6:56:00 PM More reviews by CassidyKatelyn

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I thought, being that this is probably one of the lightest MAC foundations that it wouldn't break out my skin. But, it did. It sent me on a 3-4 month process of getting rid of acne/skin irritation between my eyebrows. In general, I steer clear of MAC foundations for my "moody" skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/23/2011 6:23:00 PM More reviews by wonderdreamz

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown


this foundation has to be one of the weirdest foundations i have tried.

CONS:
-the finish feels waxy and i dont like that
-even though it has no spf, in pictures it still gives u a mask like effect
-BROKE ME OUT but not horribly. I don't even break out normally, so if you do break out easily STAY AWAY
-5 color ranges
-can look orange

PROS:
-water based

actually i can't say anything good about this foundation

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/20/2011 12:28:00 AM More reviews by marissa1111111111

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

The only reason I tried this foundation was because it is only one of two foundations that MAC carries in C3. I had read that it only gives light coverage and is comparable to a tinted moisturizer but I think that is completely wrong! Two layers of this and I cover everything I need (mostly dark acne scars) and what isn't covered gets taken care of with Studio Finish concealer. The consistency is very liquid-y and once on your face it doesn't dry very fast, I usually still have a glossy sheen for a minute or two before it dries. I apply with either my fingers or the beautyblender (which I adore). I have combination skin and sometimes this leaves me oily after a few hours but then again, I don't set with powder. If you have only skin, I wouldn't recommend. Doesn't get cakey or feel heavy at all!! I def suggest this id you're new to MAC foundations since it is the least heavy. Also, this didn't break me out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/15/2011 3:41:00 PM More reviews by tricyclesinskirts

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I walked into the pro store with every intention of purchasing PLW fdtn, given my love for the concealer. A brief chat with the SA lead me to F&B in N2, a perfect match for my decidedly NW20 skintone. I haven't purchased a liquid foundation in years, and this one is a very nice compromise for women who don't want a heavy coverage. It's exceedingly easy to apply--I warm it up for a couple seconds between my fingers, then use my fingers to apply it to my face, as per the recommendation of the MAC SA. the finish is flawless, dewy, like I the skin I wish I had. I use an ecotools bronzer brush to apply cargo blu-ray HD powder to set it, and the whole process probably takes about 5 minutes. As a side note, I do use PLW concealer on some minor scars, and find that it works very well with F&B. I have combo acne-prone skin, and haven't experienced any breakouts in the two weeks ive used it.

At $32.50 for the massive 4 oz container, I will absolutely be repurchasing when I run out...it's one of MAC's best bargains.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/12/2011 12:01:00 PM More reviews by Boa_Elva

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I just purchase this item yesterday at mac store. I was totally amazed how well it worked. I mix with my boots no7 illuminating lotion. My face is glowy. Ppl praise how my complexion glow and i have good complexion(which obviously not). And this foundation def not cakey or thick at all unlike studio sculpt which is TOTALLY like some mask like foundation which disappoint me like shit. The concealer was good though.

This is really suitable for television, photography esp for men. just have to apply this F&B fdn, concealer and prep+prime translucent powder it looked really HD imo. try it. i took photos with this fdn on, looking damn smooth and glowy! no kidding!

EDIT
i purchase again on 06.11.12 as my previous one seperated. This time rd i bought mac small bottle and place it in the 120ml i will leave it inside fridge to keep its products longevity. After so much tinted moisturizer i have use. i still goes back to this. Condition skin very well, moisturize well, giving dewy effect well. This is by far the best! But, it is so under rated. more rated please!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/11/2011 1:06:00 PM More reviews by SChiara

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

This is my favourite foundation and makes my skin looks absolutely flawless. It's pretty different from other foundations that I've tried.
-----------------------
PROS:
- Almost undetectible on the skin. It gives a very skin-like natural finish. It doesn't mask your skin, but does enhance it. For example, I have redness in my cheeks (which is the my main reason for wearing foundation). Face & Body doesn't make my face one uniform flat colour, but it does reduce the redness considerably. No complete coverage (which looks unnatural in my opinion), it just makes your natural skin look prettier.
- Makes the skin look luminous - not shiny or glittery.
- It doesn't budge once it's dry. Seriously - when I look in the mirror after wearing it all day (work/uni/gym/whatever) it still looks good.
- This is the first foundation where I don't need to wear powder. Any other foundation fades on me during the day; not this one. NO POWDER, how amazing! I hate wearing powder over foundation as it always looks cakey on me (I have normal to dry skin).
- You get a lot in the packaging (but because it's more watery you also use more than you would with a normal foundation)
- Almost anyone will find a colourmatch, I think. I wear C2 but could get away with C1 as well. Perhaps even C3. I would always stick with the C colours because they have yellow in them and my face is pretty pink toned compared to my body. Also, shade C2 is actually a little dark for my face. But since my face is a slightly lighter than my body, it makes it so my face matches my neck/chest better.
- It's easy to layer this foundation once the first layer is dry. I just add a little bit more on my cheeks sometimes (in the evening when I'm going out for example)
---------------------------
CONS:
- The consistency takes some getting used to. It's watery and takes a little longer to blend. (not really a con since it took me about two applications to get used to it, but hell, gotta add some cons right?)
- Supposedly it goed bad pretty fast? I've only been using this foundation for 2 months though, so I haven't experienced this.
--------------------------
What else can I say? This foundation just makes your skin look really good. In the Mac store they said they called it 'the Beautifier' - it makes your skin look better.
This foundation is definetly a sheer to medium one. In my opinion anyone can wear a sheerer foundation. Even if you've got redness like me, or blemishes. It's layerable so you can add a little more where you need it. Or you can just use a concealer on the blemishes/discolourations you need to cover.
---
To sum it up: Mac Face & Body enhances your natural skin with sheer to medium (buildable) coverage. It lasts all day without the need to use powder (unless you need oil control I suppose), and looks like you've got nothing on. I'm definetly a fan!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/11/2011 4:37:00 AM More reviews by Harley09

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I purchased this after reading reviews, I wanted sheer to medium coverage, something to even out my skintone yet still look natural and preferably unscented. I had previously been using Revlon Colorstay which I did not like, the coverage was mask-like and the smell was distracting. I found what I was looking for with this foundation. This foundation is sheer but buildable however not buildable past medium coverage. It does need to be shaken up to get it ready for use and after I use my fingers to apply it then follow up with a stippling brush to ensure it is buffed in evenly onto my skin. I use N2 which is a great match for my skintone, I also dust Mac's Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Light Medium to reduce shine in my t-zone. What really sold me on this product is when the lovely MA applied it to my face my friend went "wow" and commented how much it improved my complexion since I have red cheeks and some uneven patches along my jawline under my cheeks. For concealing acne scars or blemishes I would recommend going over with a concealer which is what I plan on doing. Also in regards to making it last, my house is still cold this time of year so I keep it in my bathroom but once it begins to warm up I probably will store it in the fridge just to be on the safe side. I purchased this for $32.50 which is pretty good for 4oz of product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/9/2011 6:42:00 AM More reviews by daintydancer

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Every make up artist uses this product. I LOVE IT, its NOT FOR EVERYONE, it does not cover you need a concealer also,its light and even out tones,it blends well, is superb for summer, or sunny vacations.
natural look>I blend this with other foundations that offer more coverage I dilute with face and body. blend nice with strobe cream.I use the darker colours on legs and body, it blends better than spray tan.
only negative, its it does not last long in the bottle and will separate.Its also good for more mature skin as it does not creep into crows feet etc

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/8/2011 9:42:00 PM More reviews by nati777

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

Love love loove this! I apply it with my hands, and let it set for about minutes before going any further. It wears really well on me and gives me really good natural coverage. If you're looking for full coverage you've come to the wrong place, but this stuff is great for natural coverage. I wear this in C6. I think it did get a little darker, but it hasn't affected me at all. It still works fine when I put it on. I wear the mufe hd powder on top and love it! It gets kinda messy when you shake it up, but if you just put your finger over the opening and then shake, it won't get everywhere. Even with the cap on it gets messy. But I think I'll be buying this foundation again when I run out. It's sheer enough that I can wear it all year long even though my skin tone changes. I just put on two layers when I get a little darker. Oh and it's great in pictures and you get soooo much for your money. It's totally worth it in my opinion!! Try it out! If you don't like it just return it. It definitely deserves a chance though!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/5/2011 10:21:00 AM More reviews by CherryKissesxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I am in love with how this foundation makes my skin look. Thank you MUA i read through every single review before finally deciding to buy this product. I get so many compliments from men and women on how my skin looks. It makes skin look fresh, dewy, supple and healthy. I must admit i had problems getting used to the application and wear of this foundation, and still havenít mastered it yet, but i am sticking with this. Now i have to disagree with people who say this is only for people with normal/perfect skin. My skin is far from perfect i have a lot of discoloration and acne marks and this works fine. I was used to a fuller coverage then this foundation but i fell in love with how comfortable i was when wearing it. Even though i have problematic skin, using F&B made my skin look so healthy and natural, and even with a few imperfections showing it didnít bother me as much because my skin still looked radiant.
It took me a good few weeks to get the right primer and powder combination. And i also find that i have to really rub this in like a moisturiser for it to really set. If i tap this into my skin i will end up looking like a greasy mess. Other than that there is no way you can go wrong when applying this foundation, i feel like it is fool proof especially if you use your fingers. This spreads and blends like a dream.
Another massive plus is how well this matches my skin. I hate looking like i am wearing foundation and like everyone says this looks like you are not wearing anything YSBB. I wear shade C5.
Now with cons: Even though i use a primer, rub F&B into my skin and apply powder on top, this still has a tendency to look a little greasy by the end of the day. To me it is bearable and can add to the glowyness of your skin but if i donít blot around half way through the day then i start looking like you could fry up some eggs on my face. Also this is not that long wearing for me. I am out of the house for 12 hours on a work day and i will need to touch up without fail. I have also noticed that the foundation gets a bit darker in the bottle after a while, which is a little annoying because you get so much. After reading reviews i have taken the advice of some of the lovely ladies on here and i pour some into a small travel sized bottle and keep the bigger bottle in the fridge.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No