October 23, 2014 | 1927 users online

Fragrances - Jean Paul Gaultier - Classique EDT



image 0

rated 4.1(182 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 71% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 7/16/2010 6:48:00 PM More reviews by AllAboutBeauty

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Red, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is my all time favorite HG perfume (besides Fragile which has sadly been discontinued). I have been wearing this scent for over 10 years now. It is my go-to scent and really the one that smells like "me". The smell isn't overpowering and has good lasting power for an edt. I always keep a bottle of this around and will continue to buy it so as long as it's available :).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/7/2010 10:52:00 AM More reviews by jenniandthebets

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is a beautiful scent which I was first introduced to by a friend from school - she had worn this from a very young age - 13 give or take - too young for such a sophisticated perfume in my opinion. When I was about 18 or so I decided to purchase my first bottle of this and was surprised at how different it smelled on me. This perfume starts as a very heavy scent with quite an "alcohol-y" note to it, however the "wind-down" of this perfume is when you truly get the benefit of it. It warms up on your skin and leaves a warm and spicy vanilla scent on your skin. In fact i have found my favourite "stages" of this this perfume to be the next day or after a shower. In doing this it leaves a much lighter and subtler form of this perfume. Overall this is a perfume i will purchase time and time again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/20/2010 11:01:00 AM More reviews by Annaxxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I love this it probably is my HG scent, or at least my go-to scent. I got this for Christmas when I was 19, when it first came out in the UK and loved it immediately. It is one of the only perfumes I wear that always gets comments (good ones!). I stray from it every so often, but always come back to it and I love discovering it all over again. I love smelling my hair that has 'wafted' over my neck when i wear it, and it gets better with the drydown. I just love it.

It does smell different on different people, when my BF wears it it's v different so you just have to try it and see - she's much better in Angel or Coco.

I don't see it as an 'old lady' scent, but I'm 35 so maybe it is older than the sweeter celeb generics that my students favor - which smell lovely on them, but I don't want to smell like a teen (or Brittany Spears!!).
I'm aslo loving Kiehls Musk mixed with vanilla oils at the mo - getting lovely comments from this too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/12/2010 11:25:00 AM More reviews by Eifersucht

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is a nice perfume and I recommend it but I still prefer Classique Eau de Parfum. The Classique Eau de Toilette have a spicy quality that I like but not love. It smells good on me but not gorgeous... Bought it as a mistake. :(

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/28/2010 5:06:00 AM More reviews by Dive14

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium Eyes: Green

This is stunning! If I had to sum it up I would say sexy and chic. This is my second favourite perfume of all time after Angel by Thierry Mugler. I recognise this anywhere, even if I don't know it's JPG straight away I always notice the smell and wonder what it is, because it can smell slightly different on different people. I smelt this on someone in a club recently which is what made me fall in love with it all over again - I kept trying to find the smell and who it was coming from. On 2 other separate occasions I also asked 2 women what they were wearing and it was this. It smells like a sexy, gourmand scent. It's definitely well suited for a sexy date or an evening occasion. The lasting power is also very good, I've never had the EDP (the one with the pink tin) but I've tried it and prefer the EDT, which I've owned 3 times in total, and it really lasts a long time so I can't imagine wanting anything even longer-lasting! When I first spray it it's quite strong and I think it smells a bit sherbert-y, but then it settles into a lovely ambery, vanilla scent. The top notes are listed as anise, orange blossom and tangerine; middle notes are ginger, orchid and ylang-ylang and the base is vanilla, musk and amber. The vanilla and amber come through the most for me but the orange blossom and ginger are apparent on the first spray. Personally I think this is chicer than your typical 'sexy', evening scent. To me it smells very Parisian. There's just something about it that smells so gorgeous and unforgettable. It also smells extremely comforting to me, like being enveloped in a hug by someone you really love. I will buy this forever.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/27/2010 10:07:00 PM More reviews by vnyan

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Oh my, how I love this. I tend to get bored with perfumes quickly, but there's something about this one that makes me happy and want to wear it all the time. I think it's because there's so much to it: rose/amber/spice/vanilla/musky/powdery/floral/gourmand-y goodness with just a touch of nail polish and baby wipes to keep the fragrance surprising and not overly sweet. I love it from the effervescent opening to the powdery vanilla-mingled-with-skin drydown. Classique truly does last all day, and if I spritz it on my neck, I still catch occasional wafts of it many hours later.

I was originally expecting to like the EDP more, but it barely showed up on me, as do many soft fragrances, unfortunately. So if you have the same issue, try the EDT. The powdery quality of Classique isn't for everyone, but it makes me happy. :)

The lotion smells closer to the EDP, but it still pairs nicely with the EDT.

Although the bottle is aesthetically pleasing, it's true that the cap /pump can get stuck, so I hope it doesn't break with time. :( Also, your fingerprints show up on the etched part of the bottle, so try to avoid touching it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/21/2010 4:26:00 PM More reviews by sterlingK

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Other

One of my favs along with Fragile which I have been unable to find in years (discontinued maybe?). I think this is one of those fragrances that most people just love, it's ageless and sophisticated without being too much so. As another user mentioned, some people are saying this is too old a fragrance, I disagree this goes great with both my hoodie and my evening gown lol.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/13/2010 1:19:00 AM More reviews by Bronz

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is one of my favorite scents! I always come back to Jean paul gaultier classique.
When i apply it i initially get the smell of ginger (which is surprisingly nice) then it dies down into a warm spicy vanilla and i'm a sucker for vanilla! I get a lot of comments when wearing this -definitely a fave :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/17/2010 11:41:00 AM More reviews by Saga17

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

My HG parfume which I have been wearing for like 10 years! The bottle is soooo beautiful and I often love the limited edition scents of this perfume as well.. This is just LOVE, pure love <3

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/16/2009 12:18:00 PM More reviews by meral

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

This is a very bad smell for me. İ bought this only with reading the reviews here. İt has a great rating so İ bought this. But it's so bad for my smelling. Tried it again and again but NO. İt's kind of an old smell. Odd and mature, smells like an old old woman without any esprit or something special. İ couldn't stand it. And this for an expensive EDT, İ'm realy surprised to find such an old smell, puhh. And it doesn't smell even expensive if you understand what İ mean with this. İ wish İ had save the money and bought Chanel Allure which İ adore instead of this one.
İ think it's me, because so many galls here like it so much, but İ realy wonder why, it has nothing special to it, worse it smells odd old, İ prefer to smell like only myself than to smell this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No