November 29, 2014 | 956 users online

Cleansers - LUSH - Angels on Bare Skin

rated 3.9(885 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 69% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 9/30/2008 11:44:00 PM More reviews by chocolateapple

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am a fan of natural and organic products, and I first tried this when I was given a sample. I have super sensitive skin, and Angels on Bare Skin was gentle and didn't irritate my skin. I used it as an exfoliator, but if you don't have sensitive skin, I don't think it would work as well. It reduced my pimples and blackheads, and I noticed that when I stopped using this product, I'd have a breakout. It also left my skin feeling soft and smooth, but note that it does not remove makeup. It smells like lavender, not smoky like another reviewer said. The packaging does leave a lot to be desired as I always get water in and it spoils the product a bit so i end up with a too runny consistency. It does last a long time, but as it's a bit pricey I have switched.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/25/2008 11:25:00 PM More reviews by joymeetsworld

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this. It's definitely my "holy grail" of face wash. I couldn't stand the smell at first, but I've gotten used to it. It makes my face feel cleaner than any other face wash I've used in the past. I'd be so sad if they ever discontinued this!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/14/2008 8:31:00 PM More reviews by Samaraeve

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is simply the best cleanser I've ever used. I love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/14/2008 4:11:00 PM More reviews by thelightshow

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I never could use a pea sized amount, it would never work out, so I just used a bit more. I'd then smush it up in my palm with water and wash my face. It did remove everything, was gentle, and the ground almonds were the right size to exfoliate without causing damage to the skin. My skin was soft and smooth after using. I am somewhat acne prone, but more clogged pores than zits or pimples, and this did neither to my skin. If it didn't have an expiration of four months, it would be my go to cleanser.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/12/2008 10:32:00 PM More reviews by Mojie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

AOBS is without a doubt my HG cleanser. I've been using it for years and never stray from it even though there are fancier cleansers on the market that tempt me when I walk into Sephora *except* when it comes to removing my makeup (on the rare occasions when I wear makeup), in which case I use Fresh's Soy Face Cleanser.



While AOBS is a bit strange to work with at first, you get used to it pretty quickly. I take a blob about the size of 2 peas in a cupped hand and gradually add water to it a tiny bit at a time, smashing it and stirring it as I go until it's a paste with some milky water surrounding it, then I apply it to my (wet) face, putting a glob on each cheek, my nose, my forehead and my chin. Then I gently rub it in circles for 30 seconds or so (more if my face is really dirty) and then rinse it off in the shower.



It makes my face incredibly soft and smooth, never breaks me out or irritates my sensitive skin, smells wonderful (to me, but I understand the herbal smells isn't everyone's cup of tea) and doesn't taste terrible if you accidentally get it in your mouth.



I've also found that it stores very well for extended periods of time. It doesn't seem to dry out as long as the container is kept closed and works just as well months after purchase as immediately after.



While I've given up on a lot of LUSH products as being overpriced (especially in light of their ever increasing prices) and not worth the cost (they make nice stuff, no doubt about that, but it's not all worth it to me), AOBS is worth every penny to me and I don't see myself ever moving on to another cleanser.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/5/2008 6:54:00 PM More reviews by love2buymakeup

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love this cleanser. I switch between this and Fresh Farmacy so my skin doesn't get too try. This cleanser has just enough exfoliation in it to make my face feel wonderful!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/3/2008 5:07:00 AM More reviews by ilyana

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have an oily t-zone and my skin is prone to acne on chin as well as the t-zone. I've used this for a week now and I'm amazed! Although it is somewhat like a scrub, it's pretty mild compared to let's say Queen Helene's Mint Julep Scrub and the horrible St Ives Apricot scrub which made my skin horrid. It's so gentle but really awesome!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/2/2008 9:57:00 PM More reviews by ArtistryByTiffany

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I am still on the fence about this cleanser.
The first time I used it, my skin was sooooo soft afterwards! It's a bit awkward to use it the first time, but after a few uses, I learned how to use it well.
But at the time, I was out of toner and moisturizer, and this dried my face out pretty badly. My chin mostly was peeling pretty badly. I hope that after I get some moisturizer, my skin will be a lot better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/30/2008 10:58:00 PM More reviews by Valou

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I talk briefly about AOBS in my silly YouTube product review video here:





AOBS is my favorite Lush cleanser. I know some people dislike using it every day because it is a scrub, I have no problems doing so. It leaves my skin so soft and blotch free. The price is right, the smell is gentle... I'm sad that it has such a short shelf life, but I'm happy that it's free of harsh preservatives.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/30/2008 3:07:00 PM More reviews by Glitched

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I've been using it now for over a month & love the results..I have to admit at first I didn't love it because of the application..but once I used it more I noticed the difference on my skin.....if you have drier or sensitive skin its def the way to go....love the non-squeaky clean feeling it leaves!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No