August 20, 2014 | 2015 users online

Cleansers - Neutrogena - Oil-Free Acne Wash

rated 2.8(906 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.8
  • 44% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 9/19/2008 4:28:00 AM More reviews by Cwish

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've been using this for about 2 years now, and overall, I think the product is okay. My doctor recommended it for me, since I had a lot of acne at the time. My skin wasn't that oily though. After I finished using it, my skin would be all tight and dry, so I moisterize it with the moisturizing lotion from Nutraderm. And then my face feels really clean, and soft. It somewhat helps with acne, not completely, but it's enough for me. I mean it doesn't make my breakouts totally disappear, but it minimizes them, so I guess it helps..in a way. I would recommend this, just give it a try. If you don't like it I'm sure you can always take it back. ^^

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/18/2008 5:17:00 PM More reviews by trendoid

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I have been using this cleanser for about three years, since my dermatologist first recommended it to me. I really like it and think the SA in it is very beneficial. The cream version is better for traveling and skin that is drier. I would not use it without removing all my makeup first, however, because it cannot do that. I don't think you should expect that from an anti-acne cleanser though. You should be vigilant about keeping your pores clear.

I took one lippie off because I do still have some acne

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/14/2008 4:28:00 AM More reviews by Dancergirlxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is the worst cleanser I have ever used, my skin broke out in an itchy rash it felt rough to touch with tiny bumps all over.
I believe it has cheap ingredients and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/13/2008 2:24:00 PM More reviews by madcancer7

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Other Eyes: Black

I like this product. Its too harsh to use on my face but I don't need to anywaya because I don't have any more acne on my face. I use this on my back because I have some mild acne on my back and it worked! My back is clear thanks to this product and topical antibiotic from my dermatologist.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/7/2008 8:33:00 AM More reviews by emrivera

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I tried this wash thinking it would cure me of my persistant acne, it just ended up irritating my skin and I broke out in a rash-like acne on the sides of my face and chin after a few days of use. It took a while to calm my skin down and get rid of the acne. Neutrogena makes a lot of great products, but this one definitely didn't help me. Too irritating!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/6/2008 4:26:00 PM More reviews by tiffeey

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This wash is great. I've been using it since I was 14 years old and barely get pimples or breakouts. You gotta give this cheapy wash a shot! It does take off makeup like a miracle so say goodbye to raccoon face and take off all that foundation! I also find this wash very versatile because my boyfriend loves to use it too and it's a great balance for our skin type.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/6/2008 4:21:00 PM More reviews by lisagibb

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this face wash! It takes off all of my makeup without a struggle and leaves my face feeling clean. It's not drying, I usually forget to put on moisturizer because it feels so good. Smell is okay, I really am more concerned with the fact that it's so great at taking off makeup! Finally, this stuff is cheap. This is my favorite cleanser.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/3/2008 11:55:00 PM More reviews by beautiflaw

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I have used this for a few months and I haven't really had many problems with it, but sometimes it dries my face out too much and if I happen to get it in my eyes it KILLS me! This burns my eyes like nothing else ever has... and once I accidentally got it in my mouth... ugh. Horrible. It smells like Dial soap to me. Like, Dial hand soap. Dial is very strong and I would never use it on my face, so I hope that the only similarities with this cleanser and Dial are the smell.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/2/2008 12:49:00 PM More reviews by bluedestiny4

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I have read all of the negative reviews on this product, and that made me kind of hesitant on purchasing it. However, I needed a cleanser that would take off all of my makeup, as well as work on my breakouts all in one step. I have finally found that product! I just started using this product about a week ago and I am seeing major improvement with my skin! I use this along with Sea Breeze Actives Toner and I am very happy with the results. I know that a lot of people complain about the dryness factor and the way that the cleanser smells. I haven't experienced any of the dryness, and the smell goes away quickly (at least for me it does). I guess it works differently on people. I will continue to purchase this product. *I use the Family Dollar version.*

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/1/2008 12:58:00 AM More reviews by sydakiss

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This product is ok, I guess. It never really got rid of my acne but it kept it somewhat under control for a while. I used it for about 5 months and during that time, I would often look for better cleansers. But I never did, so I would just end up coming back to it. After a while though, I stopped using it and started the Clinique acne solutions regimen, which works quite nicely for me :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No