November 28, 2014 | 1879 users online

Mascara - Maybelline - Define A Lash

rated 3.3(1021 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 52% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 3/7/2013 12:11:00 AM More reviews by softy22

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I got this mascara for free so i can't say any thing about the price, and the result it gave me was fine but i've noticed that it's the only mascara that make my lashes fall.. i hated it !!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/23/2013 9:46:00 PM More reviews by Ksheehan324

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Great mascara, and especially for the price. It really defines your eyelashes without clumping at all. It doesn't do much for volumizing, but if you are looking for definition - this is the best bang for your buck. I use this mascara every day, many days that is all I wear, and I will continue to buy the product. Does not dry up easily either. Highly recommended!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/18/2013 12:16:00 AM More reviews by Calincherie

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I've tried a lot of the lower cost drugstore mascaras (I'm not a fan spending a lot of money on something that will only last a few months before going bad) and this is one of the better ones. It does separate the lashes and lasts a very long time without smudging. It takes a lot to remove this product and that to me is a good sign of long lasting effectiveness. I only wish it would thicken the lashes better, but it's touted as a definition mascara, so I guess I can't complain too much

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/17/2013 11:51:00 PM More reviews by nailgrl81

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

The first mascara I ever bought and the best one that's ever worked for me. When people ask you what mascara you're wearing, that's usually a bad sign because you've either applied too much or your eyelashes look fake, but I've never received such a question while wearing this.
I can't really say a lot about the mascara, other than the fact that I've never stabbed myself in the eye when putting it on and the fact that it makes my lashes natural-looking but still very long. The wand does not create clumps or streak and it's impossible to tell that you're wearing any.
If you have long eyelashes that don't need a lot of enhancement, this mascara would probably work very well for you.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/17/2013 5:00:00 PM More reviews by dwoodruff44

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I've gone through several tubes of this mascara. Great for everyday use. I prefer a pretty dramatic look and this is perfect because it's jet black and holds a curl well. I've always had a preference for maybelline mascaras because I prefer a wet formula. This will probably continue to be one of the mascaras I rotate through!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/27/2013 10:58:00 PM More reviews by sweetmoya

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I have thick naturally curled lashes that really require definition. This works great for me. It separates my lashes nicely and makes them look defined, without clumping or going on too thick. It makes them almost look like a good set of falsies. Warning, if you have thin, straight lashes, this won't help you much. The wand is a bit fragile and it dries out a bit quicker than expected. Otherwise, this is my go-to mascara.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/22/2013 5:05:00 PM More reviews by clemmmentine

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

This was my go-to mascara for a long time. It is solid and does its job well. It's fairly unremarkable; it's not GREAT, but there's nothing in particular counting against it. It is a bit clumpy, but not overly so. In the end, I'm not a huge fan of the straight brush, so this isn't my favourite mascara, but it will do in a pinch.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/22/2013 1:23:00 AM More reviews by Allama

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Wow. I didn't know mascara could fail this much. It has a very fine wand, (plastic) that is super flexible so it really doesn't apply the formula too well. When I applied my first coat, it almost looked like I had nothing on my lashes, and after attempting a second coat, it was clump city meets scary spider legs. No volume, not much definition, and no length. Also, crappy formula (the black looks grey). I wish I could give it a negative rating.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/24/2012 3:37:00 PM More reviews by kberly37

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

I only use this type of mascara. I use the waterproof, as well as, the regular formula. I have used very expensive brands of mascara that have not produced the results this mascara does. Several of my friends have asked if I have exceptionally long lashes to start or use Latisse and I don't. I have a normal amount of lashes and I think they are of normal length, but this mascara really brings them out and lengthens without clumps or flakes. I typically apply two or three coats, allowing each coat to dry for ten minutes before applying the next. Many times I go completely without makeup EXCEPT for one coat of this mascara. I have taken pictures of the tube and forwarded it to two of my girl friends that want to know what I use. I've stuck with this brand for several years and don't see if changing. You can't beat the price and convenience of grabbing it in the drugstore. The only con I have is the waterproof mascara is difficult to remove (keep in mind I apply a few coats). I have yet to find an eye makeup remover I love as much as this mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/8/2012 1:02:00 PM More reviews by Vferent

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Brilliant results at first, but throughout the day, even with curling, the lashes tend to look lacklustre and nothing like they did when was first applied to the lashes, unfortunately. Only suitable as an every day low maintenance looking mascara, has no volume building quality whatsoever. Not too keen on the wiggly brush either, can make things veerrrry messy.
However, saying that, try team this up with a second coat of volumising mascara and you have a set of amazing looking eyelashes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No