October 20, 2014 | 1067 users online

Cleansers - Neutrogena - Oil-Free Acne Wash

rated 2.8(913 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.8
  • 44% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 7/28/2008 10:47:00 PM More reviews by AlanaBanana6

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is my HG cleanser. It was reccommended by my derm, and at first I hated it. It dried out my skin and seemed to break out more. When I questioned her about it, she told me to give it a few more weeks and that my skin was probably just adjusting (I am also on rx Benzaclin-which I LOVE.) She was right, and within a matter of about 3 weeks I saw major improvement in my skin. It feels so clean and fresh, and removes all make-up (although I don't reccommend using it for eye make-up as it does sting if you get it in your eyes.) At first the scent bothered me a bit too, but now I actually like it..kind of weird! The only annoying thing about it is the packaging...it has a pump top and no matter how many times I try to "lock it" it seems to re-open in my suitcase or bag. Now when I travel, I either put some in a travel size bottle or just put it in a small zip-lock bag to prevent leaking.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/28/2008 10:42:00 PM More reviews by N123

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I really like this cleanser. Given, I don't have acne, so I really just use it to prevent the occasional pimple, which it does work pretty well. It doesn't dry out my skin, and I don't love the smell, but it doesn't last on your skin or anything.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/28/2008 8:54:00 AM More reviews by maxlightmusic

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Kinky, Other Eyes: Brown

Dried out my skin until it cracked and peeled.
Horrible, over-whelming smell.
Made my eyes water just by the smell.
Didn't do anything to my acne.
Probably made it worse, I hate this product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/28/2008 12:29:00 AM More reviews by drummagirl65

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This cleanser works really well for me. My skin feels so clean and soft after using it. I don't have any residue on my face afterwards, and it doesn't dry it out. It doesn't seem to have a huge effect on my acne though, maybe just clearing it up a little from dirt and whatever else accumulates on my face daily that would worsen it or cause small pimples. It lasts a long time because I find that half a pump is all I need each time I use it. Overall it is a great cleanser, just not the best acne product. I would definitely buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/4/2008 1:18:00 AM More reviews by MAS520

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was not expecting much from this cleanser, and I was surprised! It helped purge a lot of my clogged pores and it helped smooth out my skin. I used this cleanser 2x a day with PTR's clarifying glycolic at night. I was so excited to see that it was working, but after a couple of weeks, it totally dried out my skin. It have an oily t-zone with normal cheeks (combo skin), so it might have been the fact that I was using AHAs in combo with the 2% salicylic acid found in this wash. It was just too drying and harsh for my skin. Too bad, I was starting to think this could have been my HG cleanser. If anyone knows a good cleanser for combo skin with clogged pores and some white heads let me know!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/3/2008 1:25:00 AM More reviews by civicbabe627

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This product has dried out my skin so bad!
I haven't noticed a difference in my zits... I don't get many, but using this hasn't made them any less frequent.
I won't be buying this product again, just too harsh for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/1/2008 4:29:00 PM More reviews by KellyAnne8

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Too harsh for my skin. Very apparent medicine-y smell.

When I had horrible skin in my teens this might have worked well, but as a 25 year old with changing combination skin (read: aging process has started) this stripped my skin and changed the texture to rough and red. Not quite sure of my impetus behind this purchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/28/2008 3:10:00 AM More reviews by justfornow

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I'm on my second bottle. This stuff is just...WOW. It may be slightly drying but it has made miracles for me..even though it took a while to realize. Well I purchased this cleanser last year and took it with me overseas to the hottest place in the world-literally. And I had hardly a single breakout there while using this stuff for a month. Maybe just 2 pimples..which is crazy considering I'm no stranger to huge breakouts. And naturally you would tend to breakout in high, humid temperatures. I honestly owe it to this stuff. Upon returning to Canada I stopped using this cleanser and...this school year experienced some pretty horrible breakouts. So I decided to go back to something simple: Neutrogena Oil Free Acne Wash, and once again my skin is doing better than ever before.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 6/23/2008 9:58:00 PM More reviews by icytiger8888

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

UGH, I really wasn't a fan of this cleanser when I was using it.
It did an OKAY job, but nothing great, I never noticed a DECREASE...or INCREASE of the amount of pimples/breakouts that I had, although now that I think about it, some of the worse break outs and other skin problems I got were while I was using this product....

personally, it did nothing for me. and I wont be buying it again.

and someone stated that the bottle lasts up to 6 monthes....mine lasted me about a month and a half...2 at the most.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/15/2008 1:56:00 PM More reviews by TropicalyFrozen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

It did a really good job cleaning my face and did not break me out, but it dried out my face really bad. My skin was really dry after using this just a couple times and I live in a very humid area. It was a awesome facial cleanser but just to drying for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No