Almay One Coat Nourishing Mascara Triple Effect

3.5

223 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

blah


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm so disappointed! The first couple of days this mascara worked really well, but by the third day the formula was already dried up and crusty. It promises curl, volume, and length. It gave me length but that's it, and I care more about curl and volume than length. Beautiful packaging, but I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/18/2011 9:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The first week I had this, i really enjoyed it. It gave me long and thick lashes, which is what every girl wants, right?
After using this for 2 weeks, the formula changed drasticly and became very thick and dry, causing the application to be so clumpy. I had to wipe off the brush every single time just to get a decent application.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/12/2011 1:51:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Fantastic product. Coats lashes quickly and evenly. The formula is thick enough that you really don't need to add several coats. However, if you do decide on a second coat, work quickly, because the formula will cake like crazy and you'll end up with lashes that feel as though they're coated with glue. The brush was strange at first but I figured out that if I use only the longer end, I get good results. Formula does tend to glop a bit on the lid if you're not careful, so keep a moistened Q-tip handy. Produces long thick dramatic lashes and I really liked using it. However, there's a downside. Since the formula is so thick, the product tends to become dried up around the rim of the tube. Since you're basically pumping air into the tube every time you use the product, you end up with a very sticky crust that gets worse and worse over time. At the 2-month mark, it just became too icky to use. Because of this, I gave the packaging quality a 2. The price is decent and Almay always gives good results, so I switched to the original One Coat that I used back in the day and am very happy with the results.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2011 7:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I'm currently using this but I do think I prefer the One Coat Lengthening a little more. I have super, super sensitive eyes (I get styes so often I was told by an eye doctor to wash the insides of my eyes daily with baby shampoo) and this is the only mascara I've tried (other than the regular One Coat Nourishing) that doesn't bother me. I already have naturally full, dark, long lashes (I know, wah me) so I don't want something that's known for "OMG DRAMA LASHES!1!" because I'd probably look like a freak. And I wear glasses so they'd probably hit the lenses all day.

I do love how well this curls your lashes. I'm lazy and never curl mine before mascara. But this pushes them up for me if I tip my head just right which I didn't notice the lengthening version doing as much.


I have a feeling I don't use it "correct". The brush has 2 different sides, I'm assuming 1 for volume and 1 for length. I always just use the larger side...which I'm not certain what it does but I prefer it...which means maybe I should try the volume version next just to see.


I would probably buy this one again but I might try the volume version next and I do already have an extra lengthening (Walgreens had a 40% off all Almay a while back so I stocked up).


on 1/4/2011 8:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

So far, im loving this mascara. It makes your eyelashes look thick and full, without that cakey "hey you're wearing mascara" look. I love how the packaging is more compact than other mascaras so it is easier to pack when traveling. Although many reviewers don't like the fact it's a little hard to remove i think its a plus because if i forget to take it off when swimming it doesn't look like I have a waterfall of mascara running down.. I just use some jojoba oil or makeup wipes to remove it completely


on 12/30/2010 1:28:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

it's very comparable to the falsies mascara. the formula is awesome! BUT the brush sucks, I get the meaning of the 2 sided brush but it seems as a fail, if they would've used the brush in the thickening mascara I would love this, but until then I won't be repurchasing. Back to Almay thickening for me


on 11/15/2010 4:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The effect this mascara gives me is amazing. It gives me super full, long lashes, it doesnt clump, it doesnt flake, it doesnt irritate me eyes, it last all day, makes my lashes look like they curl up, great wand...
But it is so hard to remove. Even when you think you have gotten it off, when you blink and see all the dark under your eyes... you freak out:- it is STILL there!- I loose a couple of lashes everytime I try to remove it. That doesnt fly with me. If I dont have lashes, where am I going to wear mascara right? So I take a lippie off for that, and another one because it feels really heavy on.

I wish I could find a mascara comparable to this in the price range, but that is easy to remove. Its a shame cause it makes my lases look so nice :(
I wont buy again unless I find a way to remove it easily


on 9/12/2010 3:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

I love how it lengthens and thickens. Can't seem to find one as good in the price range (I will not pay huge $ anymore!). The only problem is that it is hard to remove (I use Neutrogena eye makeup remover) and as such I've decided to use it only for special occasions. I know that it is supposed to be nourishing, but all that tugging an d pulling to remove it cannot be good for lashes or under eye skin area. Too bad because the results for lashes are fantastc. I love the brush design, one side lengthens the other adds volume (all without having to oar multiple coats). It doesn't bother me, but I agree with others that it tends to dry out rather quickly and thickens in the process.


on 8/26/2010 9:41:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I do not like this mascara. It makes my lash sticky after applying it. it does stay for a long time without color fading. But there are too many good mascaras comparing with this one. I won't recommend this to other people.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/24/2010 9:09:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

PROS:
-Creamy formula
-Dark black color
-Lengthens

CONS:
-Clumpy
-Lashes really stick together
-Dries quick so its hard to build up layers
-Hard to remove
-A lot of product comes out on the wand and gets the opening really messy

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Top Rated Almay Products

Back to Top